Ottoman Art and Architecture

The classical period of Ottoman court carpets, the production of which have continued throughout the six hundred year history of the Ottoman Empire, starts with the XVIth century. During the XVIIth and the XVIIIth centuries important carpet weaving centers in Anatolia come to prominence, whereas in the XIXth a new period of palace carpet weaving opens up with the establishment of the Istanbul Feshane and Izmit Hereke carpet weaving factories. By the end of the XIXth century, very precious carpets that continued the imperial tradition were woven in the workshops in Kumkapi district of Istanbul. Today, except for those who remain in museum collections, the number of specimens from the Feshane and Kumkapi carpets are very limited. Therefore scientific studies on these carpets remain limited as well. The Feshane-i Hümayun (The Imperial Fez Factory), founded in 1834 during the reign of Sultan Mahmud II to provide for the army’s needs for fabric and fezzes, also produced carpets for the court and royal residences. The Feshane carpets, the likes of which are impossible to manufacture today, were either produced for the exclusive use of the members of the court or for the sultan to send as gifts to foreign rulers, and can be found within a limited number of collections worldwide. In the same period, Hereke Fabrika-i Hümayunu (Hereke Imperial Factory) was founded for the production of silk and cotton fabric, and carpets of a very fine quality were woven in this factory for the furnishing of the palaces. The carpet weaving of Hereke is still prominent in the world today with a new understanding of design and technique as a symbol of quality and splendour. With the second half of the XIXth century, Sivas also came into prominence as a silk carpet weaving center. Carpet weaving masters were brought from Sivas and its provinces and were trained in Kumkapi in order to meet the carpet demand for the palaces

Reflects the inner world of the Ottomans who transformed the nomadic culture they brought along to Anatolia into a refined lifestyle. Even though 624 years of Ottoman rule is the topic of numerous other works, this is one of the few books which depicts the lifestyle of the Ottomans in detail. Written by Prof. Dr. Nurhan Atasoy, the design of the book belongs to Ersu Pekin while photographs are by Selamet and Bahadir Taskin. Within the framework of the ‘Otag-i Hümayun’ (‘Royal Tents’) project, Ottoman tents and related gadgets at the Topkapi Palace were cleaned, restored and subsequently exhibited in the Has Ahirlar (‘Royal Stables’) section of the Topkapi Palace.

The practice of the intricate, ancient arts of embroidery throughout the Ottoman Empire gave rise to splendid representations of flowers in silk and gold. With sumptuous colour photography throughout, Flowers of Silk and Gold examines the history of the various stitches, fabrics and designs employed, and gives an engrossing insight into an unfamiliar though much-fantasized world.

Status symbols, diplomatic gifts, artistic mediums and economic treasures--figured silk fabrics were among the most powerful and most characteristic artistic products of the Ottoman Empire. Wars were fought for control of silk revenues, and governments devoted major bureaucratic efforts toward the organization, regulation and taxation of silk production. Ipek: The Crescent & the Roseis the most comprehensive and magnificently illustrated overview of Ottoman silk textiles of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Its lavish, full-bleed, six-color reproductions of fabrics from the Topkapi Palace in Istanbul, and from lesser-known ecclesiastical treasuries in the Balkans, Sweden, Poland and Russia, demonstrate the creativity of Ottoman weavers in rich detail, and will appeal to anyone with an interest in design or a general appreciation for visual delights. Accompanied by scholarly essays that shed light on the different historical, legislative, economic and technological factors that determined the history of these textiles.

Osmanlı İmparatorluğunun iktisadi, siyasi, sosyal ve ticari hayatında önemli bir role sahip olan ipekli dokumalar, gerek hammaddesinin pahalı olması, gerekse üretimlerinin çok zahmetli olmasına rağmen yüzyıllar boyunca en değerli ve vazgeçilmez dokuma türü olmuştur. Osmanlı ipekli dokumaları arasında en gösterişli ve tok kumaşlardan olan "kemha" ve kadifenin bir türü olan "çatma", saray ve halk tarafından oldukça beğenilen, kaftan yapımında ve döşemede çok sık kullanılan kumaşlardır.

15. yüzyıl ile 20. yüzyıl başı arasına tarihlenen kemha ve çatma örneklerinden oluşan Sadberk Hanım Müzesi Osmanlı ipekli dokuma koleksiyonu, sayı bakımından çok olmamakla birlikte desen çeşitliliği ve yüksek kaliteleri ile önemli ve seçkin bir grubu oluşturur.

This book, originally published on the occasion of an international carpet exhibition in Istanbul in 1997 at the Museum of Turkish and Islamic Arts, brings together a stunning array of 163 rare carpets that were selected from the museum's legendary collection and are presented here for the first time in images of hitherto unachieved quality. The internationally-respected magazine Hali called it "The ultimate Turkish carpet book.

