Ottoman Studies

The Cambridge History of Turkey represents a monumental enterprise. The History, comprising four volumes, covers the period from the end of the eleventh century, with the arrival of the Turks in Anatolia, through the emergence of the early Ottoman state, and its development into a powerful empire in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, encompassing a massive territory from the borders of Iran in the East, to Hungary in the West, and North Africa and the Arabian Peninsula in the South. The last volume covers its destruction in the aftermath of the First World War, and the history of the modern state of Turkey which arose from the ashes of empire. Chapters from an international team of contributors reflect the very significant advances that have taken place in Ottoman history and Turkish studies in recent years.

Heper traces the dramatic ups and downs in the long history of the Turks, beginning with the rise of the Ottoman Empire in the 13th century and concluding with the present day. He covers significant persons, places, and events, as well as important aspects of the economy, culture, and society. A chronology and appendices clarify the history, while an exceptionally complete bibliography directs interested readers to more specialized sources. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.

Tarihimizin az bilinen, en çalkantılı dönemini ilk kez bütün ayrıntılarıyla günışığına çıkaran benzersiz bir kaynak eser. Kendi uzmanlık alanlarında seçkin, güvenilir yerli-yabancı bilim adamları, yazarlar ve sanatçılardan oluşan güçlü bir kadro hazırladı. Sened-i İttifak'tan Kanun-ı Esâsi'ye, Mütareke'den Millî Mücadele'ye... Tanzimat'tan Cumhuriyet'e kadarki dönemin tarihi, toplumsal yapısı, kültürü, sanatı ve günlük hayatı. Geniş arşiv çalışmasına dayanan, yüzlerce fotoğraf, resim ve belgenin zenginleştirdiği bu eser, İletişim'in Cumhuriyet Dönemi Türkiye Ansiklopedisi'ni bütünlüyor.

Alanında ilk çalışma olan bu sözlük, Osmanlı yerleşim yerlerinin adlarını altı yüzyıllık tarihi derinliği ve üç kıtaya yayılmış coğrafi genişliği içinde kapsamaktadır. Dilbilim ile tarihin ortak ilgi alanlarından olan yer adları bu çalışmada tarih araştırmacılarına yönelik olarak ele alınmış, adların Arap harfleriyle imlalarının ve doğru okunuşlarının saptanması amaçlanmıştır.Özellikle Osmanlı Devleti'nin tarih sahnesinden çekilmesinden sonra ortay çıkan ulus-devletler döneminde -ki bunlara Türkiye Cumhuriyeti de dahildir- yer adları ulusal varlığın bir ifadesi, ulusal kimliğin bir simgesi sayılarak ulusallaşma adına geniş çapta değişikliğe uğramış, bu durum günümüzde tarih araştırmacıları için içinden çıkılması zor birçok soruna yol açmıştır. Sözlükte Türkiye'de cumhuriyet döneminde yapılan bu türden değişiklikler yanında o yerleşim yerinin değişik adları da gösterilmiştir. Her düzeyden tarih araştırmacısının kolaylıkla yararlanabileceği bu sözlük Osmanlı tarihsel coğrafyası için de bir kılavuz niteliğindedir.

Covering the full history of the Ottoman Empire, from its genesis in post-Mongol Eurasia to its dissolution after the Great War in Europe, this textbook takes a holistic approach, considering the Ottoman worldview - what it was, how it came together, and how it fell apart. Douglas A. Howard stresses the crucial role of the Ottoman sultans and their extended household, discusses the evolution of the empire's fiscal model, and analyzes favorite works of Ottoman literature, emphasizing spirituality, the awareness of space and time, and emotions, migration, violence, disease, and disaster. Following how people spent their time, their attitudes towards authority, how they made their money, and their sense of humor and sense of beauty, this illustrated textbook is an essential resource for graduate and advanced undergraduate, courses on the history of the Ottoman Empire, the Middle East, Islamic history, and the history of Eastern Europe. The book includes over eighty illustrations, maps and textboxes.

