Please swipe right to see all the events of Module Three!
Summary of the Speech :
Koç University Suna Kıraç Library provides access to its academic, historical and cultural heritage materials in a variety of fields through its digital collections website including over 250,000 digital items in 38 collections. The Koç University Digital Collections (KU-DC) is a one of the important service of Koç University Libraries that supports the activities of the University’s faculty, researchers, students, fellows and staff by preserving, securing, and providing access to digital resources. By refering the content and the structure of the KU Dijital Collections website, the talk intends to focus on areas of preservation, usagage, collabration, engagement and accession related to instiutional repositories and cultural heritage archives of Suna Kıraç Library.
A Short Biography of the Speaker:
He holds bachelor’s degrees in Sociology and Art History from Istanbul University. He subsequently completed his master's degree in 2015 in Art History Department at Istanbul University. Between 2012 and 2017, he is involved in collection development and archive projects as a librarian and an archivist at SALT Research. Since 2017, Mustafa Ergül works as an archive specialist in charge of assembling, preserving and managing institutional and special collections at Koç University Suna Kıraç Library. He works and creates in the fields of digital archiving, cultural heritage, collection development and management.
Institution: Koç University Suna Kıraç Library
Summary of The Speech:
This presentation will showcase network analysis through the case study of the pioneering American collector Charles Lang Freer (1854–1919), who bequeathed his collection of American, Asian, ancient Near Eastern, and Islamic art to the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, DC in 1906 establishing the Smithsonian’s first art museum and formed the foundational collection of today’s National Museum of Asian Art (NMAA).
As participants to the 2019-2022 Network Analysis and the Digital Art History Workshop supported by the Getty Foundation, the speakers examine Freer’s efforts to collect ancient Near Eastern and Islamic art from 1907 to 1909 and discuss the findings about the complex relationships between Freer and the artists, business associates, collectors, dealers, and scholars he interacted with in the United States, Europe, and the Near East through the data compiled from Freer’s diaries, museum records, photographic materials and contextual research to understand the key developments in the formation of a national museum collection.
Short Biographies of the Speakers:
Most recently, Nancy Micklewright was an Andrew W. Mellon Fellow in the Department of Islamic Art at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, working on Ottoman fashion for her next book. Her edited volume, Mohamed Zakariya, The Life and Times of a 21st-century Calligrapher, appeared in 2022. Through 2019 she was head of the Department of Public and Scholarly Engagement at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of Asian Art (NMAA). A former university professor and senior program officer at the Getty Foundation, she is the author of two earlier books and numerous articles on aspects of visual culture in the Ottoman Empire.
Sana Mirza is head of the Scholarly Programs and Publications Department at the NMAA, which manages the museum’s symposia, workshops, fellowship program, and peer-reviewed publications. She received her PhD in Islamic art from the Institute of Fine Arts (NYU) in 2021. Her research interests include artistic interchange in the Red Sea and Indian Ocean, and digital art history.
Zeynep Simavi is the Istanbul branch director of the American Research Institute in Turkey (ARIT). Previously, she was NMAA’s program specialist for scholarly programs and publications. Her research interests include the formation of Islamic art as an academic discipline and the histories of collections and exhibitions in the United States. She is currently a PhD candidate in art history at Istanbul Technical University, and her dissertation focuses on the curators, collectors, and major exhibitions of Turkish art in the twentieth-century United States.
Jeffrey Smith is the Registrar for Collections Information in the NMAA’s Collections Department. As both a registrar and the system administrator for the collections database, he is responsible for all aspects of the collections information used within the museum and shared externally. Since joining NMAA in 2004, he has been focused on standardizing and enhancing collections and thesaurus data to improve The Museum System (TMS) and to make possible new features for its online offerings. He has shared his experience with managing data for online catalogues, provenance, and network analysis in presentations given in the United States, Europe, and Israel.
Institutions: National Museum of Asian Art (NMAA) and American Research Institute in Turkey (ARIT)
Summary of The Speech:
The interdisciplinary survey and documentation of subterranean remains in the area of Hagia Sophia has begun in 2005 under the direction of Çiğdem Özkan Aygün. Her study has been continued with the surveys beneath Hippodrome and Topkapı Palace area and revealed the connections in the water supply. Dr. Aygün has been conducting the fieldworks of ‘Water in İstanbul’ project supported by BIAA since 2020.
