ANAMED Library Digital Scholarship Program, Fall 2022

Remziye Boyraz Seyhan

Dr. Remziye Boyraz Seyhan graduated from the Archeology Department of Akdeniz University. She completed her master’s thesis titled “Pelta in Antiquity” at the same university and received her PhD from the Department of Ancient History at Istanbul University with her study titled “Seleukeia (Silifke): Its History and Coins”. Since 2007, Koç University AKMED Library has been working as a library senior specialist at AKMED.

Institution : Koç University Suna & İnan Kıraç Research Center for Mediterranean Civilizations

Summary of the Speech:

Bibliometric analysis has gained a huge popularity in research in recent years. Researchers can use bibliometric analysis for a variety of reasons, such as to uncover emerging trends in article and journal performance, collaboration patterns, and research constituents, and to explore the intellectual structure of a specific domain in the extant literature. In this webinar, they will get detailed knowlegde on how to conduct a bibliometric analysis to measure their research performances by using the Library's Web of Science , Scopus and SciVal databases.

A Short Biography of the Speaker:

Çiğdem Yıldırım started to work as Head of ANAMED Library as of March 2022. She graduated from Istanbul University, Department of Information Management and completed her master's degree on Istanbul Studies at the same university. She worked at Koç University Suna Kıraç Library for long years, first as Cataloging Librarian and then as a Senior Reference and Research Liaison. Her experience areas consist of Cataloging, Collection Development, Research Support, Academic Writing and Information Literacy, E-Resources, Document Supply Services, Reference Management Tools, Bibliometric Analysis and Reporting, Social Media, Research Data Management and numerious events & trainings she organized around these topics. She also continues to work on open science policy, procedure and service development in the Library’s Open Access Team. She takes part in Research Data Management and Data Analytics working groups within the scope of Koç University Digitalization Program. She carries out projects on behalf of Koç University under the "Turkey Open Data and Research Data Task Force" within the body of the Council of Higher Education (YÖK)

Institution: Koç University Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations (ANAMED) Library 

Ersan Dur

Ersan Dur, who graduated from Istanbul University Department of Librarianship in 2002, is currently working as a Reference and Scholarly Communication Librarian at Koç University Suna Kıraç Library. It provides bibliometric analysis, academic publication control, open access and academic honesty training services to Koç University members. He is also a member of the Library Open Access Team, which was established to develop open access and open science support services.

Institution: Koç University Suna Kıraç Library

Dr. Ali Hürriyetoğlu is a computational linguist who performs research on and develops systems for socio-political event information collection from textual sources such as news archives and social media. His recent research focuses on the pitfalls, the robustness, and the generalizability of text processing systems on text data generated in different contexts, e.g., countries, platforms, sources, and languages.

Ali Korkmaz is a PhD candidate working on Computational Material Science at Ankara University, Department of Physics. He also works as a research assistant in the same department. In addition to his physics education, he graduated from METU Mathematics Department.

Mustafa Ergül

He holds bachelor’s degrees in Sociology and Art History from Istanbul University. He subsequently completed his master's degree in 2015 in Art History Department at Istanbul University. Between 2012 and 2017, he is involved in collection development and archive projects as a librarian and an archivist at SALT Research. Since 2017, Mustafa Ergül works as an archive specialist in charge of assembling, preserving and managing institutional and special collections at Koç University Suna Kıraç Library. He works and creates in the fields of digital archiving, cultural heritage, collection development and management.

Institution: Koç University Suna Kıraç Library

Xin Hong

Xin Hong is a Post-doctoral Project Fellow at Koç University Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations (Koç Üniversitesi Anadolu Medeniyetleri Araştırma Merkezi), working for a project titled: Linking Anatolian Pasts. Dr. Hong’s research interests are related to applying geospatial technology in environmental studies. Previously, she was an adjunct instructor teaching GIS and fundamental geography courses at Kent State University. She also worked as a consultant in the NASA DEVELOP National Program (summer terms of 2016 and 2017) and participated in geospatial projects related to coastal Alabama oceans and Northern Great Plains water resources, respectively. In Summer 2017, she received the NASA DEVELOP Science Systems and Applications Inc. Annual Award. 

