History

Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies is an internationally recognised, peer-reviewed journal and one of the leading publications in its field. Published twice a year in spring and autumn, its remit is to facilitate the publication of high-quality research and discussion in all aspects of Byzantine and Modern Greek scholarship, whether historical, literary or social-anthropological. The journal welcomes research, criticism, contributions on theory and method in the form of articles, critical studies and short notes.

Provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and research in historical economics, covering all facets, all historical periods, and all parts of the world.

Comparative Studies in Society and History (CSSH) is an international forum for new research and interpretation concerning problems of recurrent patterning and change in human societies through time and the contemporary world. CSSH sets up a working alliance among specialists in all branches of the social sciences and humanities as a way of bringing together multidisciplinary research, cultural studies, and theory, especially in anthropology, history, political science, and sociology. Review articles and discussion bring readers in touch with current findings and issues.

Chinese Studies in History makes noteworthy works and important trends of historical study in the Chinese-speaking world available to English-language readers. Thematic issues present original papers or articles from academic journals and anthologies that have been selected for translation because of their excellence, interest, and contribution to scholarship on the topic. Topical coverage ranges over all periods and subfields of Chinese and East Asian history as well as more general theoretical and historiographical questions of interest to historians of many specialties. Each issue includes a substantive introduction by the editor or specialist guest editor.

Articles, historiographical essays, feature reviews, research notes and dissertations focusing primarily on 20th century diplomatic history in Europe, but also on the Cold War, the anti-Vietnam War movement and American influence in the Third World.

Original contributions in the field of economic and social history, critical essays, notes and comments, and extensive numbers of book reviews.

European History Quarterly is a peer-reviewed journal which has earned an international reputation as an essential resource on European history, publishing articles by eminent historians on a range of subjects from the later Middle Ages to post-1945.European History Quarterly also features review articles by leading authorities, offering a comprehensive survey of recent literature in a particular field, as well as an extensive book review section, enabling you to keep up to date with what's being published in your field. The journal also features historiographical essays.

Environmental History (EH) is the leading journal in the world for scholars, scientists, and practitioners who are interested in following the development of this exciting new field. EH carries international articles that portray human interactions with the natural world over time. Insights from history, geography, anthropology, the natural sciences, and many other disciplines are included.

French History is an international forum for major new articles on the entire range of French history from the early middle ages to the twenty-first century. As well as individual submissions, we welcome suggestions for special issues on important themes.

German History is renowned for its extensive range, covering all periods of German history and all German-speaking areas. Issues contain refereed articles and book reviews on various aspects of the history of the German-speaking world, as well as discussion fora, reflections and review essays.

A scholarly history journal, excluding classical history, but otherwise not limited to period, subject or geographical area.

History and Theory is the premier international journal in the field of theory and philosophy of history. Founded in 1960, History and Theory publishes articles, review essays, and summaries of books principally in these areas: critical philosophy of history, cause, explanation, interpretation, objectivity; speculative philosophy of history, comparative and global history; historiography, theoretical dimensions of historians' debates; history of historiography, theory and practice of past historians and philosophers of history; historical methodology, examination of texts and other evidence, narrativism, stylistics; critical theory, Marxism, deconstruction, gender theory, psychoanalysis; time and culture, conceptions of humanity-in-time; related disciplines, interactions between history and the natural and social sciences, the humanities, and psychology.
JSTOR provides a digital archive of the print version of History and Theory.

Presents essays and research articles dealing with a wide range of topics pertaining to ancient and modern world history.

Historical Methods reaches an international audience of historians and other social scientists concerned with historical problems. It explores interdisciplinary approaches to new data sources, new approaches to older questions and material, and practical discussions of computer and statistical methodology, data collection, and sampling procedures. In addition to its longtime interest in quantitative approaches to historical questions, Historical Methods also emphasizes a variety of other issues such as methods for interpreting visual information and the rhetoric of social scientific history.

