Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ottoman Studies

Discover the library..Find books, journals, articles and more at library on Ottoman Studies

Library's Treasure

        undefined            undefined

1- Library entrance of Feyzeullah Efendi Complex's Masjid, İstanbul, general view, Mehmet Nihat Nigizberk Collection of Architectural Drawings and Photographs

2- Arabi Türki Yunāni Fārsi Dictionary and Guide Book (Şinasi Tekin Collection, 1850) Koç University Manuscripts Collection

According to Samuel Johnson, "Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information upon it." Until recently, we knew where we could find information upon any given subject—in a research library. Libraries collected, preserved, and made available an array of resources needed by scholars. The bigger and more comprehensive the research library, the greater was the community's access to knowledge, as well as access to those experts who could help patrons navigate the library's geography of knowledge. Because scholarship has been primarily print and artifact based, the library was bound to acquire and then maintain in usable form scholarly literature and primary resources in order to make them accessible.clir.org

For researchers in the field of Ottoman History, SKL offers numerous resources, from electronic databases to primary documents. This guide is designed to highlight a selection of these resources and collections.  While many of the titles listed cover History of Ottoman Empire   in general, there are many resources which address a specific aspect of History of Ottoman Empire. The tabs above will lead you to a variety of resources from books to journal articles to statistical information.

How to Find What You Need

           undefined

Photo: Fikriyat

The Library of Congress Classification (LCC) is a classification system that was first developed in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries to organize and arrange the book collections of the Library of Congress. Over the course of the twentieth century, the system was adopted for use by other libraries as well, especially large academic libraries in the United States. It is currently one of the most widely used library classification systems in the world.Listed below are the letters and titles of the main classes of the Library of Congress Classification on Ottoman History.

BP           Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy, etc.

DR          Balkan Peninsula. Turkey

DR401-741 Turkey

DR401-419 General

DR421-429.4 Description and travel

DR431-435 Antiquities. Social life and customs. Ethnography                                         

DR436-605 History

DR436-446 General

DR448-479 Military, naval, and political history. Foreign relations

DR481-605 By period

DR481 Earliest to 1281/1453

DR485-555.7 1281/1453-1789. Fall of Constantinople, 1453

DR511-529 1566-1640. Period of decline

DR515-516 Cyprian War, 1570-1571. Holy League, 1571

DR531-555.7 1640-1789

DR534.2-534.5 War of Candia, 1644-1669

DR556-567 1789-1861. 19th century

DR568-575 1861-1909. War with Russia, 1877-1878

DR576-605 20th century. Constitutional movement

DR701-741 Local history and description (European Turkey)

DR701 Provinces, regions, etc., A-Z

DR716-739 Istanbul (Constantinople)

DR741 Other cities, towns, etc., A-Z

DS           Asia

GN         Anthropology

GR          Folklore

GT          Manners and customs

GV          Recreation. Sports. Games

HC          Economic History

HD          Land. Agriculture. Industry. Labor

HE           Transportation and communications

HF           Commerce

HG          Finance

HJ           Public finance

HM         Sociology

HN          Social History

HQ          Family. Marriage. Women

HS           Societies. Clubs

HT           Communities. Classes. Races

HV          Social pathology. Social service. Criminology

KJ-KK     Europe

LA           History of education

M            General

N             Visual arts (General)

NA          Architecture

NB          Sculpture

NC          Drawing

ND          Painting

NK          Decorative arts. Applied arts

NX          Arts in general

P             Language and Literature

PN          Literature. General literary history and collections. Performing arts.

QH          Natural History. Biology

QK          Botany

QL           Zoology

SB           Plant culture

SD           Forestry

SF           Animal culture

SH           Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling

SK           Hunting

U Military Science

Z Bibliography: Library Science

V Naval Science

Oxford Reference Libraries in the Ottoman Empire and Turkey