The Louvre Museum
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
The State Hermitage Museum
A Historian's Brief Guide to New Museum Studies article by Randolph Starn
19th century print of the British Museum Great Russell Street entrance.
Historians in Museums
Seeing the Past as Present: Why Museums Matter | Colleen Leth | TEDxOxBridge
You can visit these museums!
The Pinacoteca di Brere di Milano contains one of the leading art collections in Italy, including masterpieces by Raphael and Caravaggio.
Galleria degli Uffizi – Floransa
One of the most important Italian museums and the most visited, it is also one of the largest and best known in the world and holds a collection of priceless works, particularly from the period of the Italian Renaissance.
The Museum of Archaeology of Atina was established in 1978 and was originally situated within the town’s Palazzo Ducale. In the year 2000 the museum was transferred to the first floor of the former school, building founded by Giuseppe Visocchi.
It is widely considered to have one of the world’s finest collections of European art, dating from the 12th century to the early 20th century.
The British Museum, in the Bloomsbury area of London, United Kingdom, is a public institution dedicated to human history, art and culture.
They display works from the immense collection amassed by the Roman Catholic Church and the Papacy throughout the centuries including several of the most renowned Roman sculptures and most important masterpieces of Renaissance art in the world.
National Gallery of art – Washington
The Gallery’s collection of paintings, drawings, prints, photographs, sculpture, medals, and decorative arts traces the development of Western Art from the Middle Ages to the present, including the only painting by Leonardo da Vinci in the Americas and the largest mobile created by Alexander Calder.
The museum’s primary purpose is to collect, study, preserve, and present material objects that illuminate the human history of Canada and the cultural diversity of its people.
Internationally renowned for its substantial holdings of Asian and Egyptian art, the museum houses a diverse permanent collection of more than 61,000 works of art from around the world.
It’s an interdisciplinary museum dedicated to the art, history, and natural science of California, located adjacent to Oak Street.
It is the permanent home of a continuously expanding collection of Impressionist, Post-Impressionist, early Modern, and contemporary art and also features special exhibitions throughout the year.
The museum holds mainly French art dating from 1848 to 1914, including paintings, sculptures, furniture, and photography.
The Pergamon Museum houses monumental buildings such as the Pergamon Altar, the Ishtar Gate of Babylon, the Market Gate of Miletus reconstructed from the ruins found in Anatolia, as well as the Mshatta Facade.
The museum has on display 8,000 objects of art and history, from their total collection of 1 million objects from the years 1200–2000, among which are some masterpieces by Rembrandt, Frans Hals, and Johannes Vermeer.
The Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam houses the largest collection of art works by Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) in the world.
The collection of the J. Paul Getty Museum comprises Greek, Roman, and Etruscan art from the Neolithic to Late Antiquity; European art—including illuminated manuscripts, paintings, drawings, sculpture, and decorative arts—from the Middle Ages to the early twentieth century; and international photography from its inception to the present day.
The collection of some thirty thousand works spans the arts and cultures of Japan, Asia, and Europe, and the Museum takes touring exhibitions to other countries.
MASP distinguished itself for many important initiatives concerning museology and art education in Brazil, as well as for its pioneering role as a cultural center.It was also the first Brazilian museum interested in Post-World War II art.
Dr. Bhau Daji Lad Museum – Mumbai
The Dr. Bhau Daji Lad Mumbai City Museum (formerly the Victoria and Albert Museum) is the oldest museum in Mumbai. Situated in the vicinity of Byculla Zoo, Byculla East, it was originally established in 1855 as a treasure house of the decorative and industrial arts,[1] and was later renamed in honour of Dr. Bhau Daji Lad.
The Pitt Rivers Museum is a museum displaying the archaeological and anthropological collections of the University of Oxford in England.
The Vatican Museums are the public art and sculpture museums in the Vatican City. They display works from the immense collection amassed by the Roman Catholic Church and the Papacy throughout the centuries including several of the most renowned Roman sculptures and most important masterpieces of Renaissance art in the world.
Byzantine and Christian Virtual Museum
The Museum has over 30,000 artefacts. They date from the 3rd century AD to the 21th century AD: icons, wall-paintings, manuscripts and works on paper, works of minor arts, ceramics, textiles, paintings, mosaics, copies.
The State Hermitage Museum is a museum of art and culture in Saint Petersburg, Russia. The second-largest art museum in the world, it was founded in 1764 when Empress Catherine the Great.
The Science Museum now holds a collection of over 300,000 items, including such famous items as Stephenson’s Rocket, Puffing Billy (the oldest surviving steam locomotive), the first jet engine, the Apollo 10 command module, a reconstruction of Francis Crick and James Watson’s model of DNA.
National Archaeological Museum
The National Archaeological Museum in Athens houses some of the most important artifacts from a variety of archaeological locations around Greece from prehistory to late antiquity
The Frick is known for its distinguished Old Master paintings and outstanding examples of European sculpture and decorative arts.
The Virtual Migration Museum tells the story of migration in 3D. Visitors can move through a fictional urban landscape where they can enter and explore different buildings, each with a unique theme.
The national museums of Canada are a system of nine national museums operated by the federal Government of Canada. The national museums are centres of preservation, exhibition and research of Canada’s human and natural history.
The National Museum of Australia, in the national capital Canberra, preserves and interprets Australia’s social history, exploring the key issues, people and events that have shaped the nation.
The Victoria and Albert Museum in London is the world's largest museum of applied and decorative arts and design, as well as sculpture, housing a permanent collection of over 2.27 million objects.
The Bode Museum is one of the group of museums on Museum Island in Berlin, Germany. It was designed by architect Ernst von Ihne and completed in 1904. Originally called the Kaiser-Friedrich-Museum after Emperor Frederick III, the museum was renamed in honor of its first curator, Wilhelm von Bode, in 1956.
The world’s oldest museums
