Please swipe right to see all the events of Module Two!
About the Training:
Zotero is an open source bibliographic management program used for research, citation, compilation and management of resources.Thanks to Zotero, researchers can do time-consuming tasks easily, such as quoting and bibliography.
This training, which will take about an hour, will provide you with an introductory level of information about the effective use of Zotero and how you can add your publications to the private group of ANAMED Fellows.You can download Zotero and Zotero Connector (Firefox, Chrome, Safari) from the https://www.zotero.org/download/.
Zotero libguide: https://libguides.ku.edu.tr/zotero1
Zotero webinar recording: https://kocuni.hosted.panopto.com/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=8ab22bed-2a96-4caa-87b7-ac6b00c20df5
A Short Biography of the Speaker(s) (100 words): İrem Ünal graduated from Marmara University, Department of Information and Records Management in 2013. In the same year, she started to work as a Librarian at Portakal Culture and Art House. She worked as a librarian in institutions such as Bahçeşehir College and İKSV. Since 2016, she has been working at Koç University Suna Kıraç Library as the Research Center for Anatolian (ANAMED) Branch Librarian. She continues her postgraduate education in Marmara University, Department of Information and Records Management, which she started in 2020.
Summary of the Speeches:
1. “Open Data Requirements in the Project Applications” by Emrah Göker
The talk is a brief introduction to the history of how open access and open science issues progressed in KU project applications.
2. Legal Issues of Data
Chief Legal Counsel Birtürk Aydın will talk about the legal obligations that researchers should be aware of regarding the collection, management and transfer of research data.
3. Data Protection for Researchers
This workshop will examine the different dimensions of the relationship between personal data protection and research projects. The workshop will start with a general introduction to the concept of personal data, and special categories of personal data will be clarified with examples from research projects. After explaining the legal obligations of the data controllers in data protection, I will demonstrate the strategic data protection road map of research data in five steps. Finally, I will finalize the workshop by touching upon recommendations regarding data protection and sanctions in the area of data protection.
4. Information Security
Who are we, and what do we do? What is our role in research data management? What is our role at the university?
Information security basic terms: are confidentiality, integrity, and accessibility. What kind of competence do we have regarding information security at Koç University?
5. Data Archiving and Open Access
Short Biographies of the Speakers:
Emrah Göker is an International Projects Manager at the Sponsored Research Office, Koç University. He is responsible for research management services for international R&D funding application.
Birtürk Aydın
Mesut Halıcıoğlu is data privacy coordinator at Koç University. Halıcıoğlu manages and coordinates all processes related to the protection of personal data at Koç University and advises all units and research projects at Koç University on Turkish and European data protection law. Previously, he was a legal counsel at Enerjisa and associate at Yazıcı Attorney Partnership. He also worked as a researcher in TUSIAD EU-Brussels Representative Office (between 2019 and 2020) and worked on IT Law, Artificial Intelligence Policies and Digital Single Market Policies.
Derya Erhan has been working in the IT industry since 2003. She worked at an internet service provider, Boğaziçi University, and a bank. She worked in computer network operations, information security operations, risk management, compliance, business continuity, and information security teams. She also did her Ph.D. at Boğaziçi University, Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering. Her research area was network intrusion detection methodologies.
Çiğdem Yıldırım Çiğdem Yıldırım started to work as Head of ANAMED Library as of March 2022. She graduated from Istanbul University, Department of Information Management and completed her master's degree on Istanbul Studies at the same university. She worked at Koç University Suna Kıraç Library for long years, first as Cataloging Librarian and then as a Senior Reference and Research Liaison. Her experience areas consist of Cataloging, Collection Development, Research Support, Academic Writing and Information Literacy, E-Resources, Document Supply Services, Reference Management Tools, Bibliometric Analysis and Reporting, Social Media, Research Data Management and numerious events & trainings she organized around these topics. She also continues to work on open science policy, procedure and service development in the Library’s Open Access Team. She takes part in Research Data Management and Data Analytics working groups within the scope of Koç University Digitalization Program. She carries out projects on behalf of Koç University under the "Turkey Open Data and Research Data Task Force" within the body of the Council of Higher Education (YÖK)
Summary of The Speech:
This workshop will introduce how spatial data can be visualized in three dimensions using QGIS. The workshop will start with a general introduction to spatial data. Along with basic functionalities in QGIS, I will demonstrate how spatial data can be created as geographic layers and rendered in three dimensions. Furthermore, commonly used spatial analyses will be performed to identify incident clusters. Historic health data at the street level of the 19th century will be used for the demonstrations.