Suraiya Faroqhi's scholarly contribution to the field of Ottoman history has been prodigious. Her latest book represents a summation of that scholarship, an introduction to the state-of-the-art in Ottoman history. In a compelling exploration of the ways that primary and secondary sources can be used to interpret history, the author reaches out to students and researchers in the field and in related disciplines to familiarise them with these documents. By considering both archival and narrative sources, she explains why they were prepared, encouraging her readers to adopt a critical approach to their findings, and disabusing them of the notion that everything recorded in official documents is necessarily true! While the book is essentially a guide to a complex discipline for those about to embark upon their research, the experienced Ottomanist will find much that is original and provocative in its sophisticated interpretation of the field.

Dünden Bugüne İstanbul Ansiklopedisi, İstanbul konusunda en zengin, en kapsamlı ve en sistematik kaynak. Kuşe kağıda ofset baskı tekniğiyle hazırlanmış, 4608 sayfadan oluşan 8 ciltlik bu eser, kentin 2000 yıllık tarihini toplam 10 bin madde ve 4300 fotoğraf / gravür / haritayla göz önüne seriyor.
Sosyal yaşam, mekansal düzen... Din... Siyasal olaylar... Ekonomi tarihi... Kültür ve sanat... Kentin kimliğine katkı yapan kişiler... Depremler, yangınlar, salgın hastalıklar... Şenlikler ve bayramlar... Saraylar, konaklar, yalılar ve evler, camiler, tekkeler, kiliseler ve sinagoglar... İstanbul mutfağı ve lokantalar... Pencereler ve balkonlar... Giyim kuşam... Folklor... Ve hepsini birbirine bağlayan genel atmosfer... İstanbul'un binlerce yıllık tarihi bu 8 cilt boyunca zihninizde canlanıyor.

This book is a comparative study of imperial organization and longevity that assesses Ottoman successes as well as failures against those of other empires with similar characteristics. Barkey examines the Ottoman Empire's social organization and mechanisms of rule at key moments of its history, emergence, imperial institutionalization, remodeling, and transition to nation-state, revealing how the empire managed these moments, adapted, and averted crises and what changes made it transform dramatically. The flexible techniques by which the Ottomans maintained their legitimacy, the cooperation of their diverse elites both at the center and in the provinces, as well as their control over economic and human resources were responsible for the longevity of this particular 'negotiated empire'. Her analysis illuminates topics that include imperial governance, imperial institutions, imperial diversity and multiculturalism, the manner in which dissent is handled and/or internalized, and the nature of state society negotiations.

This collection of papers by Prof. İlber Ortaylı mainly deals with the political, economic, social and cultural transformations, which Ottoman Empire has undergone in its last centuries. Within the frame of millet conception, which was unique to the Empire as an administration system, this book looks into the areas of transformation, including the modernisation struggles, tendencies in historiography, structural and judicial changes in family relations, provincial and urban structures and the relations between Russia and the Ottoman Empire.
Prof. Ortaylı details the millet system through allocating special titles for non-Muslim minorities in the Empire like the Jews and the Greeks. Similarly, he reveals the relations between Ottomanism and Zionism in the Empire’s last decades. After giving a picture of the constitution and the parliament, he glances at how the history of the Ottoman Empire and Russia are approached in the historiographies. Turning back to the debates on modernization, he explains the background, starting from the second Vienna siege in 1683. In the following chapter he examines the structural changes in the international affairs of the Ottoman state. Before delving into the changes in civil life, he assigns two chapters to the provincial structures in the Empire’s port cities.
Meticulously examining the archives and sources about the late Ottoman history, Prof. Ortaylı gives a comprehensive and multifaceted picture of the Empire. Moreover, he utilises a wide range of Ottoman archives. Thanks to his language skills, he provides insights from several scholars whose writings in different languages enrich this book.

