Byzantine Studies

Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies is an internationally recognised, peer-reviewed journal and one of the leading publications in its field. Published twice a year in spring and autumn, its remit is to facilitate the publication of high-quality research and discussion in all aspects of Byzantine and Modern Greek scholarship, whether historical, literary or social-anthropological. The journal welcomes research, criticism, contributions on theory and method in the form of articles, critical studies and short notes.

GRBS is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal devoted to the culture and history of Greece from Antiquity to the Renaissance, featuring research on all aspects of the Hellenic world from prehistoric antiquity through the Greek, Roman, and Byzantine periods, including studies of modern classical scholarship.

The Byzantinische Zeitschrift is the leading journal in the field of Byzantine Studies. It publishes articles and reviews on all aspects of Byzantine literature, history, society, and culture. Each issue of the journal contains a large bibliographic section. This so-called III. Abteilung serves as the standard bibliography in Byzantine Studies.

Byzantion is an international peer reviewed journal founded in 1924; it is devoted to Byzantine culture and covers literature, history and art history, including the related disciplines. Every volume contains scholarly articles followed by a large bibliographical section. Byzantion highly contributes to the development of Byzantine Studies.

The Dumbarton Oaks Papers (DOP) were founded in 1941for the publication of articles relating to late antique, early medieval, andByzantine civilization in the fields of art and architecture, history, archaeology,literature, theology, and law. Publication was suspended during World War II,and resumed in 1946 as collections of occasional papers, primarily by facultymembers resident at the research institute. At first, DOP appearedirregularly, but in the mid-1950s it began to be published on an annual basis.It now includes articles by a wide array of international Byzantinists and featurespapers from annual symposia, miscellaneous articles, and reports on fieldworkprojects sponsored by Dumbarton Oaks. Volumes currently average 300-400 pages.Since 1999 (Vol. 53) DOP has been made available in digital formthrough the Dumbarton Oaks website at http://www.doaks.org/resources/publications/dumbarton-oaks-papers

Chôra is a scholarly multilingual journal (English, French, Italian, German) dedicated to the researches in the field of philosophy of Byzantine and Latin Antiquity and Middle Ages.The journal was founded in 2003 by Anca Vasiliu, Alexander Baumgarten and Bogdan Tataru-Cazaban. The founding directors are assisted by an editorial committee and an international scientific committee.
Currently directer by Anca Vasiliu, the journal has received the scientific recognition of the Institut des Sciences Humaines et Sociales from CNRS and enjoys its support for the publication.Chôra publishes, after a selection by the scientific committee, articles, critical editions, codicological notes and reviews.

The Journal of Roman Studies (JRS) has appeared annually for a century, and is widely recognised as the premier UK journal in its field.Peer-reviewed papers on Roman history and Latin literature form the larger part of each issue. Papers on art history and archaeology are also published. The Journal regularly includes major review articles and archaeological surveys, along with one of the widest selections of reviews of recent publications in all scholarly languages. The journal seeks to publish articles with wide implications for our understanding of the Roman world. JRS papers have stimulated debates in fields as diverse as Roman democracy, the scale of the Roman economy, the demographic implications of slavery, and the materiality of the book. Recent contributors have been drawn from all over Europe and North America. The journal has a wide international readership made up of scholars, students and members of the general public.

Founded in 1952, Past & Present is widely acknowledged to be the liveliest and most stimulating historical journal in the English-speaking world. The journal offers: A wide variety of scholarly and original articles on historical, social and cultural change in all parts of the world; Four issues a year, each containing five or six major articles plus occasional debates and review essays; Challenging work by young historians as well as seminal articles by internationally regarded scholars; A range of articles that appeal to specialists and non-specialists, and communicate the results of the most recent historical research in a readable and lively form; A forum for debate, encouraging productive controversy; The examination of particular problems and periods as well as wider issues of historical change.

