Transferring records from Mendeley Desktop to EndNote

Please Note: The steps below will work with Mendeley Desktop only and cannot be used with the Mendeley Reference Manager or for documents used with Mendeley Cite.

In Mendeley:

    Select the records you wish to export. You can click Edit > Select All if you want your entire database.
    Click on the File menu > Export
    Change Save As Type option to "RIS - Research Information Systems"
    Pick a name and location for the file and Save.

You will end up with a file titled "My Collection.ris."
 
In EndNote:

    Click the File menu > New to create a new library.
    Click on the File menu > Import File.
    Click Choose and browse to the "My Collection.ris" file you downloaded and click Open.
    Change the Import option to Reference Manager (RIS).
    Click Import.

This will import your Mendeley records into this new EndNote™ library.

You can also try the following steps instead:

In Mendeley:

1. Select the records you wish to export. You can click Edit > Select All if you want your entire database.

2. Click on the File menu > Export

3. Change Save As Type option to "EndNote XML"

4. Pick a name and location for the file and Save.

You will end up with a file titled "My Collection.xml" and a folder titled "My Collection.Data."
In EndNote:

1. Click the File menu > New to create a new library.

2. Click on the File menu > Import File.

3. Click Choose and browse to the "My Collection.xml" file you downloaded and click Open.

4. Change the Import option to EndNote generated XML.

5. Click Import.

6. Click the File menu > Exit

7. Open the "My Collection.Data" folder.

8. If there is a PDF folder, copy it to the new .Data folder created with your EndNote Library. If you created a library titled "My EndNote Library," there will be a "My EndNote Library.Data" folder.

When you open the library in EndNote again, you will have the working attachments.

Document Conversion:
In order to convert a document created using Mendeley's "Cite-O-Matic" tools, it needs to be formatted in a custom style. You will find a copy of the custom style in the Attachments section at the bottom of this article. Download the "Mendeley-to-Endnote-Title.csl" file. Now add the custom style to the Mendeley program.

Adding the custom style to the Mendeley program:

• Open Mendeley and click View > Citation Style > More Styles.

• Under the Installed tab, please drag and drop the custom style.

In Word follow the steps below: 

1. Open Word, click the References tab, click on Style dropdown > More Styles.

2. Select Mendeley-to-Endnote-Title and click OK. Now references will display only the title in the open and close curly braces: {Title}. 

3. Open the EndNote library and the document formatted using the "custom" style.

4. Save the modified document with a new name.

5. Windows: Press [Ctrl]+A on the keyboard to highlight everything.

6. macOS: Press [Command]+A on the keyboard to highlight everything.

7. Windows: Press [Ctrl]+6 (above the "T" and "Y" key) to remove any field codes.

8. macOS: Press [Command]+6 (above the "T" and "Y" key) to remove any field codes.

9. Remove any Bibliography present in the document.

10. Update the document with the appropriate style using the EndNote tools. See EndNote: Changing Output Styles Within a Document for more information.

Please note that you may get the "EndNote Select Matching Reference" dialog box when formatting the bibliography, please click at EndNote: Select Matching Reference for information on how to resolve this and in case if we get a Cannot Edit Range message then refer to this: EndNote: Cannot Edit Range or A COM exception has occurred