The Women's Library LSE
Introduction
The Women’s Library collection tells the story of the campaign for women’s rights and women’s equality from the beginnings of the suffrage movement to the present day. The collection includes UNESCO-recognised documents, rare books, and objects such as original suffrage banners. The majority of the material dates from the late 19th century to present day and the focus is mainly UK.
More than 300 items, including 35 rare books, from The Women’s Library and LSE Library are available to read on the Digital Library.
Origins of The Women’s Library
The origins of The Women’s Library can be traced back to the women’s suffrage movement and the 1866 women’s suffrage petition. The petition marked the beginning of the organised campaign for the vote.
Out of the 1866 Women’s Suffrage Committee came the London National Society for Women’s Suffrage which later became the Fawcett Society. By the 1920s the London Society had accumulated a tremendous amount of suffrage literature and it was decided that the collection should be managed on proper principles.
Find out more about the 1866 Women’s Suffrage Petition.
Themes of the collection
The overarching theme of the collection is the campaign for women’s rights and women’s equality. The main sub-themes are:
- Women's suffrage
- Prostitution and trafficking, Repeal of the Contagious Diseases Acts, sexual health
- Women in the workplace including equal pay, changes in working patterns
- Women in public life including campaign for more women MPs
- Women in the church
- Women’s liberation movement of the 1970s
- Peace campaigns – relating to Greenham Common Women’s Peace Camp (1982-2000)
- Interwar feminist organisations eg Six Point Group, Open Door Council, Women Citizens Association
Searching the collection
Use Library Search to locate the books. These can also be browsed on the 3rd floor.
Search Archives Catalogue for archives and museum objects.
How to access
Most of the material highlighted here is stored in closed access and must be consulted in The Women’s Library Reading Room. Find out how to book your place and order material on our access archives and special collections page.
Further information
If you need specific help with any of the collections mentioned here get in touch with the Curator for Equality, Rights and Citizenship, Gillian Murphy.