Praised as "a magnificent scholarly journal" by Choice magazine, Journal of Modern Greek Studies is the only scholarly periodical to focus exclusively on modern Greece. The Journal publishes critical analyses of Greek social, cultural, and political affairs, covering the period from the late Byzantine Empire to the present. Contributors include internationally recognized scholars in the fields of history, literature, anthropology, political science, Byzantine studies, and modern Greece. Journal of Modern Greek Studies is the official publication of the Modern Greek Studies Association (MGSA).

Essays in Medieval Studies is an interdisciplinary journal of medieval studies. Contents for each volume are selected from papers delivered at the annual meeting of the Illinois Medieval Association. Since 1993 each volume has had a thematic focus based on the theme or topic of the annual meeting. Recent themes have included children and the family, medieval communities, and emotions in the Middle Ages.

The Journal of Modern Hellenism is a refereed journal published annually by the Center for Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies of Queens College, City University of New York, the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Centre for Hellenic Studies at Simon Fraser University, Canada, and the Hellenic Government/Karakas Family Foundation Program in Greek Studies, University of Missouri, St. Louis. The purpose of the Journal is to reflect activities of the sponsoring institutions in promoting scholarly work on the history, language, institutions, and culture of the Greek people and the Greek Diaspora from the late Byzantine period to the present. Each issue is built around a central theme.

Established in 1954 by the faculty of Holy Cross, The Greek Orthodox Theological Review (GOTR) has been concerned both with examining themes and with engaging the critical theological issues facing the Church today. It is a journal through which scholarly studies have been shared, new books have been reviewed, and significant documents have been preserved. The content of the Review reflects the rich development of Orthodox theology and theological concerns over the past fifty years.

Acta Archaeologica, founded in 1930, is the leading scientific international archaeological periodical in Scandinavia. Acta Archaeologica publishes full presentations of important new discoveries, archaeological analyses, and general and interdisciplinary studies with an archaeological basis. Its primary focus is on Northern European archaeology (including Baltic countries) up to AD 1500, and on European and World themes of particular interest to the archaeology of Northern Europe. Emphasis throughout is on quality, originality of data and well documented and illustrated studies, as well as on methodological issues. Contributions by young scholars are especially welcomed.Acta Archaeologica accepts papers in English, German, and French. All contributions are peer-reviewed by specialists, their names available to authors upon reques

Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR) (ISSN 1055-7660) publishes timely open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). This site is the authoritative archive of BMCR's publication, from 1990 to the present. Reviews from August 2008 on are also posted on our blog.BMCR welcomes volunteers to review books. Each month a list of new books is published on this website and by e-mail. Qualified scholars interested in reviewing for the journal may signal their interest in books on the list by filling out the form on this page. We are unable to reserve books.BMCR will consider responses to published reviews (see instructions). Responses can be posted immediately on our blog.

Published with the wider audience in mind, Greece & Rome features informative and lucid articles on ancient history, art, archaeology, religion, philosophy, and the classical tradition. Although its content is of interest to professional scholars, undergraduates and general readers who wish to be kept informed of what scholars are currently thinking will find it engaging and accessible. All Greek and Latin quotations are translated. A subscription to Greece & Rome includes a supplement of New Surveys in the Classics. These supplements have covered a broad range of topics, from key figures like Homer and Virgil, to subjects such as Greek tragedy, thought and science, women, slavery, and Roman religion.

The Society for Medieval Archaeology exists to further the study of the period from the 5th to the 16th century A.D. by publishing a journal of international standing dealing primarily with the archaeological evidence, and by other means such as by holding regular meetings and arranging conferences. It aims to serve as a medium for co-ordinating the work of archaeologists with that of historians and scholars in any other discipline relevant to this field.While maintaining a special concern for the medieval archaeology of Britain and Ireland, the Society seeks to support and advance the international study of this period. The journal provides a forum for the discussion of important finds and developments within this period from anywhere in the world.