Please swipe right to see all the events of Module One!
Summary of the Speech
The Suna Kıraç Library has an exemplary collection of books, journals, newspapers, electronic resources, dissertations, conference proceedings. In this training, you will get familiar with library resources to locate archeology, art history, history.
We will also cover how to conduct a basic search, how to select relevant databases, how to access to full-text academic and refereed journal articles / e-books/ theses, how to find keywords and subject terms, how to use full-text, peer-review, and date limiters, how to find recent articles and how to set up alerts for new articles on your search terms, automatic bibliography creation, finding and using Open Access (OA) resources and last how and when should you use Google Scholar.
A Short Biography of the Speaker:
Ms. Naz Özkan has been working as a Reference and Outreach Librarian Liaison Librarian for the College of Administrative Sciences and Economics (CASE) & the College of Social Sciences and Humanities (CSSH) at Koç University since 2020. Previously, she was working as a Branch Librarian of Koç University’s Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations (ANAMED) and as the representative of ANAMED Library in BiblioPera between 2016 - 2020. She graduated from the Department of History at Boğaziçi University in 2013 and the Department of Cultural Heritage and Tourism at İstanbul University in 2022.
Since February 2020, as a reference and outreach librarian of SKL, she participated in diverse tasks and numerous projects: the educational program of the library, one-to-one research consultation meetings, course embedded library sessions as part of her Liaison position, creating Libguides, the management of the Library's social media platforms, organizing book exhibitions in different themes, SKL Virtual Book Club meetings, contributing the treasure series of Suna Kıraç Library. She presented her works in various national and international conferences and recently initiated “İstanbul’u Dinliyorum” podcast.
Institution: Koç University Suna Kıraç Library
Konuşmanın Özeti:
Bu sunumda arkeoloji ve eskiçağ bilimleri alanlarında çalışan araştırmacılara, araştırma ve değerlendirme yöntemleri, zengin bir literatür tarama için ip uçları, alanda hizmet veren kütüphaneler, kaynaklardan etkili yararlanmak ve alandaki temel kaynaklar, veri tabanları ve arşivler hakkında bilgi verilecektir.
Konuşmacının Kısa Biyografisi:
Dr. Remziye Boyraz Seyhan, Akdeniz Üniversitesi Arkeoloji Bölümü'nden mezun olmuştur. "Antik Çağlarda Pelta" başlıklı yüksek lisans tezini da aynı üniversitede tamamlamış olup, doktorasını İstanbul Üniversitesi Eski Çağ Tarihi Anabilim Dalında "Seleukeia (Silifke): Tarihi ve Sikkeleri" başlıklı çalışması ile almıştır. 2007 yılından beri Koç Üniversitesi Suna & İnan Kıraç AKMED'de Kütüphane Sorumlusu olarak çalışmaktadır.
Kurum: Koç Üniversitesi Suna & İnan Kıraç Akdeniz Medeniyetleri Araştırma Merkezi
Summary of the Speech:
In this webinar, Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG), Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum (SEG), and Patrologia Graeca (PG) databases’ will be introduced. All the three databases contains primary sources of authors and texts from the Ancient Greece and Late Antiquity. By the end of the webinar, you will become familiar with the three databases and explore how to use the different tools. This will allow you to easily research and use primary sources of the ancient world.
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer and 600 CE, along with many texts dating to the period between A.D. 600 and the fall of Byzantium in 1453. In this webinar participants will become familiar with the database and explore how to use the Text Search and the Lexica tools.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum (SEG) is an annual publication, collecting newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents. Every volume contains the harvest of a single year and covers the entire Greek world.
The Patrologia Græca (PC) gathers the works of the Greek Fathers from the first century to 1478, and also all major and minor Greek authors and the most important texts of Christian Antiquity and the Middle Ages. It contains the edited collection of 161 volumes of writings of the Greek Patrology.
A Short Biography of the Speaker:
İrem Ünal graduated from Marmara University, Department of Information and Records Management in 2013. In the same year, she started to work as a Librarian at Portakal Culture and Art House. She worked as a librarian in institutions such as Bahçeşehir College and İKSV. Since 2016, she has been working at Koç University Suna Kıraç Library as the Research Center for Anatolian (ANAMED) Branch Librarian. She continues her postgraduate education in Marmara University, Department of Information and Records Management, which she started in 2020.
Institution You Work/Study: Koç University / Marmara University
LIB500 is a 4-week online course for Koç University graduate students. Suna Kıraç Library worked to create the best and most effective course modules possible.
The course, which consists of 4 modules, has been created to support the development of graduate students and to assist them during their research processes. Students participating in the course will be familiar with;
- Overall Library Services,
- Tips for literature review,
- Reference and citation management,
- Open science methods that you can benefit in your academic practice and research,
- Scholarly publishing and academic ethics,
- Researcher profiles and research impact measurement.
The course modules will be available from November on a weekly basis. Each week there will be an online Q&A session related to that week’s subject.
If you want to register this online course you can contact us via anamedlibrary@ku.edu.tr