Mehmet Nihat Nigizberk Collection of Architectural Photographs and Drawings
The Mehmet Nihat Nigizberk Collection of Architectural Photographs and Drawings consists of photographs, photo cards, notebooks, plans and architectural drawings related to specific historical buildings and also construction and restoration projects in the architect’s archive. These archival materials, which bear witness to the Late Ottoman and early republican era in Turkey, reflect the conditions of the historical monuments (primarily examples of Anatolian Seljuks, Ottoman, Mamluk and Arab architecture) and also applications of architectural practices in construction and restoration as well as social and cultural environment of the period.The photographs and photo cards, as the main body of the collection located in 18 albums and 11 envelopes, comprised of images of over 100 unique structures in over 40 cities such as İstanbul, Bursa, Konya, Damascus, Jerusalem, Gaza and Cairo ranging in the geographies of Anatolia, the Middle East and North Africa.The notebooks of the architect (16 in total, 7000 pages), dating from 1909 to 1948, also form a valuable source for researchers as they contain a wide range of information related to architect’s restoration and construction projects, voyage notes, personal observations, architectural calculations, drawings, construction material types and their prices.Researchers are able to navigate through the collection by filtering the records for specific structures, locations, structure types, architectural elements as well as document types.
Cahide Tamer Historic Buildings Restoration Projects Collection
Cahide Tamer Historic Buildings Restoration Projects Collection includes a variety of archival materials such as documents, correspondence, photographs, drawings and plans of restoration projects that Cahide Tamer (1915-2005) has involved in her career between 1943-1974, who is also one of the women high architects and restorators in Early Turkish Republic Period.Originally classified in structure-based albums and folders, this extensive archive consists of more than 150 historic buildings of Byzantine and Ottoman architecture in Marmara Region mainly in Istanbul.
Including iconic structures of Istanbul as Topkapı Palace, Hagia Sophia, Chora, Istanbul Archaeological Museum, Tekfur Palace, Marmara Sea and Land Walls, Rumeli Fortress, Yedikule Fortress, Fountain of Ahmet III, Güzelce Aqueduct, the Spice Bazaar, Yenikapı Mevlevi Lodge, Amcazâde Hüseyin Paşa Mansion, the collection gathers different structure types like mosque, church, tomb, palace, museum, library, bazaar, mevlevi lodge, madrassa, fountain, aqueduct, fortification and fortress.The collection is a valuable source for the researchers who are focusing on the historic building restoration works and applications in Turkey during 1940-1980.