The Seljuks of Anatolia

Within MWNF, artefacts in museums, monuments and archaeological sites become ‘ambassadors’ of the civilisations they represent.Museum With No Frontiers (MWNF) has 20 years of experience in “rewriting history” beyond narrow nationalist agendas and promoting a new, inclusive vision of history that highlights and celebrates the interconnections, cross-fertilisations, exchanges and cooperation between cultures in areas as diverse as archaeology, art and culture, economy and social life. Against the backdrop of contemporary global challenges and conflicts, MWNF projects demonstrate the far-reaching potential of cultural heritage in building intercultural bridges in the name of peace.

This website contains information on caravansarais (known in Turkish as hans), an important group of buildings built in Turkey during the Seljuk era of the 13th century (1071-1306).This is a general introduction to the subject. It does not list all the hans built during the Seljuk era, and it does not detail all the elements of every han. An English-language bibliography is included for further reading on the subject should the reader wish to seek more exhaustive information. The site presents a general overview of the hans that are currently standing, in good condition and that can be visited. A list of hans now in ruins is also provided. This site does not include hans built in the Beylik or Ottoman eras.

Türkiye Arkeolojik Yerleşmeleri (TAY) Projesi, dünya kültür emanetlerinin önemli bir parçası olan Türkiye kültür varlıklarının bulgularının, kronolojik bir envanterinin çıkartılması ve bu bilginin uluslararası platformda paylaşılması amacına yönelik olarak tasarlanmıştır. En azından 400.000 yıl eskiye uzanan kültürel verileri barındıran Anadolu ve Trakya toprakları üzerinde, 1800'lerin ilk yarısından başlayan araştırmaların sonuçları ile çağdaş yüzey araştırmaları ve kazıların bilgileri dağınık ve çoğunlukla ulaşılamaz durumdadır. Birçok yerleşmenin yeri bilinmemekte, birçoğu da tahribatın/yapılaşmanın kurbanı olmuş ya da olmaktadır. Bu tahribata karşı ve bu emanetleri korumaya yönelik öncelikle yapılabilecek en önemli çalışma, kültürel verilerin merkezi bir yapı içinde toplanması ve derlenmesidir: Belgeleme olmadan koruma olmaz. İlk kez bu projeyle, Türkiye arkeolojik yerleşmeleri, höyükler, tümülüsler, anıtlar, mezarlıklar, ören yerleri, yerleşme yerleşme, höyük höyük, tümülüs tümülüs belgelenmektedir.

IMPAcT focuses on 13th to 16th century IslaMic Philosophy And Theology and adjacent sciences, hence the acronym. It will make accessible the crucially important, but much neglected 13th–16th century history of thought of the Nile-to-Oxus region through focused studies of its texts and authors and the intellectual networks of the period. IMPAcT’s ultimate aim is to bridge the gap between the much better studied classical and modern periods of Islamic intellectual history, and to enable scholars to study the intellectual and political history of the period in its own right, and in a holistic manner – all too often the two are perceived and hence studied as two separate fields. IMPAcT’s objective is to overcome the current fragmentation of the existing expertise across Europe, the Middle East, and North America by collaborating with international projects in related fields, through bringing together experts in these fields at international workshops and conferences, and by encouraging especially the younger generation to engage in research on pertinent topics through travel bursaries for graduate students and by establishing post-doctoral research positions, enabling researchers to devote themselves to the in-depth study of a specific topic for an extended period of time without the distractions of academic administration. IMPAcT’s aims will be further supported through the edition and translation of key texts, the publication of monographs, and the support of graduate students and postdoctoral researchers through research fellowships and association with the project, permitting them to carry out their research in a congenial research environment.

This five year research project (2012-16) studies the transformation of Anatolia from a Christian to a predominantly Muslim society over the period c. 1100 to 1500AD. Whereas previous research has concentrated almost exclusively on conversion, this study also emphasises the importance of acculturation to Islam, and thus seeks to understand the processes through which Islamic culture took root among the recently converted Turkish as well as Christian populations. Very little is known of the spread of Islam in the region, and the nature both of the religion and culture of Muslim Anatolia is little understood, even though these transformations gave birth to the Ottoman Empire, which played a vital role in shaping European history, and ultimately Turkey itself.IslamAnatolia examines the formation of Anatolian Islamic society through the extensive but largely unstudied literary evidence it has bequeathed us in the form of numerous Arabic, Persian and Turkish manuscripts. Despite work on individual texts, the contours of this literature as a whole are largely unknown, and many works remained unpublished. This project is creating a publicly accessible database of information about the extant manuscripts produced and circulated in Anatolia during the formative period of Islamisation from the twelfth to the beginning of the sixteenth century, containing information on their contents as well as details of place and date of copying, patronage, and authorship. This will also represent a major contribution to the study of the literatures of Arabic, Persian and especially Turkish by providing a repository of reliable information about the early manuscript heritage of the region. The database’s codicological information will be linked to mapping software, providing for the first time solid data about the dates and places in which specific texts were circulated, illuminating the intellectual sources for the cultural and religious Islamisation of Anatolia.