Institution: Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations (ANAMED)

Education

2021, Ph.D. in geography, Kent State University, Ohio, USA

2016, M.S. in geography, Ohio University, Ohio, USA

2014, B.A. in geography, University of Northern Iowa, Iowa, USA

Professional Positons

2021-      Post-doctoral Project Fellow, Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations, Koç University, Turkey

2020-21 Adjunct Instructor, Department of Geography, Kent State University, Ohio, USA

2016-20 Graduate Assistant, Department of Geography, Kent State University, Ohio, USA

2017       Consultant, NASA DEVELOP National Program, Summer Term, Public Health Department, Mobile County, Alabama, USA

2016       Consultant, NASA DEVELOP National Program, Summer Term, Wise County Clerk of Court's Office, Virginia, USA

2014-16  Graduate Assistant, Department of Geography, Ohio University, Ohio, USA

2013-14  Research Assistant, Department of Geography, University of Northern Iowa, Iowa, USA

Nancy Micklewright

Most recently, Nancy Micklewright was an Andrew W. Mellon Fellow in the Department of Islamic Art at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, working on Ottoman fashion for her next book. Her edited volume, Mohamed Zakariya, The Life and Times of a 21st-century Calligrapher, appeared in 2022. Through 2019 she was head of the Department of Public and Scholarly Engagement at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of Asian Art (NMAA). A former university professor and senior program officer at the Getty Foundation, she is the author of two earlier books and numerous articles on aspects of visual culture in the Ottoman Empire.

Institutions: Department of Islamic Art at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Department of Public and Scholarly Engagement at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of Asian Art (NMAA), Getty Foundation

Sana Mirza

Sana Mirza is head of the Scholarly Programs and Publications Department at the NMAA, which manages the museum’s symposia, workshops, fellowship program, and peer-reviewed publications. She received her PhD in Islamic art from the Institute of Fine Arts (NYU) in 2021. Her research interests include artistic interchange in the Red Sea and Indian Ocean, and digital art history.

Institution: Scholarly Programs and Publications Department at the NMAA

Zeynep Simavi

Zeynep Simavi is the Istanbul branch director of the American Research Institute in Turkey (ARIT). Previously, she was NMAA’s program specialist for scholarly programs and publications. Her research interests include the formation of Islamic art as an academic discipline and the histories of collections and exhibitions in the United States. She is currently a PhD candidate in art history at Istanbul Technical University, and her dissertation focuses on the curators, collectors, and major exhibitions of Turkish art in the twentieth-century United States.

Institutions: National Museum of Asian Art (NMAA) and American Research Institute in Turkey (ARIT)

Jeffrey Smith

Jeffrey Smith is the Registrar for Collections Information in the NMAA’s Collections Department. As both a registrar and the system administrator for the collections database, he is responsible for all aspects of the collections information used within the museum and shared externally. Since joining NMAA in 2004, he has been focused on standardizing and enhancing collections and thesaurus data to improve The Museum System (TMS) and to make possible new features for its online offerings. He has shared his experience with managing data for online catalogues, provenance, and network analysis in presentations given in the United States, Europe, and Israel.
Institution: National Museum of Asian Art (NMAA)

Çiğdem Özkan Aygün currently works at the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, Istanbul Technical University. She does research in Byzantine archaeology. She is director of the Scientific Research Project of Istanbul Technical University on Hagia Sophia Subterranean Structures and its surroundings including acropole / Topkapı palace Subterranean and Hippodrome Subterranean. Her current project is 'Water supply at I. Hill of Constantinople' and 'Sunken Kastron at Hazar Lake'. . She has been co-applicant an director of field research of BIAA supported project "Water in Istanbul: Rising to the Challenge?" (https://biaa.ac.uk/research/water-istanbul/) and she has been director of ITU Scientific Research Project about "Historical Water Supply of Topkapi Palace" since 2021.

Ece Uysal Engüdar

Ece Uysal Engüdar is graduated from Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University, Department of Architecture as B.Sc. in 2012. During her undergraduate education, she took part in restoration works and archaeological excavations of immovable cultural heritages in Istanbul, particularly the Hagia Sophia Museum. In 2012, she started the M.Sc. in Architecture and Restoration at Sapienza University of Rome. In 2016, she started Yıldız Technical University, Graduate School of Science and Engineering, Building Survey and Restoration Ph.D. Program. Her Ph.D. dissertation titled "The Historical Progress of the Kitchen Complex of Topkapı Palace, Its Conservation Problems and Suggested Solutions for Its Restoration" is still ongoing.