Through those surveys, it is proved that Hagia Sophia’s area had a strategic place on the water supply distribution over the first hill of the city where was the extreme end of the ancient water supply line.
Short Biographies of the Speakers:
Çiğdem Özkan Aygün currently works at the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, Istanbul Technical University. She does research in Byzantine archaeology. She is director of the Scientific Research Project of Istanbul Technical University on Hagia Sophia Subterranean Structures and its surroundings including acropole / Topkapı palace Subterranean and Hippodrome Subterranean. Her current project is 'Water supply at I. Hill of Constantinople' and 'Sunken Kastron at Hazar Lake'. She has been co-applicant an director of field research of BIAA supported project "Water in Istanbul: Rising to the Challenge?" (https://biaa.ac.uk/research/water-istanbul/) and she has been director of ITU Scientific Research Project about "Historical Water Supply of Topkapi Palace" since 2021.
Institution: Istanbul Technical University, Yıldız Technical University,
Summary of The Speech :
It would not be wrong to compare Istanbul to a big mound (höyük). The mound, like a living creature, is breathing and constantly growing. Surrounded by the most magnificent walls of the world, the Historic Peninsula is the highest point (or peak) of the mound, the place where the history of the city is most prominently visible. A rich diversity of people continues to shape the Istanbul mound. It also destroys while shaping. Unfortunately, we cannot systematically monitor this destruction throughout the city.
Documenting cultural heritage while it’s still in use, is a continuing process.
The "Istanbul City Walls" project, which we are a part of as photographers, began in 2017 under the leadership of GABAM affiliated with Koç University, ensured proper documentation of the city walls from an academic point of view. This seminar is prepared on the premise to share our experiences in photographic documentation of cultural heritage, particularly on the Istanbul City Walls we accumulated over a period of more than four years.
Short Biographies of the Speakers :
Gökhan Tan
He was born in 1972 in Ankara where he studied economics in METU. He started work in ATLAS geographic magazine as a reporter in 1993. He’s been working as text and picture editor since 2000. He wrote and took photographs for various newspaper, magazine and outlets inculding National Geographic, NTV Tarih, Radikal, BBC Turkish. He’s specifically working on urban issues, media, environment and cultural heritage since than. He’s a special interest in İstanbul. He’s been working as instructor staff in İstanbul Bilgi University Faculty of Communication since 2007 where he’s still trying to keep his journalistic activities.
Institution: İstanbul Bilgi University Faculty of Communication
Görkem Kızılkayak
He was born in Istanbul 1976, is an archeologist with Byzantine architecture expertise and a photographer; who has been working for NGO’s, magazines and multiple municipalities’ cultural projects. During the later years, Kızılkayak’s interest and passion towards street art, opened up another path in his career. He has been facilitating street art projects, executed in popular spots by local and global artists, to raise awareness about specific topics, in collaboration with organizations including consulates, municipalities and companies for the last 8 years. He still continues with his chief editor role at the Besiktas Municipality’s city culture magazine B+, which is published since 2008 with a comprehensive content about the county.
Institution: Beşiktaş Municipality
Konuşmanın Özeti :
Vikipedi, dünya çapında gönüllüler tarafından oluşturulan, düzenlenen ve doğrulanan en kapsamlı açık erişimli bir çevrimiçi ansiklopedidir. Wikimedia Topluluğu Kullanıcı Grubu Türkiye ise Türkiye'de Vikipedi'ye katkı veren gönüllülerden oluşan bir topluluktur. Türkçe Vikipedi'de yer alan eksik ve yanlış bilgilerin, katılımcıların rehberliği, desteği ve öğrencilerle ortak çalışmalarıyla hem Türkçe kaynakların geliştirilmesine hem de araştırmacıların dijital okuryazarlık ve açık kaynaklara katkıda bulunma kültürü konusundaki farkındalıklarının artmasına katkı sağlayacağına inanıyoruz. Vikipedi, üniversitelerde akademik çalışmalarda da halka ulaşmanın etkili bir yoludur. Bu Vikimaraton'da tarihçiler ve arkeologlar, açık veri kaynağı olan Vikipedi’ye nasıl katkı verebilecekleri, dijital okuryazarlık konularında bilgi sahibi olacaklar. Katılımcılar ayrıca Vikipedi’de bulunan tarih, sanat tarihi, arkeoloji konularında yeni maddeleri oluşturmayı, daha önceden yazılan maddeleri düzenlemeyi öğrenecekler.
