LibGuides: Byzantine Studies: Databases

Databases

Databases are designed to help students and researchers find the best journal articles and reference books. They are available online through library purchase agreements.If you access these databases from off campus using a private Internet Service Provider, please use Off-Campus Links from the Databases page.

Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a collection of over 400 electronic scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.Spesific subject are religion, women's studies, literature, history, music, etc.
JSTOR
Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV Collections and the General Science Collection including journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, mathematics and statistics, botany, archaeology, classics etc.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, the DOAJ aims to be THE one stop shop for users of open access journals.
Cambridge Journals Online
Cambridge Journals Online (CJO) provides full text journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities since 1990 to present with reference linking via crossRef where applicable.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI - Web of Science)
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), also known as Arts & Humanities Search, is a citation index, with abstracting and indexing for more than 1,700 arts and humanities journals, and coverage of disciplines that includes social and natural science journals. Part of this database is derived from Current Contents records. Furthermore, the print counterpart is Current Contents.Subjects covered are the Arts, Humanities, Language (including Linguistics), Poetry, Music, Classical works, History, Oriental Studies, Philosophy, Archaeology, Architecture, History, Religion, Television, Theater, and Radio.
Sosyal ve Beşeri Bilimler Veri Tabanı
Üniversiteler ve araştırma kurumları arasında araştırma ve eğitim amaçlı ağlar kurmak, işletmek, bu ağların yurt içi ve yurt dışındaki ağlarla bağlantısını sağlamak, bilgi üretimine yardımcı olacak nitelikte bilgi teknolojileri desteği sağlamak ve bu ağ üzerinden ve/veya geleneksel yollarla ülkemizdeki bilimsel bilgi üretimine yardımcı olacak şekilde akademik bilgi ve belge hizmetleri sunmak ve ülkenin bilgi birikimini yansıtacak bilgi ürünleri geliştirmektir.
Rise and Decline of the Roman World / Aufstieg und Niedergang der römischen Welt
ANRW is a work of international cooperation in the field of historical scholarship. Its aim is to present all important aspects of the ancient Roman world, as well as its legacy and continued influence in medieval and modern times. Subjects are dealt with in individual articles written in the light of present day research.
Oxford Handbooks Online-Classical Studies Foundation 2012-2016
Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research Reviews is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks in 14 and growing subject areas. One of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford’s scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contain in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field.
Oxford Reference Online
As you browse through Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. See below for more information on the services and collections available through this resource.For an overview of each subject on Oxford Reference use the links in the left-hand pane.
ARTstor Digital Library
Their primary goals are to assemble image collections from across many cultures and eras in support of educational and scholarly activities, and to work with the arts and educational communities to develop collective solutions to the challenges of working in a digital environment.
Oxford Journals
Oxford University Press (OUP) publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience. We achieve this by working closely with our society partners, authors, and subscribers in order to provide them with publishing services that support their research needs.
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
With more than 5,000 entries by an international group of eminent historians, this is the standard research tool on 1,100 years of Byzantine history. Exhaustive in its coverage, entries on patriarchy and emperors coexist with entries on surgery, musical instruments, and the baking of bread, bringing to life this vastly important culture and empire, from the 4th century to the 15th.
Patrologia Graeca
Patrologia græca’s domaines are patristic, theology, study of Greek and Latin, history of late and Christian Antiquity, history of the Middle Ages, philosophy, literature, history of art, history of ideas, history of medicine.
History - Oxford Reference Online
As you browse through Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. See below for more information on the services and collections available through this resource.For an overview of each subject on Oxford Reference use the links in the left-hand pane.
Archaeology - Oxford Reference Online
As you browse through Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. See below for more information on the services and collections available through this resource.For an overview of each subject on Oxford Reference use the links in the left-hand pane.
Classical studies - Oxford Reference Online
As you browse through Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. See below for more information on the services and collections available through this resource.For an overview of each subject on Oxford Reference use the links in the left-hand pane.
Taylor & Francis
Taylor & Francis Group partners with researchers, scholarly societies, universities and libraries worldwide to bring knowledge to life. As one of the world’s leading publishers of scholarly journals, books, ebooks and reference works our content spans all areas of Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioural Sciences, Science, and Technology and Medicine.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a website which provides subscription-based access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines.
Scopus
Scopus is Elsevier’s abstract and citation database launched in 2004. Scopus covers nearly 36,377 titles from approximately 11,678 publishers, of which 34,346 are peer-reviewed journals in top-level subject fields: life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences and health sciences.

The Perseus Digital Library Project

Hagiography of the Late Byzantine Period (1204-1453)

EIE/IBE
Αγιολογία Ύστερης Βυζαντινής Περιόδου Ηλεκτρονικός κατάλογος Υπεύθυνη : Δρ. Ελεωνόρα Κουντούρα Γαλάκη Επιστημονικοί συνεργάτες: Dr. D. Bianconi, καθηγητής Στ. Ευθυμιάδης, Δρ.Nίκη Κουτράκου, επίκουρος καθηγητής ΑΠΘ Σ. Πασχαλίδης Στη δακτυλογράφηση και στις διορθώσεις συμμετείχαν πτυχιούχοι φιλολογίας και κάτοχοι μεταπτυχιακού διπλώματος: Φ. Βασιλείου, Φανή Βόινου, Δέσποινα Καλυβίνου, Ζαφειρία Κουρή, Βασιλική Κουτράκου, Ευγενία Χατζηθανάση.

Byzantine Studies

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)

TLG - Home

The Byzantine Studies program at Dumbarton Oaks

Byzantine Studies

'PANDEKTIS - A Digital Thesaurus of Primary Sources for Greek History and Culture'

Πανδέκτης: Communities and Collections

Databases

The Perseus Digital Library Project

Perseus Digital Library

Hagiography of the Late Byzantine Period (1204-1453)

EIE/IBE

Byzantine & Medieval Studies Sites

Internet History Sourcebooks

Suna Kıraç Library on Social Media