History

This brief, full-color text is subject-oriented and takes a chronological approach to world history with an emphasis on multi-culturalism.

With 83 additional outline and four-color maps,World Civilizations: The Global Experience, Fifth Edition, Atlas Edition, helps students with geography, one of the most difficult aspects of World history courses for many. The maps are accompanied by review questions that call on students to identify important geographical areas and think critically about the connection between geography and historical events. The maps are on perforated pages and are organized by chapter so that they can be assigned easily and collected.   The primary goal ofWorld Civilizationsis to present a truly global history-since the development of agriculture and herding to the present. Using a unique periodization, this book divides the main periods of human history according to changes in the nature and extent of global contacts.   This global world history text emphasizes the major stages in the interactions among different peoples and societies, while also assessing the development of major societies.  Presenting social and cultural as well as political and economic aspects, the book examines key civilizations in world history. World Civilizationsbalances this discussion of independent developments in the world's major civilizations with comparative analysis of the results of global contact.

Civilizations of the World provides comprehensive coverage of the world's major civilizations and places historical events, customs, and cultures in a global context. The book acquaints students with the global story in order that they may understand and appreciate the many cultures and societies that have played a role in the human adventure. Using detailed comparative global histories, the authors deliver a thorough discussion of world history enlivened with engaging accounts of critical events and pivotal issues.

The term OC civilizationOCO comes with considerable baggage, dichotomizing people, cultures, and histories as OC civilizedOCOOCoor not. While the idea of civilization has been deployed throughout history to justify all manner of interventions and sociopolitical engineering, few scholars have stopped to consider what the concept actually means. Here, Brett Bowden examines how the idea of civilization has informed our thinking about international relations over the course of ten centuries. aaaaaaaaaaa From the Crusades to the colonial era to the global war on terror, this sweeping volume exposes OC civilizationOCO as a stage-managed account of history that legitimizes imperialism, uniformity, and conformity to Western standards, culminating in a liberal-democratic global order. Along the way, Bowden explores the variety of confrontations and conquestsOCoas well as those peoples and places excluded or swept asideOCoundertaken in the name of civilization. Concluding that the OC West and the restOCO have more commonalities than differences, " "this provocative and engaging book" "ultimately points the way toward an authentic intercivilizational dialogue that emphasizes cooperation over clashes.a a a

For undergraduate level World Civilization or World History courses.This comprehensive, accessible survey of world history provides a global and comparative perspective on the events and processes that have shaped our increasingly interdependent world. It combines unusually strong and thorough coverage of Asian, African, Islamic, Western, and American civilization, while highlighting the role of the world's great religious and philosophical traditions.

Written from a consciously anti-enthnocentric approach, this fascinating work is a survey of the civilizations of the modern world in terms of the broad sweep and continuities of history, rather than the "event-based" technique of most other texts.

The first text to incorporate the work of specialists in diverse areas of World History throughout its coverage, Societies and Cultures in World History provides up-to-date insights into the history of Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, as well as early and modern Asia. The text provides a streamlined, thematic presentation of cultures in world history with integrity, authenticity, and expertise.

This is the world history book that gives students the whole story. The World is the first world history textbook that shows, through a holistic, truly engaging narrative, the fundamental interrelationships between peoples and their environment. This is the first textbook for which the AUTHORrsquo;s ability to tell the story of the World will help students to learn world history, and help teachers to teach world history. AUTHOR Felipe Fernandez-Armesto is a world renowned historian, world respected scholar, successful AUTHOR of more than 25 books translated into 22 languages, as well as an exceptional writer, highly sought after speaker, and inspiring classroom teacher. Felipe Fernandez-Armesto is a master historian and storyteller. His work and his writing have helped to shape and define the discipline. The World also features an innovative map program created exclusively for this text by Dorling Kindersley, unique images from around the world, a new document CDROM called Primary Source included in the text. For World History 1 (to 1500) (Chapters 1-15) and World History II (since 1500) (Chapters 13-30). For Introductory World History Courses.

The most globally integrated book in its field, Worlds Together, Worlds Apart is now available in a Concise Edition. Drawing even clearer connections and comparisons across time and place, this re-imagined text and companion adaptive learning program provide a wealth of new tools that will enhance reading comprehension and develop fundamental critical thinking and history skills.

From constitutional documents, political theory, and philosophy to imaginative literature and social description, you'll find fascinating primary source material in SOURCES OF WORLD HISTORY VOLUME I. Each selection is included for its ability to raise a significant issue and includes works representative of major civilization complexes (Africa, Asia, Latin America, the Islamic world, and Western civilization).

Methods in World History is the first international volume that systematically addresses a number of methodological problems specific to the field of World History. Prompted by a lack of applicable works, the authors advocate a considerable sharpening of the tools used within the discipline. Theories constructed on poor foundations run an obvious risk of reinforcing flawed assumptions, and of propping up other, more ideological constructions. The dedicated critical approach outlined in this volume helps to mitigate such risks. Each essay addresses a particular issue, discussing its problems, giving practical examples, and offering solutions and ways of overcoming the difficulties involved. The perspectives are varied, the criticism focussed, and a common theme of coalescence is maintained throughout. This unique anthology will be of great use to advanced scholars of World History, and to students entering the field for the first time.