Hande Saraç

Hande Saraç is an urban planner who graduated from Istanbul Technical University, Department of City and Regional Planning in 2021. She is also continuing her undergraduate education in Sociology at Istanbul University. During his university education, she became interested in subjects such as art history, archaeology, mapping, and data digitization. As of June 2022, she has been working as a project assistant in Çiğdem Özkan Aygün's team in the 'Water in Istanbul' project supported by BIAA. She contributes to the research and digitization of the subterranean remains in and around Hagia Sophia. She also supports GIS application studies for the digitization and visualization of data.

Institution: Istanbul Technical University

Görkem Kızılkayak

He was born in Istanbul 1976, is an archeologist with Byzantine architecture expertise and a photographer; who has been working for NGO’s, magazines and multiple municipalities’ cultural projects. During the later years, Kızılkayak’s interest and passion towards street art, opened up another path in his career. He has been facilitating street art projects, executed in popular spots by local and global artists, to raise awareness about specific topics, in collaboration with organizations including consulates, municipalities and companies for the last 8 years. He still continues with his chief editor role at the Besiktas Municipality’s city culture magazine B+, which is published since 2008 with a comprehensive content about the county.

Institution: Beşiktaş Municipality

Gökhan Tan

He was born in 1972 in Ankara where he studied economics in METU. He started work in ATLAS geographic magazine as a reporter in 1993. He’s been working as text and picture editor since 2000. He wrote and took photographs for various newspaper, magazine and outlets inculding National Geographic, NTV Tarih, Radikal, BBC Turkish. He’s specifically working on urban issues, media, environment and cultural heritage since than. He’s a special interest in İstanbul. He’s been working as instructor staff in İstanbul Bilgi University Faculty of Communication since 2007 where he’s still trying to keep his journalistic activities. 

Institution: İstanbul Bilgi University Faculty of Communication

 

İrem Ünal

İrem Ünal graduated from Marmara University, Department of Information and Records Management in 2013. In the same year, she started to work as a Librarian at Portakal Culture and Art House. She worked as a librarian in institutions such as Bahçeşehir College and İKSV. Since 2016, she has been working at Koç University Suna Kıraç Library as the Research Center for Anatolian (ANAMED) Branch Librarian. She continues her postgraduate education in Marmara University, Department of Information and Records Management, which she started in 2020.

Institution: Koç University ANAMED Library

Alper Aşınmaz

lper Aşınmaz is an archaeologist who holds Ph.D. in Archaeology. His main research interests include archaeological method and theory, GIS-based spatial analysis techniques, remote sensing applications in archaeological research, Anatolian Bronze Age, and ancient rural landscapes. Alper Aşınmaz helps to develop interactive research tools and the underlying data infrastructure for a linked set of multi-period and multi-scalar research datasets currently siloed in separate repositories, consisting of historical aerial imagery, photographs, maps, manuscripts, archives, museum objects, whole archaeological databases. He works on improving the available databases stored by ANAMED, ensuring compatibility between datasets, as well as structuring the data to be published as linked open data.

Institution: Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations (ANAMED)

Başak Tosun

Başak Tosun was born in 1977 in Adana. She graduated from Boğaziçi University, Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences, Department of Political Science and International Relations in 1999. She worked in the field of internet services for 16 years. Since 2005, she has been working voluntarily with the Wikimedia Foundation in promoting the production and sharing of open-license digital content. She is one of the founders of the Wikimedia Community User Group and the Digital Information Association in Turkey. Within the scope of the activities of these formations, she has been organizing trainings at universities and non-governmental organizations since 2015, managing the wikimarathon events especially for making women visible, and participating in collaborations with museums, archives and libraries in order to spread digital information sharing with open license.

Institution: Wikipedia Community User Group Turkey

Zafer Batık

He was born in Izmit in 1978. He graduated from Kocaeli University Control Systems Department in 2000. He worked for a company related to smart buildings for 19 years. While working in this company, he took part in various construction sites in Russia and the Turkic Republics. Editor at Turkish Wikipedia since 2008 and a servant since 2015. Founded in 2016, Wikimedia Community User Group is one of the founding members of Turkey. He usually checks for recent changes and new articles on Wikipedia. He is particularly interested in sports-related items. In addition, he takes photographs for the visual enrichment of Wikipedia, and uploads these photos to Wikipedia, free of copyright, with open licenses.

Institution: Wikimedia Community User Group Turkey