History of European Ideas is devoted to the intellectual history of Europe from the Renaissance onwards. It is interdisciplinary in that it publishes articles on the history of ideas in a number of different fields: political and economic thought and international relations, philosophy, natural philosophy and science, theology and literature.History of European Ideas also publishes editions of texts or manuscripts from time to time. Proposals for special issues devoted to historical themes or to proceedings of conferences are also encouraged.

Since its launch in 1976, History Workshop Journal has become one of the world's leading historical journals. Through incisive scholarship and imaginative presentation it brings past and present into dialogue, engaging readers inside and outside universities. HWJ publishes a wide variety of essays, reports and reviews, ranging from literary to economic subjects, local history to geopolitical analyses. Clarity of style, challenging argument and creative use of visual sources are especially valued.

The Journal of Interdisciplinary History features substantive articles, research notes, review essays, and book reviews relating historical research and work in applied fields such as economics and demographics.

Journal of the Ottoman and Turkish Studies Association (formerly, Turkish Studies Association Journal) is a refereed journal published semi-annually by the Ottoman and Turkish Studies Association.

Official journal of the World History Association. Peer reviewed coverage of comparative and cross-cultural themes which describe forces that work their influences across cultures and civilizations.

The Journal of Contemporary History (JCH) is a quarterly peer-reviewed international journal publishing articles and book reviews on twentieth-century history (post-1930), covering a broad range of historical approaches including social, economic, political, diplomatic, intellectual and cultural. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

For over thirty years, the Journal of Urban History has provided scholars and professionals with the latest research, analyses, and discussion on the history of cities and urban societies throughout the world.

A well-established international quarterly, the Journal of Historical Geography publishes articles on all aspects of historical geography and cognate fields, including environmental history. As well as publishing original research papers of interest to a wide international and interdisciplinary readership, the journal encourages lively discussion of methodological and conceptual issues and debates over new challenges facing researchers in the field. Each issue includes a substantial book review section, and there is a regular feature on 'Historical Geography at Large' devoted to the public impact of research in the field.

The Journal of Social History publishes articles and reviews in all fields of social history, regardless of period and region. It seeks particularly to promote work in new topics in social history, where it has established a distinguished record during its 40-year existence. New topics involve both the key facets of the field: exploring the histories and impacts of ordinary people and exploring aspects of the human experience beyond the more conventional historical staples. It also encourages discussions of key analytical and methodological issues, including comparative issues and issues of periodization. The Journal has also been active in bringing sociohistorical work in regional specializations, such as African or Latin American history, to a wider audience within the field. Periodically, the journal offers thematic issues that advance its basic purposes, including discussions of larger trajectories within the field itself.

The Journal of African History publishes articles and book reviews ranging widely over the African past, from the late Stone Age to the present. In recent years increasing prominence has been given to economic, cultural and social history and several articles have explored themes which are also of growing interest to historians of other regions such as: gender roles, demography, health and hygiene, propaganda, legal ideology, labour histories, nationalism and resistance, environmental history, the construction of ethnicity, slavery and the slave trade, and photographs as historical sources. Contributions dealing with pre-colonial historical relationships between Africa and the African diaspora are especially welcome, as are historical approaches to the post-colonial period.

Memory Studies affords recognition, form and direction to work in this nascent field, and provides a peer-reviewed, critical forum for dialogue and debate on the theoretical, empirical, and methodological issues central to a collaborative understanding of memory today. Memory Studies examines the social, cultural, cognitive, political and technological shifts affecting how, what and why individuals, groups and societies remember, and forget.