Encouraging a broad understanding of continuity, change, and innovation in human history, Patterns in World History presents the global past in a comprehensive, even-handed, and open-ended fashion. Instead of focusing on the memorization of people, places, and events, this text strives topresent important facts in context and draw meaningful connections by examining patterns that have emerged throughout global history.

Empires--vast states of territories and peoples united by force and ambition--have dominated the political landscape for more than two millennia. Empires in World History departs from conventional European and nation-centered perspectives to take a remarkable look at how empires relied on diversity to shape the global order. Beginning with ancient Rome and China and continuing across Asia, Europe, the Americas, and Africa, Jane Burbank and Frederick Cooper examine empires' conquests, rivalries, and strategies of domination--with an emphasis on how empires accommodated, created, and manipulated differences among populations. Burbank and Cooper examine Rome and China from the third century BCE, empires that sustained state power for centuries. They delve into the militant monotheism of Byzantium, the Islamic Caliphates, and the short-lived Carolingians, as well as the pragmatically tolerant rule of the Mongols and Ottomans, who combined religious protection with the politics of loyalty. Burbank and Cooper discuss the influence of empire on capitalism and popular sovereignty, the limitations and instability of Europe's colonial projects, Russia's repertoire of exploitation and differentiation, as well as the "empire of liberty"--devised by American revolutionaries and later extended across a continent and beyond. With its investigation into the relationship between diversity and imperial states, Empires in World History offers a fresh approach to understanding the impact of empires on the past and present.

As well as over 4000 clear and concise entries, this dictionary also contains biographies of key figures in world history. Other useful features include: subject entries on religious and political movements, maps, and full international coverage.

The Greenwood Dictionary of World History is an indispensable, handy, and easy to use A-to-Z first-stop ready-reference resource providing essential information on over 2,000 of the most studied and important people, events, places, and ideas in world history from prehistoric to modern times, from all regions and epochs. Selection of entries--which are truly global in their range--was based on the guidelines and recommendations of organizations and agencies such as the National Council for History Education, the National Center for History in the Schools, the World History Association, the College Board World History Advanced Placement Test, and many of the state standards for history education. The content of the entries has been kept brief and concise to provide a definition or fundamental facts. * 70 maps * Emphasis on Middle Eastern, Asian, African, and Latin American History * Mesoamerican Entries * Indexed by Region * Indexed by Period * Indexed Thematically * Easy-to-Use A-to-Z Organization * Cross-referenced Entries * Bibliography

Western civilization and world history are often seen as different, or even mutually exclusive, routes into historical studies. This volume shows that they can be successfully linked, providing a tool to see each subject in the context of the other, identifying influences and connections. Western Civilization in World History takes up the recent debates about the merits of the well-established 'Western civ' approach versus the newer field of world history. Peter N. Stearns outlines key aspects of Western civilization - often assumed rather than analyzed - and reviews them in a global context.

For decades William L. Langer's best-selling Encyclopedia of World History was the indispensable, authoritative guide to all of human history. Now, under the direction of a distinguished new editor, comes an updated and dramatically improved version for a new generation. The result is a wholly accessible, absorbing canvas of world history that no student, scholar, or amateur historian should be without. Renowned historian Peter N. Stearns and thirty prominent historians have combined their expertise over the past ten years to perfect this comprehensive chronology of a significant number of entries that span the millennia from prehistoric times to the year 2000. With a unique format that has won it generations of fans, the Encyclopedia continues to feature chronological entries grouped by geographic region, allowing readers to get an in-depth view of distinct events along with a virtual time line of human history.
But this new edition is much more than an expansion of a classic; it reflects important recent changes in historical trends and historical thinking. In addition to showcasing traditional facts of national leadership and state power, the Encyclopedia embraces social and cultural developments, non-European history, women's history, religion, health, economics, technology, and other vital but less often reported aspects of the human drama. Here is a chronicle not only of major political events but of ordinary people, covering shifts in the relationships between men and women, developments in leisure, and demographic currents. And for all periods there are summaries of global developments that cannot be captured in national or regional frameworks. As editor Stearns notes in his preface, "The world we know historically has greatly changed. The revisions that animate this edition celebrate this change, benefiting from the labors of countless venturesome scholars over the past several decades." A masterwork whose roots date back to the nineteenth century, this exciting volume belongs at the elbow of every history lover and of anyone who has ever been curious about our constantly changing, remarkably diverse human story.

This brief, popular collection offers primary sources on a variety of civilizations, periods and topics in world history that will enhance teaching effectiveness and student learning. As the most concise primary source book on the market,Documents in World History gives professors the opportunity to incorporate primary materials into the classroom in a manageable and affordable way. Filled with reliable as well as less traditional materials, this book will enrich World History courses by providing exposure to original sources, by posing additional analytical issues relating to main world history themes, and by giving students practice in the rewarding capacity to interpret primary documents. A number of documents have been replaced in the Second Edition, with several purposes: increase global emphasis, provide direct comparative experience in each of the periods features, and provide experience in using documents to trace and assess global forces, again in each period.

v. 1. From the Stone Age to 1500