Halı sanatı ile ilgili çevrelerin dikkati, önce tabii olarak 1906 yılında Selçuklu halılarının 'keşfedildiği' Konya Alaeddin Camii'ndeki sansasyonel buluntu ile bu bölgeye çevrildi. 1930 yılında Beyşehir Eşrefoğlu Camii'nde bulunan, bilim dünyasındaki genel eğilime göre 13.-14. YY'a tarihlenen bir dizi erken dönem halının da Selçuklu halı grubuna eklenmesi ile Konya yöresi, halı sanatında vazgeçilmez yerini aldı.
'Konya Halıları' terminolojisi uzun yıllar 'Selçuklu Halıları' ile eşanlamlı olarak kullanıldı. 20. yüzyılın ikinci yarısında, araştırmaların Karapınar, Obruk gibi, bölgedeki diğer önemli merkezleri, bunun yanı sıra uzun yıllar halı sanatının gölgesinde kalmış Konya yöresi kilimlerini de ortaya çıkarmasının ardından, halı dünyası, Konya bölgesinin bir diğer halı gurubu ile tanıştı. "Sarı zeminli Konya halıları" olarak adlandırılan bu gurup, içinde çeşitli tipleri barındırmaktadır. Selçuklu halılarından tanıdığımız sonsuzluk ilkesine göre sıralanmış sekizgenler, yıldızlar, Memluk halılarından tanıdığımız yıldız, gamalı haç motifleri ile bezeli sekizgen sıraları, tam, yarım ve çeyrek madalyonlar, düz veya diagonal çizgiler, çoğu kez dar ve uzun olarak dokunan bu halıların başlıca desen repertuarını oluşturmaktadır. Yün son derece parlak ve yumuşak, renkler ise, can alıcı tonlarda, sarı başta olmak üzere kırmızı, patlıcan moru, kayısı, mavi ve yeşilin en göz alıcı nüanslarını içerir. Motifleri çoğu kez siyahımsı koyulukta kahverengi bir kontur çerçevelemektedir.

Bu halılar daha önce bir ticaret konusu olmamış, evlerde dokunup nadiren saklanmışlar, çoğu kez de neredeyse parçalanıncaya kadar kullanılmışlardır. Hiç ihraç edilmediklerinden ötürü olsa gerek, ne yurt dışı koleksiyonlarda ne de bu halıları resmetmiş Avrupa resim sanatında karşımıza çıkmaktadırlar. Ancak arkaik karakterleri, çok eski bir geleneğin uzantısı oldukları ipucunu vermektedir.

Tarihlenmeleri, eski yayınlarda büyük bir ihtiyatla genellikle 18. yüzyıla atfedilirken, daha yakın tarihlerde yapılmış araştırmalar, bunları 15.-16. yüzyıl kadar indirebilmektedir. Genel kanı ise, pek çoğunun 17./18. yy'da; bazılarının ise 19. yüzyılda Konya, Aksaray, Nevşehir çevresinde dokunduğu doğrultusundadır.

Sarı zeminli Konya veya daha geniş anlamda Konya-Kapadokya halıları, onları ilginç kılan özelliklerinden ötürü, dünya müzelerinde ve özel koleksiyonlarda giderek daha önemli bir yer almaya başlamışlardır.
Orta Anadolu öteden beri halı sanatının önemli bir merkezi olagelmiştir. Anadolu'daki en eski Türk halılarının Konya ve Beyşehir'deki camilerde bulunması, öte yandan bu bölgede Anadolu'nun Türkleşme süreci ile paralel giden yoğun bir halı ticaretinin belgelerle bilinen varlığı, Orta Anadolu'yu, özellikle de Konya-Nevşehir-Karaman yöresini halı araştırmaları için ilginç kılmaktadır.

Halı sanatı ile ilgili çevrelerin dikkati, önce tabii olarak 1906 yılında Selçuklu halılarının "keşfedildiği" Konya Alaeddin Camii'ndeki sansayonel buluntu ile bu bölgeye çevrildi. 1930 yılında Beyşehis Eşrefoğlu Camii'nde bulunan, bilim dünyasındaki genel eğilime göre 13. - 14. yy'a tarihlenen bir dizi erken dönem halının da Selçuklu halı grubuna eklenmesi ile Konya yöresi, halı sanatında vazgeçilmez yerini aldı.

The study of clothes and dressing has great potential for social and cultural history. Typically Ottoman urbanites situated their fellow men after a glance at the clothing worn by the latter. As to the women, such conclusions were more difficult to draw, as all females were to be modestly covered up and ideally almost invisible. Yet in practice, at least from the eighteenth century onwards, it was often possible, at least in Istanbul, to distinguish fashionable from soberly pious women. To be aware of people's modes of dressing thus was part of knowing one's way around in Ottoman society.

After Ottoman Sultan Selim I assumed the role of ‘Khadim al-Haramayn’ (Servant of the Two Sacred Cities), the Ottoman Empire rendered innumerable services to the holy cities of Mecca and Medina. As part of this protection and maintenance, the Ottoman state regularly updated the covers, curtains, and belts that project the Ka’aba. The old covers, curtains, and belts were considered sacred and meticulously preserved. They are now part of the collection at Topkapı Palace, and this catalogue explores these items in depth, expanding on the 1996 Arabic publication by Tezcan on the sacred embroideries.