The Ottoman Empire was one of the most powerful empires in history, known for its military prowess, multi-cultural make-up, and advances in art and architecture. Positioned at the crossroads of East and West, at its height it encompassed most of Southeastern Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. In existence from the late 13th century until 1922, the Ottoman legacy can still be felt today throughout the Balkans and the Arab world in the areas of politics, diplomacy, education, language, and religion. This comprehensive volume is a valuable addition to world history curricula and adds a level of historical understanding to the current conflicts within the Western and Islamic worlds. Primary document excerpts, biographies of key figures, useful illustrations, a chronology, index, and extensive bibliography make this an ideal source for students of Middle Eastern, Asian, European, and world history.

The first paperback edition, in line with latest historiography - "Ottoman Empire" is a major and advanced early modern power, this book is based on a huge study of original sources and personal accounts. The author leading historian of early modern Ottoman Empire in all aspects - political, economic, diplomatic and cultural. In Islamic law the world was made up of the House of Islam and the House of War with the Ottoman Sultan - the perceived successor to the Caliphs - supreme ruler of the Islamic world. However, Suraiya Faroqhi demonstrates that there was no iron curtain between the Ottoman and other worlds but rather a long-established network of diplomatic, financial, cultural and religious connections. These extended to the empires of Asia and the modern states of Europe. Faroqhi's book is based on a huge study of original and early modern sources, including diplomatic records, travel and geographical writing, as well as personal accounts. Its breadth and originality will make it essential reading for historians of Europe and the Middle East.

Empire of the Gazis: The Rise and Decline of the Ottoman Empire, 1280-1808 is the first book of the two-volume History of the Ottoman Empire and Modern Turkey. It describes how the Ottoman Turks, a small band of nomadic soldiers, managed to expand their dominions from a small principality in northwestern Anatolia on the borders of the Byzantine Empire into one of the great empires of fifteenth- and sixteenth-century Europe and Asia, extending from northern Hungary to southern Arabia and from the Crimea across North Africa almost to the Atlantic Ocean. The volume sweeps away the accumulated prejudices of centuries and describes the empire of the sultans as a living, changing society, dominated by the small multinational Ottoman ruling class led by the sultan, but with a scope of government so narrow that the subjects, Muslim and non-Muslim alike, were left to carry on their own lives, religions, and traditions with little outside interference.

The Ottoman Empire, 1700-1922 is the latest addition to the successful textbook series New Approaches to European History, and strikes a balance between social, economic, and political history. The Ottoman Empire was one of the most important non-Western states to survive from medieval to modern times, and played a vital role in European and global history. It continues to affect the peoples of the Middle East, the Balkans and central and western Europe to the present day. This major new survey examines the most important trends during the latter years of the empire; it pays attention to gender issues and to hotly-debated topics such as the treatment of minorities. Donald Quataert, a distinguished Ottoman scholar, has written a lively, authoritative and accessible narrative. The text is supported by maps, illustrations and genealogical and chronological tables, which will be of enormous value to students and non-specialists alike.

On Tuesday, May 29, 1453, the young Sultan Mehemmed, known to history as "the Conqueror," launched the final assault against the walls of Constantinople and added that imperial capital, as coping stone; to the Empire that his fathers had conquered. As the Sultan's Imam intoned the Muslim creed within the walls of Hagia Sophia, the Greek cathedral become a Turkish mosque, and the curtain went up on a new era. In this, the ninth volume of The Centers of Civilization Series, Bernard Lewis describes the city and its civilization in the great age of the Ottoman Sultanate, between the fifteenth and seventeenth centuries. Under the Ottomans, the city once again became the center of a vest empire and of a flourishing civilization. The conquerors did not destroy the captured Christian city, but took care to preserve and embellish; they added four Muslim minarets to Hagia Sophia, built many fine mosques and palaces of their own, and transformed the shrunken remnant of the Byzantine city into a new and splendid imperial capital. The great new Muslim city of Istanbul which they created became a center of cultural as well we political life. It was the gateway between East and West, the place where Asia and Europe clashed and blended. It was the seat of the Sultans and the Grand Viziers, of the government of the Ottoman Empire. No less interesting than the concepts of government and the Muslim religion practiced by the Ottoman Turks were the imperial place and household and the people of the city. Mr. Lewis relies upon the first-hand accounts of Turkish historians and poets and European travelers, thus enabling the reader to see the city, its people, and their life through the eyes of contemporary participants and observers.

