Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ottoman Studies

Discover the library..Find books, journals, articles and more at library on Ottoman Studies

What is Primary Source?

                         undefined

                         undefined

1- Hüseyin Hilmi Pasha Documents Collection

2- Sea Walls between Sirkeci - Yedikule, The box consisting of the photographs of the Marmara Sea Walls from Sirkeci to the Marble Tower taken in March 1965.

A primary source provides direct or first-hand accounts about a topic, an event, object, person, or work of art from people who had a direct connection with it.The primary sources are original materials that helps students and other researchers to get as close as possible to what actually happened during a particular event or time period.People who witnessed these events in particular time period as participant or observer, write or produce firsthand experience of a topic, an event. Primary sources both can be written or non-written such as video recordings, postcards.

Primary Sources are:

  • Original documents (birth certificates, property deeds, trial transcripts, court records, agreements, official or non-official organization papers, bills)
  • Autobiographies and memoirs
  • Diaries, personal letters, and speeches - - what the people involved said or wrote
  • Interviews, surveys, and fieldwork, statistics, scientific journal articles with experiment results
  • Internet communications on email, blogs, video and audio recordings that capture events
  • Photographs, drawings, and posters
  • Works of art and literature, clothes, furniture, kitchen staffs
  • Books, magazine and newspaper articles that published at the time
  • Public opinion polls
  • Speeches and oral histories
  • Patents
  • Technical reports
  • Newspaper reports, by reporters who witnessed an event or who quote people who did.

While you are searching “primary sources” in the library catalogues, you can use some keywords:

  •      Archive materials
  •      Correspondence
  •      Diary
  •      History Archive
  •      History Document
  •      History Source
  •      Interview
  •      Letter
  •      Personal Narrative
  •      Primary source
  •      Speech

Başbakanlık Osmanlı Arşivleri (The Prime Minister's Ottoman Archives)

undefined      undefined

1- Plans for Abdul Hamid Bridge, Istanbul.This document is from Ottoman Archives, Turkish government sources are public domain. The original document is very very old.

2- Christopher Markiewicz and Nir Shafir, “The Ottoman State Archives”, Hazine, 10 October 2013

The Ottoman Archives are a collection of historical sources related to the Ottoman Empire and a total of 39 nations whose territories one time or the other were part of this Empire, including 19 nations in the Middle East, 11 in the EU and Balkans, three in the Caucasus, two in Central AsiaCyprus, as well as Palestine and the Republic of Turkey.The main collection, in the Başbakanlık Osmanlı Arşivleri (The Prime Minister's Ottoman Archives) in Istanbul, holds the central State Archives (Devlet arşivleri). After more than a century in the center of the old city, the Ottoman state archives were relocated in 2013 to the Kağıthane district of Istanbul.

Search from catalog: https://katalog.devletarsivleri.gov.tr/

Main page for archive: http://www.devletarsivleri.gov.tr/

 

Türkiye Yazma Eserler Kurumu

undefined