Glasgow Women's Library
Glasgow Women’s Library is no ordinary library! The Library is the only resource of its kind in Scotland and a true national treasure.
As well as a lending library, it holds a wonderful treasure trove of historical and contemporary artifacts and archive materials that celebrate the lives, histories and achievements of women. From Suffragette memorabilia and 1930s dress making patterns to rare 1970s Scottish Women’s Liberation newsletters, it’s all here!
The library also supports thousands of women across Scotland every year to improve their lives through our services and programmes, including support and activities that tackle a wide range of issues from poverty and women’s health, sexuality and surviving violence.
Empowering women is one of the library's key aims.
The library has grown from a small grassroots project into the main hub for information by, for and about women in Scotland with 13 paid staff and more than 80 volunteers a year, offering specialized learning, collections and archives. GWL has always been a hotbed of ideas and is now growing into a pioneering women’s social enterprise.
The Library is a unique resource in Scotland, housing a huge collection of materials by, for and about women.
An accredited museum, lending library and archive, the Library holds a rich and diverse collection of books, artefacts and archives exemplifying the lives of women, charting their historical and contemporary achievements and contributions, all donated by users, supporters, members and publishers.
Glasgow Women’s Library is the only Accredited Museum dedicated to women’s history in the whole of the UK, and in December 2015 we were also designated as a ‘Recognised Collection of National Significance’.
The lending library collection contains books on a broad range of subjects relating to women’s lives and experiences, and a wonderful selection of fiction and poetry by women writers.
The archive and museum collections contains diverse and rich collections of books, archive materials and objects (including posters, banners, photographs, artworks, t-shirts, postcards and badges) from the nineteenth century to the present day.
Find out more about:
Post: Glasgow Women’s Library, 23 Landressy Street, Glasgow G40 1BP
Telephone: 0141 550 2267
Email: info@womenslibrary.org.uk
Contact details for individual staff are available on the Staff Team page.
You can keep in touch with the Library on your social networks: become a fan of the GWL Facebook page to get regular updates from the Library, follow @womenslibrary on Twitter or @womenslibrary on Instagram.