It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ancient Civilizations of Anatolia
General information about history and periods of Anatolia and its ancient civilizations.
Credo General Reference is a completely customizable online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 525 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo General Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Our content, technology and customer service earn us rave reviews.
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization provides an authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Drawing on the latest edition of the higly praised Oxford Classical Dictionary, the Companion offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.
The Princeton encyclopedia of classical sites. Stillwell, Richard. MacDonald, William L. McAlister, Marian Holland. Princeton, N.J. Princeton University Press. 1976. The National Endowment for the Humanities provided support for entering this text.
Focusing exclusively on real people, this is a dictionary of ancient biography, covering Greek and Roman history and politics, literature, philosophy, science, and art. Shorter entries provide lucid factual accounts, while the longer entries are short essays covering major historical and cultural themes in antiquity, centred round individuals as varied as Herodotus, Socrates, Plato, Alexander the Great, and Augustus.
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
Founded in 1972 the TLG represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Since its inception the project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453 and beyond. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. TLG research activities combine the traditional methodologies of philological and literary study with the most advanced features of information technology.
TLG texts became available to the scholarly community first on magnetic tapes (in the mid 1970s) and later in CD ROM format. CD ROMs A (1985), C (1988) and D (1992) were produced with technical support from the Packard Humanities Institute (PHI). TLG E (2000) was produced entirely in-house by the TLG team under the direction of Maria Pantelia following the migration of the corpus from the Ibycus system to the Unix environment.
In spring 2001 the TLG-team developed its own search engine and made the corpus available online. Today the Online TLG contains more than 105 million words from over 10,000 works associated with 4,000 authors and is constantly updated and improved with new features and texts. The full corpus is available to more than 2,000 subscribing institutions and thousands of individuals in 58 countries worldwide. As of 2004, the project has been focusing its resources on web dissemination and is no longer licensing the corpus in CD ROM format.
A subcorpus (Abridged TLG) together with the extensive bibliographical database developed by the TLG (Canon of Greek Authors and Works) is open to the public. The Abridged version contains 900 Greek works from 67 authors and uses the same search engine as the full Online TLG version. It provides access to the most important classical authors and a large number of patristic texts.
Digital Book Index provides links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 140,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free.
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.