Okuma Listesi (Makaleler)
The following articles are from W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press (2012) and listed chronologically not according to the authors’ surnames. This book is available at AKMED’s Library.
- J. H. Kroll, “The monetary background of Early coinage”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 13-42.
- K. Konuk, “Asia Minor to the Ionian Revolt”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 43-60.
- M. Alram, “The Coinage of the Persian Empire”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 61-87.
- P. van Alfen, “The Coinage of Athens, Sixth to First Century BC”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 88-104.
- N.K. Rutter, “The Coinage of Italy”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 128-141.
- W. Fisher-Bossert, “The Coinage of Sicily”, pp. 142-156.
- F. de Callatay, “Royal Hellenistic Coinage: From Alexander to Mithradates”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 175-190.
- R. Ashton, “The Hellenistic World: The cities of Mainland Greece and Asia Minor”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 191-210.
- C. Lorber, “The Coinage of the Ptolemies”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 211-234.
- A. Houghton, “The Seleucids”, pp. 235-251.
- A. Burnett, “Early Roman Coinage and Its Italian Context”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 297-314.
- B. E. Woytek, “The Denarius Coinage of the Roman Republic”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 315-334.
- P.P. Ripolles, “The Julio_Claudians”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 335-355.
- I. Carradice, “Flavian Coinage”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 375-390.
- M. Amandry, “The Coinage of the Roman Provinces through Hadrian”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 391-404.
- M. Beckmann, “Trajan and Hadrian”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 405-422.
- L. M. Yarrow, “Antonine Coinage”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 423-452.
- R. Ably, “The Severans”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 499-513.
- R. Bland, “From Gordian to the Gallic Empire”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 514-537.
- S. Moorhead, “The Coinage of the Later Empire, 364-498”, in W. E. Metcalf (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Coinage, Oxford University Press, 2012, pp. 601-632.
For the Byzantine coinage:
- C. Morrisson, “Byzantine Money: Its production and Circulation”, in A. Laiou, The Economic History of Byzantium: From the seventh through the fifteenth Century, Dumbarton Oaks, Washington DC, 2002, pp. 909-965.
Okuma Listesi (Kitaplar)
Ancient History from Coins by Call Number: HG237 .M664 2008ISBN: 0415089921Publication Date: 1995-12-06Like other volumes in this series, Ancient History from Coins demystifies a specialism, introducing students (from first year upwards) to the techniques, methods, problems and advantages of using coins to do ancient history.
Coins are a fertile source of information for the ancient historian; yet too often historians are uneasy about using them as evidence because of the special problems attaching to their interpretation. The world of numismatics is not always easy for the non-specialist to penetrate or understand with confidence. Dr Howgego describes and anlyses the main contributions the study of coins can make to ancient history, showing shows through numerous examples how the character, patterns and behaviour of coinage bear on major historical themes. Topics range from state finance and economic policy to imperial domination and political propaganda through coins types.
The period covered by the book is from the invention of coinage (ca 600BC) to AD 400.
Coinage and Identity in the Roman Provinces by Call Number: CJ909 .C65 2005ISBN: 0199265267Publication Date: 2005-07-07Coins were the most deliberate of all symbols of public communal identities, yet the Roman historian will look in vain for any good introduction to, or systematic treatment of, the subject. Sixteen leading international scholars have sought to address this need by producing this authoritative collection of essays, which ranges over the whole Roman world from Britain to Egypt, from 200 BC to AD 300. The subject is approached through surveys of the broad geographical and chronological structure of the evidence, through chapters which focus on ways of expressing identity, and through regional studies which place the numismatic evidence in local context.
Readership : Ancient historians and archaeologists; professional academic numismatists (in museums and universities) and coin collectors; anthropologists and social historians interested in issues of identity.
Hellen Dünyasında Sikke by Call Number: CJ335 .C377 2001ISBN: 97558293192Publication Date: 2001Bu kitapta İ.Ö. 7. yüzyılda ilk ortaya çıkışından Hellenistik dönemin sonuna kadar sikkenin Hellen dünyasındaki gelişimi ve kullanımı anahtarlarıyla ele alınmaktadır. Sikkeler tarihin birçok yanını aydınlatabilmektedirler; burada esas olarak tedavülde bulunma ve kullanılma nedenleri üzerinde durulmaktadır. Böylece, zengin bir bilgi kaynağı tek bir kitapta ve bir bütün olarak sunulmaktadır.
