Byzantine Constantinople

This research project (2000-2005) aims to advance our understanding of urbanism in Constantinople throughout its history by investigating the provisions for water supply. This is being achieved through the integrated application of advanced data capture techniques, multi-disciplinary analysis and historical research.

Le projet intitulé «Artefacts and Raw Materials in Byzantine Archival Documents / Objets et matériaux dans les documents d'archives byzantins» a pour but de développer une base de données rassemblant les différentes mentions d'objets dans les textes d'archives byzantins.

Byzantium 1200 is a non-funded project aimed at creating computer reconstructions of the Byzantine Monuments located in Istanbul, TURKEY as of year 1200 AD. This project is partly inspired by the model of the old city in Rome and the famous painting of Istanbul by Allan Sorell which are shown below.

The initiatives in the field of Digital Humanities at the Austrian Academy of Sciences and also the related developments in Byzantine Studies in the last couple of years have encouraged the TIB to step up its efforts to provide a platform for the adequate presentation and sustainable usage of data, which was and is published in respective TIB volumes. This page is a step into this very direction and at the same time work in progress. The aim of the "Digital Tabula Imperii Byzantini (DIGTIB)" is to create an online alphabetical gazetteer based on all published TIB volumes (starting with TIB 1) by extracting the indices of places and by listing the specific pages of documented toponyms within the respective volumes.

The Istanbul Documentation Project aims to create a digital platform for the virtual presentation of Istanbul's Ancient, Roman, Byzantine, Ottoman and early Republican sites and monuments, and thus provide a rich resource for scholars, students, and the general public to study the deep history of the city in preparation for site visits and as a dynamic tool for individual study, research, and teaching in the classroom. The available resources appear in a variety of digitized media and include high-resolution photographs, virtual-reality tours, panoramas, archival images, architectural plans and drawings, historic sketches, modern and historical maps, as well as detailed descriptions of individual buildings and artifacts.

stanbul Urban Database is an accessible, interactive mapping platform for historians, architects, city planners and other researchers to examine and contribute to the collective memory of Istanbul. This project is a sustainable platform that blends a wide range of historical data, and is the most comprehensive online archive of Istanbul’s urban history.

Sea of Marmara (Ancient Propontis), which is located in the northwest of Turkey has always been the passageway between the countries of the Mediterranean and Black Sea and thus has an especially wide selection of archaeological remnants. 16 archaeological sites have been located around the islands in the Sea of Marmara (Ancient Prokonessos) since 1993, proving this richness. 13 of them are shipwrecks, 2 of them amphora kilns (Medieval times) and 1 mound settlement from BC 3200-1100.

After several decades of abandonment, the 5th c. St John of Stoudios Monastery / Imrahor Camii site was removed from the jurisdiction of Hagia Sophia Museum, in order to be completed and start functioning again as a mosque. The purpose of this website is to raise public concern about the future of this outstanding and challenging monument.

The TAY (Archaeological Settlements of Turkey) Project was set up to build a chronological inventory of findings for the cultural heritage of Turkey - an important component of World Heritage sites - and to share this information with the international community.

“The History of Byzantium” is a podcast dedicated to the story of the Roman Empire from the collapse of the West in 476 to the fall of Constantinople in 1453. Byzantine history is fascinating, world changing and largely forgotten. Listen and discover who they were.

Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR) publishes timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology).

MilitaryArchitecture.com has been set up to focus on and promote the study of military architecture and fortification around the world. It seeks to bring together and build an extensive international corpus of information, data, and ideas – research papers, lectures, videos, forums, conferences, publications, etc., – that are freely available on the web and make these educational resources available to researchers and students through direct internet access via this website.

Ancient history Encyclopedia a non-profit company publishing the world's most-read history encyclopedia.Their mission is to improve historical literacy worldwide through the creation of the most complete, freely accessible, and reliable resource about history online.

A website on the Pantokrator Monastery Of Constantinople by Bob Atchison.

A website on the Byzantine Churches Of Constantinople by Prof. Thomas Mathews.

The Cambridge History of the Byzantine Empire tells the story, tracing political and military events, religious controversies and economic change. It offers clear, authoritative chapters on the main events and periods, with more detailed chapters on particular outlying regions, neighbouring powers or aspects of Byzantium.

Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc. is a global leader in educational publishing, with products in many media, including online and mobile devices. A pioneer in digital publishing since the early 1980s, the company markets a variety of curriculum products for schools, language-study courses, online learning services, encyclopedias and other reference works, and language products through its Merriam-Webster subsidiary.

The Byzantine Legacy aims at providing documented, quality information on art, architecture and history from Late Antique, Early Christian and the Byzantine eras. While the term "Byzantine" is useful, it is important to remember that they always called themselves Romans. Yet there were significant changes, especially the ascendancy of Christianity and the loss of the Western Roman Empire

A website from Linda Safran at the University of Toronto.

This is a preliminary bibliography of Byzantine sources and editions. The goal is to list available translations of Byzantine sources in Western European languages.

Byzantine scribes and authors refer repeatedly to book collections and libraries. Georgi Parpulov outlines what private, monastic and imperial libraries were like in medieval Byzantium.

In this podcast Dr Dionysios Stathakopoulos of King's College London looks at the history of the Byzantine Empire from its origins in the Roman Empire to the fall of Constantinople.

We explore the capital of the Byzantine Empire: Constantinople. We look at the origins of the city and trace its development from Greek city to Imperial centre. Then we see why it had such a strategically valuable location. After that we visit the city itself in the 6th century from the Great Palace to the streets.

The project aims to make digital objects accessible online through Europeana Collections. During the project photos, video and audio content, as well as 3D surveys and reconstructions about Byzantine history and culture will be digitised. The content and accompanying narratives will capture users’ attention and provide them with a rich online experience. In addition, the digitised data will enhance Europeana’s artistic content by adding to the Byzantine art and archaeology material already available on the platform.