Oral History aims to contribute to developments in the theory and practice of oral history. It welcomes contributions, whether long or short articles, news items, reviews or reports of meetings, conferences or new projects.
The joint editors welcome contributions from a wide range of disciplines and practices, for example, women's studies, sociology, cultural studies, anthropology, politics, social policy, social administration, museum studies, archive work, health studies, education, library and information services, community publishing, folklore, media studies, photography, broadcasting, nursing, social work, psychology, psychiatry, and in fact any area where the significance of orality, personal testimony and remembering is understood and valued. We welcome a variety of approaches from people from different countries and from different backgrounds

The Journal of Ottoman Studies has been published continuously since 1980 and has carried the pluralist heritage of the Ottomans to contemporary academe by bringing together Ottomanists from different countries as well as from different disciplines and schools of thought. As the founder of the journal, the late Nejat Göyünç (1925-2001), stated in the preface he wrote for the first volume of the journal, the aim of the journal “is to become a means for the increasingly growing number of students of Ottoman Studies to get together in this journal, to encourage young members of the scholarly profession by publishing their interesting research …, to help them to become known, and to facilitate the presentation of their research to the scholarly world.”

Description: Tables of contents for recent issues of Past & Present are available at http://www3.oup.co.uk/past/contents/. Authorized users may be able to access the full text articles at this site.
Founded in 1952, Past & Present is widely acknowledged to be the liveliest and most stimulating historical journal in the English-speaking world.

Social Science History seeks to advance the study of the past by publishing research that appeals to the journal's interdisciplinary readership of historians, sociologists, economists, political scientists, anthropologists, and geographers. The journal invites articles that blend empirical research with theoretical work, undertake comparisons across time and space, or contribute to the development of quantitative and qualitative methods of analysis. Social Science History is the official journal of the Social Science History Association.

Toplumsal Tarih, 1994’ten bu yana Tarih Vakfı tarafından çıkarılan Türkçe aylık tarih dergisi.Kurucusu ve ilk editörü Mete Tunçay’dır. Toplumsal Tarih dergisinden 10 sene evvel Tarih ve Toplum adıyla İletişim Yayınları'ndan yarı-popüler, yarı-akademik bir dergi çıkarmaya başlayan Tunçay, düzenli olarak 120 sayı (20 cilt) yayınladıktan sonra, kurucularından biri olduğu ve başından beri yönetim kurulunda yer aldığı Tarih Vakfı bünyesinde Toplumsal Tarih adlı bu dergiyi çıkarmaya girişmiştir.

The Journal of Economic History is devoted to the multidisciplinary study of history and economics, and is of interest not only to economic historians but to social and demographic historians, as well as economists in general. The journal has broad coverage, in terms of both methodology and geographic scope. Topics covered include money and banking, trade, manufacturing, technology, transportation, industrial organisation, labour, agriculture, servitude, demography, education, economic growth, and the role of government and regulation. In addition, an extensive book review section keeps readers informed about the latest work in economic history and related fields.

Presents articles, review articles, substantial numbers of book reviews and lists of recently published books in all areas of American history.

Tables of contents for recent issues of The English Historical Review are available at http://www3.oup.co.uk/enghis/contents/. Authorized users may be able to access the full text articles at this site.
First published in 1886, The English Historical Review is the oldest journal of historical scholarship in the English-speaking world. It deals not only with British history, but with almost all aspects of European and world history since the classical era. It covers the history of the Americas, including the foreign policy of the USA and her role in the wider world (but excluding the domestic history of the USA since Independence). With contributions from around the world, the EHR includes major articles, notes and documentations, and debates on medieval and modern themes, and an unrivalled range and quantity of reviews of books published worldwide, along with a summary of international literature, published in the September issue each year.

The Journal of Modern History is recognized as the leading American journal for the study of European intellectual, political, and cultural history. The Journal"s geographical and temporal scope-the history of Europe since the Renaissance-makes it unique: the JMH explores not only events and movements in specific countries, but also broader questions that span particular times and places.

Medieval History Journal was launched at the turn of the twenty-first century when the world of history was in a ferment, radically seeking a redefinition of the discipline. The MHJ derives its distinctive profile from encompassing the entire medieval world in scope and its multi-disciplinary foci. For the MHJ, `Medieval History` signifies open chronological and thematic boundaries to honour historical plurality. Its frequent special issues investigating a particular theme across regions have provided a space for comparative and transcultural conversations within scholarship.