The Encyclopædia Iranica is dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent. The academic reference work will eventually cover all aspects of Iranian history and culture as well as all Iranian languages and literatures, facilitating the whole range of Iranian studies research from archeology to political sciences.

"To do what I have done for China and Japan for all the countries of the world—along with some topics and subjects that relate to all countries or are important in understanding the world—in my lifetime. With each country I try to collect information that gives insight and understanding into what that country, its people and its environment are all about and organize them under a a range of categories and subcategories. Trying to give a sense of what a country is really like is a very lofty, complicated and multifacted goal and my way of dealing with that is trying to cover a wide range of topics with brief, to-the-point bits of information. I have already done the work for a lot of other countries. It will just take some time to finish them and put them in Internet form."

Archnet is pleased to offer open access to a very unique set of resources related to the built environment of the Muslim world. These archives, images, drawings, publications, seminar proceedings, articles, serials and project documentation comprise an unparalleled resource and research tool for the study of Islamic art and architecture. They bring together donated photo collections, journals published around the world, monographs and architect’s archives that are linked to sites, people, publications and other related materials. These resources are updated on a regular basis and new materials are always in the pipeline. Enjoy your browsing.

Madrasahs were educational institutions that first appeared in Islamic countries. Before madrasahs, mosques were used as schools only outside the hours of worship and the education consisted solely of making students memorise the Koran and giving them religious information. In later times, it was considered inappropriate for mosques, which were used as places of worship, to be simultaneously used as schools, and so hodjas began giving lessons in their homes.

The complex of the Great Mosque of Divriği consists of the mosque, the hospital and the tomb. It was built during the time of the Megujekid Beylik, which formed part of the Anatolian Seljuk State. The Great Mosque was built by Süleyman Shah’s son, Ahmet Shah, and the hospital was built by his wife Turan Melek Sultan. Construction was begun in 1228 and completed in 1243, and the chief architect was Hürrem Shah, son of Muğis, of Ahlatlı.

Established in 2002, the web portal MuslimHeritage.com was the first major project of FSTC. It is a unique online education community of Muslims and non-Muslims seeking to advance human civilisation through the study of Muslim heritage. The website contains more than 1000 peer-reviewed articles, hundreds of short reports on news and events related to Muslim heritage research, and an interactive map and timeline.Pioneered by FSTC, it is an ambitious project aimed at raising global awareness of the importance and relevance of this heritage. Web analysis software shows a range of 30,000 to 50,000 views per day.As the academic channel of FSTC, MuslimHeritage.com will soon be improved in design and function to include MASDAR, a unique database established by FSTC as a major web based directory of 70,000 source documents relating to Muslim heritage. It will be the largest online directory of its type in the world available to researchers.

Türkiye Kültür Portalı, Bilgi Toplumu Stratejisi (2006 - 2010) Eylem Planında yer alan; "Kamu kurumlarının İnternet sitelerinde bulunan Türkçe içeriğin TRT veri tabanından da yararlanılarak derlenmesi, görsel materyallerle desteklenmesi ile kültür, tarih, sanat, turizm gibi konularda bilgi sağlayan ve kullanıcılarla etkileşime imkan veren Türkiye Kültür Portalı kurulacaktır" ve "Bu portalda sunulan içerik TRT yayınlarıyla tanıtılacaktır" eylemleri doğrultusunda Kültür ve Turizm Bakanlığı tarafından oluşturulmuştur.

Arkeofili, 25 Kasım 2014 tarihinde, Türkiye’den ve dünyadan güncel haberler, kapsamlı dosyalar, röportajlar ve listeler sunarak; arkeolojiyi, uzaktan ya da yakından ilgili insanlara anlatmak, sevdirmek ve Türkiye’de arkeoloji bilimi ile kültür varlıkları için farkındalık yaratmak üzere kurulmuş bir arkeoloji oluşumudur. Arkeofili’nin yazar kadrosu çoğunlukla, lisans, yüksek lisans ve doktora programlarında öğrenim hayatlarına devam eden arkeolog ve arkeoloji öğrencilerinden oluşmaktadır. Arkeofili’de yer alan; haberler, dosyalar, listeler, röportajlar; şahsi fikirlerden, çeşitli yabancı kaynaklardan yapılan çevirilerden ve aldığımız eğitim sonucu edindiğimiz bilgilerden oluşmaktadır. Arkeolojinin, internet dünyasındaki Türkçe içerik sıkıntısını dindireceğini düşündüğümüz ve yürüttüğümüz Arkeofili’nin içerikleri el emeği, göz nurudur.

Foundation had started in July 2007 working on an inventory of the Seljuk buildings in Anatolia. The outputs of the project, supported by the Turkish Cultural Foundation, were made publicly accessible through a web site launched in 2009 with an exquisitely rich content. It is estimated that the Anatolian Seljuks built, between the years 1077-1308, 1,200 fortresses, hammams, hospitals, caravansarais and other various civil public buildings. Some of these buildings, which reveal forty different architectural styles, still remain intact while part of them are in ruins. The Project aimed to create an inventory of these buildings, and to compile the relevant data in a publicly accessible database on the website