SALT Research comprises a specialized 
library and an archive of physical and digital sources and documents on visual practices, the built environment, social life and economic history. Collections at SALT Research focus on the period from the late 19th century to the present day with an emphasis on Turkey -primarily Istanbul- and the geographies of the Southeast Mediterranean and Southeast Europe. The collections include visual and textual sources and documents on the art history of Turkey post 1950, the development of architecture and design in Turkey since the beginning of the 20th century, and the transformations in society and the region from the last century of the Ottoman Empire to the Turkish Republic up until the 1990s. Click here for more information.
SALT Research archives are categorized under three f
onds; "Art", "Architecture and design", "City, society and economy". Click here to access the collections webpage.
The Art fond, contains collections that focus on the history of art in Turkey after 1950.
The Architecture and Design fond, contains professional and personal documents of architects and designers active in 20th century Turkey.
The City, Society and Economy fond, contains collections that provide information on the built environment and social life in the Ottoman Empire and the Turkish Republic.
In this ANAMED Library Podcast, SALT Library and Archive Director's Sezin Romi shared the history, current projects, open data policies and data visualization of SALT Research's Archive. To find out more about the SALT Research's Archive listen to this podcast! Below you may find the sources that Sezin Romi suggested for listener:
For regulations and rules enter to the building click on SALT Research. For appointment click on SALT Research Regulation Form.
Working Hours: Tuesday-Saturday 11.00-17.00
* Closed for Eid and Greater Eid, and national holidays.
* Ferit F. Şahenk Hall is closed until further notice.
Address and Contact Information:
SALT Galata
Bankalar Caddesi 11
Karaköy 34421 İstanbul Türkiye
Telephone: +90 212 334 22 00
Email: salt.research@saltonline.org
Location: View on Google map