The aim of this catalogue is to publish the 43 Ottoman textiles which are preserved in the Royal Museums of Art and History. With the exception of two textiles, whose origins are unknown, these examples were woven in the major metropolitan weaving centres of the Ottoman Empire namely Bursa, Istanbul and their environs. All date from the period between the late 15th to the early 19th century. Two types of weaves are represented. Firstly the velvets of which the collection counts 25 examples, one of them being an important catma, probably the earliest preserved in the world. Follow the kemha or lampas fabrics, of which we preserve 16 specimens, 6 of them bearing inscriptions, the others decorated with various patterns. The third main type of Ottoman weaves, the seraser or cloth of gold and silver, rare in Western collections, is not represented here. Finally, the collection contains two silks in a distinctive weave, an extended tabby, of which one is a military banner. Although these fall slightly out of the otherwise homogeneous group, they where not excluded from this study because certainly produced within the Ottoman realm. This publication puts on record a status quaestionis of the knowledge we gathered the last ten years on the account of this group of silks and to place it at the disposal of other museum curators and researchers. Since the scrutiny of the weaving technology and of the natural dye analyses can lead to a better understanding of the silk industry and offers at the same time concrete elements to delimit groups of textiles and of -who knows in the future- workshops or production centres, special focus is laid on these aspects.

Bu kitapta, Ankara keçisi tiftiğinden eğrilerek Ankara’da dokunan, Ankara sofunun ve Ankara tiftik dokumacılığının tarihine odaklanan Tarihi Dokumak: Bir Kentin Gizemi, Sof sergisinin kataloğunun yanı sıra, 16. yüzyıldan itibaren dünyada, eşsiz özellikleriyle seçkinler tarafından tercih edildiği bilinen ancak 19.yüzyılda azalarak son bulan sof dokumacılığının izinde, Ankara keçisi, tiftik, sof, Ankara keçisinin ve Ankara tiftik dokumacılığının temsili gibi konulara ilişkin bilimsel makaleler yer almaktadır. Bu kitap, müzelerden ve özel koleksiyonlardan sof örneklerinin tespit edilerek izleyiciyle ilk kez buluştuğu sof sergisinin nasıl oluşturulduğunun belgelenmesinin yanında, Ankara keçisi ve sof üzerine araştırmacıların yararlanacağı bir kaynak olması amaçlanarak oluşturulmuştur.

Anadolu’da dokumacılığın ve yünün tarihi ve yünün maddi değerinden, Ankara keçisinin özelliklerine, Osmanlı döneminde Ankara keçisi yetiştiriciliği, Ankara keçisinin Fransa ve Güney Afrika’daki serüveni ve sayısal yoğunluğunun değişimine, Ankara tiftik ve sof dokumacılığının tarihinden, 18. Yüzyıla tarihlenen Ankara’nın bilinen en eski resmi Ankara Manzarası’nın hikayesinin sunulmasına kadar farklı ancak birbiriyle bağlantılı konulardaki yazıları bir araya getiren kitapta aynı zamanda, Cumhuriyet döneminde Ankara keçisi ve tiftik arz zincirinin bir değerlendirmesi, Ankara keçisi simgesinin resim, banknot, pul, amblem gibi öğelerde nasıl temsil edildiğine dair makaleler de yer almaktadır. Kitabın, sergi kataloğu bölümünde, Topkapı Sarayı Müzesi’nden 16. Ve 17. yüzyıllara tarihlenen tiftik örnekler, Sadberk Hanım Müzesi’nden sof kumaştan ve tiftikten üretilmiş giysi örnekleri, Ankara Etnografya Müzesi ve şahıs koleksiyonlarında yer alan sof kumaş örnekleri yer almaktadır. Bununla birlikte, 18. Yüzyıl Ankara’sını topografik özellikleriyle olduğu kadar Ankara keçisine ve tiftiğe dayalı ekonomisi ve tiftik dokumacılığı ile de tesmsil eden, sergi için Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam’dan getirilen Ankara Manzarası tablosu da bulunmaktadır. Katalogda, Koç Üniversitesi Vehbi Koç Ankara Araştırmaları Uygulama ve Araştırma Merkezi Kütüphane ve Arşivi’nden ve şahsi ve kurumsal koleksiyonlardan ve arşivlerden bir araya getirilen, Ankara keçisi ve tiftik dokumacılığına dair gravür, kartpostal, fotoğraf, belge, tiftik dokumacılığında kullanılan aletler, sof boyamacılığında kullanılan doğal boyar maddeler ve tiftikten Cumhuriyet döneminde üretilen örgü ve dokuma örneklerden bir seçki de bulunmaktadır.

This is the catalog that accompanied an exhibition at the Textile Museum in Washington, DC. The catalog contains a history of Turkish weaving, numerous illustrations, and detailed information about each of the objects in the exhibition.

Pazırık halısı ile başlayan 'Halı Sanatı' araştırmaları, tarih boyunca Türkler'e bağlı olarak gelişmiştir. Bu eserde Fustat'ta 9.yüzyılda bulunan Türk Halıları ile 19.yüzyıl arasındaki geçen zaman zarfında, takriben 1000 senelik bir zaman dilimini kapsayan dönemde Türk Halıları'nı detayları ile ortaya koymaktadır.