Birinci Bölüm, Hellen sikkelerine giriş niteliğinde olup modern araştırma yöntemlerinin gelişimi özetlenmektedir. Bu bölümden sonra, sikkenin icadının ve Hellen dünyasının tüm bölgelerine yayılımının ele alındığı bölümlere yer verilmiştir. Daha sonra, sikke basımına, sikkeler üzerindeki tasvirlere ve sikkelerin halkın yaşamındaki önemine değinilmekte ve bunları da Klasik Çağ, Büyük İskender ve geç Hellenistik dünyaya ayrılmış bölümler izlemektedir.
Klasik Arkeoloji, Sanat Tarihi ve Tarih öğrencilerinin yanı sıra sikke koleksiyoncuları ve eskiçağ dünyasına ilgi duyan herkes bu kitapta öz ve ilginç bir bilgi kaynağına ulaşacaktır
The Hellenistic World by Call Number: CJ407 .T46 2015ISBN: 9781107451759Publication Date: 2016-01-14Coinage is one of our key sources for the rich and fascinating history of the Hellenistic world (323-31 BC). This book provides students of the period with an up-to-date introduction to Hellenistic gold, silver and bronze coins in their cultural and economic contexts. It also offers new perspectives on four major themes in contemporary Hellenistic history: globalisation, identity, political economy and ideology. With more than 250 illustrations, and written in a lucid and accessible style, this book sheds new light on the diverse and multicultural societies of the Hellenistic world, from Alexander to Augustus. The author assumes no prior knowledge of Hellenistic history, and all Greek and Latin texts are translated throughout.
The Monetary Systems of the Greeks and Romans by Call Number: HG237 .M664 2008ISBN: 9780199233359Publication Date: 2008-04-15Most people have some idea what Greeks and Romans coins looked like, but few know how complex Greek and Roman monetary systems eventually became. The contributors to this volume are numismatists, ancient historians, and economists intent on investigating how these systems worked and how they both did and did not resemble a modern monetary system. Why did people first start using coins? How did Greeks and Romans make payments, large or small? What does money mean in Greek tragedy? Was the Roman Empire an integrated economic system? This volume can serve as an introduction to such questions, but it also offers the specialist the results of original research.
Münzbild und Gemeinschaft : die Prägungen der römischen Kolonien in Kleinasien by Call Number: CJ1091 .F55 2015ISBN: 9783774939479Publication Date: 2015Im Focus des Bandes steht das reiche Repertoire der Münzbilder römisch-kleinasiatischer Kolonien. In jeder Stadt verschoben sich mit dem Zuzug von Veteranen die Mitbestimmungs- und Machtstrukturen; neue Selbstbilder der Gemeinschaften entstanden.
Kernfragen an das aus fast 8000 Einzelmünzen bestehende Untersuchungsmaterial sind: Wie schlagen sich die veränderten kulturellen und sozio-politischen Faktoren im offiziellen Medium der Münzprägungen von 14 Koloniestädten nieder? Kommunizierte jede Kolonie ein eigenes Spektrum an ihr wichtigen, identitätsanzeigenden Themen? Welche Traditionen und Provenienzen weisen die gewählten Motive auf, wie veränderten sich diese im Laufe von fast drei Jahrhunderten? Welche Botschaften waren mit den Münzrückseiten konnotiert und auf welchem methodischen Wege sind sie heute zu erschließen?
Die Münzen vermitteln mit in den kolonialen Gremien kollektiv ausgewählten Reversmotiven diejenigen Themen, welche der Selbstvergewisserung der Bürger dienlich waren, die aber auch als Chiffren kolonialer Identität im regionalen Umfeld wirksam werden sollten.
Roman Historical Coins by Call Number: CJ833 .F67 1990ISBN: 0900652977Publication Date: 1990-09-01Designed for the collector, this book includes introductions to each emperor's life and reign, followed by a listing of the major types of coin for each reign. About 2000 coins are listed together with an index of historical events.