A Short Biography of the Speaker:
Xin Hong is a Post-doctoral Project Fellow at Koç University Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations (Koç Üniversitesi Anadolu Medeniyetleri Araştırma Merkezi), working for a project titled: Linking Anatolian Pasts. Dr. Hong’s research interests are related to applying geospatial technology in environmental studies. Previously, she was an adjunct instructor teaching GIS and fundamental geography courses at Kent State University. She also worked as a consultant in the NASA DEVELOP National Program (summer terms of 2016 and 2017) and participated in geospatial projects related to coastal Alabama oceans and Northern Great Plains water resources, respectively. In Summer 2017, she received the NASA DEVELOP Science Systems and Applications Inc. Annual Award.
Institution: Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations (ANAMED)
This webinar has been scheduled for those having problems while they are using Qualtrics Survey Program. If you have already attended to the instruction of Qualtrics, learned basics of it, created your Koç University account and started your surveys but still have questions then this Q & A session is for you!
Related LibGuide: Qualtrics Training by Çiğdem Yıldırım
Çiğdem Yıldırım
She started to work as Head of ANAMED Library as of March 2022. She graduated from Istanbul University, Department of Information Management and completed her master's degree on Istanbul Studies at the same university. She worked at Koç University Suna Kıraç Library for long years, first as Cataloging Librarian and then as a Senior Reference and Research Liaison. Her experience areas consist of Cataloging, Collection Development, Research Support, Academic Writing and Information Literacy, E-Resources, Document Supply Services, Reference Management Tools, Bibliometric Analysis and Reporting, Social Media, Research Data Management and numerious events & trainings she organized around these topics. She also continues to work on open science policy, procedure and service development in the Library’s Open Access Team. She takes part in Research Data Management and Data Analytics working groups within the scope of Koç University Digitalization Program. She carries out projects on behalf of Koç University under the "Turkey Open Data and Research Data Task Force" within the body of the Council of Higher Education (YÖK)
Institution: Koç University Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations (ANAMED) Library
Summary of The Speech:
Git provides a comprehensive suite of tools for tracking and managing versions of your source code, data, or documents in many formats. It remembers everything. You can refer to a specific version of a source code. You share, fix, or improve your code openly and clearly. You collaborate by accepting contributions or contributing to available work. This is only a short list of what you can do with Git. Committing, pulling, creating pull-requests, forking, branching, rebasing, and fast-forwarding are the concepts that we will talk about. Finally, we will talk about the platforms that are based on Git. These are GitHub, Bitbucket, and Gitlab and present you a demo project.
Short Biographies of the Speakers:
Dr. Ali Hürriyetoğlu is a computational linguist who performs research on and develops systems for socio-political event information collection from textual sources such as news archives and social media. His recent research focuses on the pitfalls, the robustness, and the generalizability of text processing systems on text data generated in different contexts, e.g., countries, platforms, sources, and languages.
Ali Korkmaz is a PhD candidate working on Computational Material Science at Ankara University, Department of Physics. He also works as a research assistant in the same department. In addition to his physics education, he graduated from METU Mathematics Department.
Reference Management Tools help scholars to create and manage their lists of references for research projects. Most tools are designed to organize citations into specific formats for the preparation of manuscripts and bibliographies.
EndNote is a multiplatform software tool that helps you manage the process of writing and preparing research papers. You can be much more focused on the actual writing of the paper if you let EndNote do the heavy lifting for you. EndNote will manage PDF and other research files, automatically compiling key information from your files for easy reference and citation building.
Come join the seminar and learn how to create a Library, add and modify references, use EndNote with Word, add groups, add full text PDFs, back-up your Library.
Endnote libguide: https://libguides.ku.edu.tr/EndNote20
************************************
Mendeley is a free reference manager that can help you store, organize, note, share and cite references and research data. In this training you will learn how to use the Mendeley Institutional Edition at the beginning level. You will learn to organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.
Mendeley libguide: https://libguides.ku.edu.tr/mendeley
********************************
Zotero is an open source bibliographic management program used for research, citation, compilation and management of resources.
Thanks to Zotero, researchers can do time-consuming tasks easily, such as quoting and bibliography.
This training, which will take about an hour, will provide you with an introductory level of information about the effective use of Zotero.
You can download Zotero and Zotero Connector (Firefox, Chrome, Safari) from the link https://www.zotero.org/download/.
Zotero libguide: https://libguides.ku.edu.tr/zotero1