The Journal of Hellenic Studies was first issued in 1880 and is internationally recognized as one of the foremost periodicals in the field of Classical scholarship. It contains articles on a wide variety of Hellenic topics, and reviews of recent books of importance to Greek studies.

Agricultural History is the journal of record in the field. As such, it publishes articles on all aspects of the history of agriculture and rural life with no geographical or temporal limits. The editor is particularly interested in articles that address a novel subject, demonstrate considerable primary and secondary research, display an original interpretation, and are of general interest to Society members and other Agricultural History readers.
The Agricultural History Society was founded in Washington, DC in 1919 "to promote the interest, study and research in the history of agriculture." Incorporated in 1924, the Society began publishing a journal in 1927. The term "agricultural history" has always been interpreted broadly. Currently the membership includes agricultural economists, anthropologists, economists, environmentalists, historians, historical geographers, rural sociologists, and a variety of independent scholars.

For over three decades, the Journal of Family History has been the leading resource for scholars interested in the history of the family. Today, JFH continues to be the most important forum for international research on family, kinship and population. Its focus encompasses work from a variety of perspectives, including gender, sexuality, race, class, and culture.

The Journal of Roman Studies publishes papers in the full range of the field which the Roman Society was established to promote, i.e. 'the study of the history, archaeology, literature and art of Italy and the Roman Empire, from the earliest times down to about A.D. 700'. The emphasis is on historical themes, but there are also articles on literary, archaeological and art historical topics, including issues of cultural and intellectual history that cut across these categories. Papers are intended to make a fresh and significant contribution to the understanding of the Roman world and to stimulate further discussion. Articles primarily on the archaeology of Roman Britain are published in the Society's sister journal, Britannia.

Published since 1923, Historical Research, flagship publication of the Institute of Historical Research, is a leading generalist history journal, covering the global history of the early middle ages to the twenty-first century.As the journal of the Institute of Historical Research, Historical Research (formerly the Bulletin of the Institute of Historical Research) reflects the IHR’s strengths and ambitions—in facilitating new research and as the UK’s national centre for history. The journal is committed to promoting diversity in the areas of historical research it publishes, and in the authors whose work it showcases. Central to this is the journal’s support for innovative work by early career researchers, and its responsiveness to the needs of the discipline and emerging scholarly trends.

Byzantion is an international peer reviewed journal founded in 1924; it is devoted to Byzantine culture and covers literature, history and art history, including the related disciplines. Every volume contains scholarly articles followed by a large bibliographical section. Byzantion highly contributes to the development of Byzantine Studies.

The Journal of Ancient History aims to provide a forum for scholarship covering all aspects of ancient history and culture from the Archaic Period to Late Antiquity (roughly the ninth century BCE through the eighth century CE). The journal publishes peer-reviewed articles concerning the history and historiography (ancient and modern) of the ancient Mediterranean world and of neighboring civilizations in their relations with it. The journal is open to submissions in disciplines closely related to ancient history, including epigraphy, numismatics, religion and law. The journal does not currently publish book reviews.

The Journal of Ancient Near Eastern History seeks to encourage and stimulate the study of the history of the ancient Near East, which is broadly defined to include areas from Iran to the western Anatolian coast and the Black Sea to Southern Arabia from its prehistoric foundations to the Late Antique period. The journal is also interested in interactions with other regions and cultures, such as Ancient Egypt, the Mediterranean World, the Indian Ocean and Central Asia. Articles may focus on any aspect of history (political, social, economic, cultural, intellectual, etc.) and of modern historiography. The journal seeks to integrate the study of the ancient Near East firmly in the historical discipline in general and encourages its authors to take into account current methodological debates and approaches.

The Journal of Early Christian Studies is an academic journal founded in 1993 and is the official publication of the North American Patristics Society. It is devoted to the study of patristics, that is Christianity in the ancient period of roughly C.E. 100–700.