Not: Tüm katılımcıların kendi laptop, akıllı telefon veya tabletlerini getirmeleri gerekmektedir.
Konuşmacıların Kısa Biyografisi :
Başak Tosun 1977 yılında Adana’da doğdu. Lisans öğrenimini 1999 yılında Boğaziçi Üniversitesi İktisadi ve İdari Bilimler Fakültesi Siyaset Bilimi ve Uluslararası İlişkiler bölümünde tamamladı. 16 yıl internet hizmetleri alanında çalıştı. 2005 yılında bu yana açık lisanslı dijital içerik üretim ve paylaşımını yaygınlaştırma konusunda gönüllü olarak Wikimedia Vakfı ile çalışıyor. Türkiye'deki Wikimedia Topluluğu Kullanıcı Grubu ve Dijital Bilgi Derneği'nin kurucularından. Bu oluşumların etkinlikleri kapsamında 2015’ten bu yana üniversitelerde ve sivil toplum kurumlarında eğitimler düzenlemekte, özellikle kadınların görünür kılınmasına yönelik vikimaraton etkinliklerini yönetmekte, açık lisansla dijital bilgi paylaşımını yaygınlaştırmak üzere müze, arşiv, kütüphanelerle işbirliği çalışmalarına katılmakta.
Zafer Batık 1978 yılında İzmit'te doğdu. 2000 yılında Kocaeli Üniversitesi Kontrol Sistemleri bölümünü bitirdi. 19 yıl akıllı binalarla ilgili bir şirkette çalıştı. Bu şirkette çalışırken Rusya ve Türki Cumhuriyetlerde çeşitli şantiyelerde görev aldı. 2008 yılından beri Türkçe Vikipedi'de editör, 2015 yılından beri hizmetli. 2016 yılında kurulan Wikimedia Topluluğu Kullanıcı Grubu Türkiye'nin kurucu üyelerinden. Genelde, Vikipedi'de son değişiklikleri ve yeni maddeleri kontrol etmekte. Özellikle sporla ilgili maddelere çok ilgi duyuyor. Ayrıca Vikipedi'nin görsel yönden de zenginleşmesi için fotoğraflar çekerek, telif hakları serbest olarak bu fotoğrafları açık lisanslarla Vikipedi'ye yüklüyor.
Naz Özkan, 2020 yılından bu yana Koç Üniversitesi İktisadi ve İdari Bilimler Fakültesi (CASE) ve Sosyal Bilimler Enstitüsü’nün (CSSH) liaison kütüphanecisi ve Koç Üniversitesi Suna Kıraç Kütüphanesi’nde referans ve tanıtım kütüphanecisi olarak çalışmaktadır. 2016 - 2020 yılları arasında Koç Üniversitesi Anadolu Medeniyetleri Araştırma Merkezi (ANAMED) birim kütüphanecisi ve ANAMED Kütüphanesinin BiblioPera temsilcisi olarak çalışmıştır. 2013 yılında Boğaziçi Üniversitesi Tarih Bölümü'nden ve 2022 yılında İstanbul Üniversitesi Kültürel Miras ve Turizm Bölümü'nden mezun olmuştur.
Şubat 2020'den bu yana, Suna Kıraç Kütüphanesi’nin referans ve tanıtım kütüphanecisi olarak, çeşitli görevlerde bulundu ve sayısız projeye katıldı. Kütüphanenin eğitim programlarına destek olma, ders odaklı kütüphane eğitimleri düzenleme, öğrencilere birebir araştırma desteği verme, konu odaklı kütüphane rehberleri oluşturma, kütüphane sosyal medya hesaplarını yönetme ve tanıtım faaliyetlerinde yer alma, farklı temalarda kitap sergileri düzenleme, SKL Sanal Kitap Kulübü toplantıları organize etme, Suna Kıraç Kütüphanesi Hazine Serisine katkıda bulunma gibi görevleri yürütmekte olan Özkan, çalışmalarını çeşitli ulusal ve uluslararası konferanslarda sunmuştur. 2021 yılından beri Koç Üniversitesi Suna Kıraç Kütüphanesi “İstanbul'u Dinliyorum…” isimli podcast serisini yapmaktadır.
Kurum:
Başak Tosun & Zafer Batık - Wikipedia Topluluğu Kullanıcı Grubu Türkiye üyeleri
Moderatör: Naz Özkan, Koç Üniversitesi Suna Kıraç Kütüphanesi Referans ve Tanıtım Kütüphanecisi