Studies of early-modern Islamic cities have stressed the atypical or the idiosyncratic. This bias derives largely from orientalist presumptions that they were in some way substandard or deviant. The first purpose of this volume is to normalize Ottoman cities, to demonstrate how, on the one hand, they resembled cities generally and how, on the other, their specific histories individualized them. The second purpose is to challenge the previous literature and to negotiate an agenda for future study. By considering the narrative histories of Aleppo, Izmir and Istanbul, the book offers a departure from the piecemeal methods of previous studies, emphasizing their importance during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, and highlighting their essentially Ottoman character. While the essays provide an overall view, each can be approached separately. Their exploration of the sources and the agendas of those who have conditioned scholarly understanding of these cities will make them essential student reading.

Identity and Identity Formation in the Ottoman World is a collection of articles authored by the students and colleagues of Norman Itzkowitz. The contributors include Engin Deniz Akarlý, Karl K. Barbir, Cornell H. Fleischer, Jane Hathaway, Cemal Kafadar, Ý. Metin Kunt, Rudi Paul Lindner, Heath W. Lowry, Scott Redford, Vamýk D. Volkan, and others.             Norman Itzkowitz was professor of Near Eastern Studies at Princeton University until his retirement in 2001. Itzkowitz published more than a dozen books in three languages focusing on Ottoman history and psychobiography. In recognition of his exceptional contributions to the education and training of his students in Middle East and Ottoman studies, Itzkowitz received the Middle East Studies Association Mentoring Award in 2007.

1. Cilt: Osmanlı Devleti nin Kuruluşundan İstanbul un Fethine Kadar, 2. Cilt: İstanbul un Fethinden Kanuni sultan Süleyman ın Ölümüne Kadar, 3. Cilt: II. Selim in Tahta Çıkışından 1699 Karlofça Andlaşmasına Kadar, 4. Cilt: XVI. Yüzyıl Ortalarından XVII. Yüzyıl Sonuna Kadar, 5. Cilt: Karlofça Antlaşmasından XVIII. Yüzyılın Sonlarına Kadar, 6. Cilt: XVIII. Yüzyıl'ı anlatmaktadır.

Read reviews from world's largest community for readers. A glossary of Ottoman historical terms by Gustav Bayerle.

The Ottoman empire as a political entity comprised most of the present Middle East (with the principal exception of Iran), north Africa and south-eastern Europe. For over 500 years, until its disintegration during World War I, it encompassed a diverse range of ethnic, religious and linguistic communities with varying political and cultural backgrounds. Yet, was there such a thing as an 'Ottoman world' beyond the principle of sultanic rule from Istanbul? Ottoman authority might have been established largely by military conquest, but how was it maintained for so long, over such distances and so many disparate societies? How did provincial regions relate to the imperial centre and what role was played in this by local elites? What did it mean in practice, for ordinary people, to be part of an 'Ottoman world'? Arranged in five thematic sections, with contributions from thirty specialist historians, The Ottoman World addresses these questions, examining aspects of the social and socio-ideological composition of this major pre-modern empire, and offers a combination of broad synthesis and detailed investigation that is both informative and intended to raise points for future debate. The Ottoman World provides a unique coverage of the Ottoman empire, widening its scope beyond Istanbul to the edges of the empire, and offers key coverage for students and scholars alike.