Resources on Yoga
For more resources please check the Library Catalog Search
Catalog Search |
Az bilenler için yoga : acemi yoginin el kitabı by Call Number: B132.Y6 K37 2012ISBN: 9786055514686Publication Date: 2012
Chair Yoga by
Chair yoga is a revolutionary concept designed to make the numerous benefits of classical yoga available to a wider range of physical abilities. This step-by-step program can be practiced by virtually anyone, anywhere, in any chair, to stimulate physical and mental well-being. This fully illustrated guide contains ninety easy-to-master exercises that have been specially developed for those with a limited range of movement. Clear instructions guide the reader through each routine, all of which can be carried out safely without any previous knowledge or yoga expertise. The exercises can also be adapted by yoga teachers who want to incorporate chair yoga into their classes. This book will be popular with anyone wanting to experience the health benefits of an easy, versatile form of yoga, particularly older people, individuals rehabilitating after injury or illness and those with physical disabilities, as well as the professionals who support them.
ISBN: 9780857010568Publication Date: 2011-09-15
The Origins of Yoga and Tantra by
Yoga, tantra and other forms of Asian meditation are practised in modernized forms throughout the world today, but most introductions to Hinduism or Buddhism tell only part of the story of how they developed. This book is an interpretation of the history of Indic religions up to around 1200 CE, with particular focus on the development of yogic and tantric traditions. It assesses how much we really know about this period, and asks what sense we can make of the evolution of yogic and tantric practices, which were to become such central and important features of the Indic religious scene. Its originality lies in seeking to understand these traditions in terms of the total social and religious context of South Asian society during this period, including the religious practices of the general population with their close engagement with family, gender, economic life and other pragmatic concerns.
ISBN: 9780511818820Publication Date: 2012-06-05
Poser by
The studio was decorated in the style of Don't Be Afraid, We're Not a Cult. All was white and blond and clean, as though the room had been designed for surgery, or Swedish people. The only spot of color came from the Tibetan prayer flags strung over the doorway into the studio. In flagrant defiance of my longtime policy of never entering a structure adorned with Tibetan prayer flags, I removed my shoes, paid my ten bucks, and walked in . . . Ten years ago, Claire Dederer put her back out while breastfeeding her baby daughter. Told to try yoga by everyone from the woman behind the counter at the co-op to the homeless guy on the corner, she signed up for her first class. She fell madly in love. Over the next decade, she would tackle triangle, wheel, and the dreaded crow, becoming fast friends with some poses and developing long-standing feuds with others. At the same time, she found herself confronting the forces that shaped her generation. Daughters of women who ran away to find themselves and made a few messes along the way, Dederer and her peers grew up determined to be good, good, good--even if this meant feeling hemmed in by the smugness of their organic-buying, attachment-parenting, anxiously conscientious little world. Yoga seemed to fit right into this virtuous program, but to her surprise, Dederer found that the deeper she went into the poses, the more they tested her most basic ideas of what makes a good mother, daughter, friend, wife--and the more they made her want something a little less tidy, a little more improvisational. Less goodness, more joy. Poseris unlike any other book about yoga you will read--because it is actually a book about life. Witty and heartfelt, sharp and irreverent,Poseris for anyone who has ever tried to stand on their head while keeping both feet on the ground.
Call Number: HQ759 .D42 2011ISBN: 9780374236441Publication Date: 2010-12-21- Raja Yoga : uygulamalı rehber kitap by Call Number: B312.Y6 S5320 2004ISBN: 9756529172Publication Date: 2004
Transformative Yoga by
Yoga can tone your mind the same way it tones your body, enhancing flexibility and building vitality and strength. But only those who discover the spiritual meaning beyond the poses truly benefit from all yoga has to offer. If you are ready to take your yoga practice to new depths by combining your physical practice of yoga with your deepest consciousness, this book will be your guide. Written by renowned yoga teacher Wade Imre Morissette, Transformative Yoga reveals the key transformative process embedded within the yoga tradition. This book offers a complete set of beginner, intermediate, and advanced yoga posture sequences with photographs, and includes yoga meditations for boosting energy, releasing stress, and accessing your inner bliss. These daily rituals stretch your mind and body to increase your capacity for joy and open you to new opportunities for creating productive changes in your life. So why practice yoga any other way? You can begin right now to transform your yoga practice and transform yourself. Wade takes us on a transformational journey into the self, from the external and physical to the subtle, energetic, emotional, mental, and blissful bodies that make up who we are. -Sharon Gannon, yoga teacher and cofounder of Jivamukti Yoga
ISBN: 1572248238Publication Date: 2009-10-01- Yoga by
Mindfulness and yoga-based approaches as beneficial supplements to traditional mental health paradigms are well supported by empirical research. Although numerous texts have examined these approaches for treatment of depression, anxiety, and eating disorders, this is the first to address mindfulness and yoga-based approaches as embodied tools for reducing dysregulation associated with self-destructive and consumption-oriented behaviors. Introducing the basic theoretical foundations, key practices, and comprehensive protocols of mindfulness and yoga-based approaches for the treatment of externally oriented behaviors, the text is targeted at mental health professionals who wish to learn how to incorporate these techniques into their practice. The book explores the societal influences that lead to the externally oriented, idealized, and ultimately self-defeating concept of the individual. It provides the structure and practical applications for clinicians to help their clients overcome struggles with externally oriented behaviors and discover an internal sense of satisfaction and peace of mind. Tapping into the concept of a 'hungry self' within the context of consumerism, the book advocates mindfulness and yoga approaches as alternate pathways toward a contented, regulated, and authentic experience of self. It addresses various aspects of the consumptive self and defines related syndromes such as disordered eating, compulsive shopping, substance use, and gambling. Creating a context for using alternative and complementary approaches, the book describes the challenges of traditional therapies. It then covers the conceptual aspects of mindfulness and yoga and describes specific protocols that facilitate behaviors associated with a healthy experience of the self for a variety of disorders"
Call Number: WB890 .S37 2001ISBN: 9789757200895Publication Date: 2001
- Yoga : Nedir ? ne değildir ? by Call Number: BL1238.52 M36 2007ISBN: 9789751026231Publication Date: 2007
Yoga for Pain Relief by
It's no secret that yoga increases muscular flexibility and strength, but you may not know that yoga is a proven treatment for back pain, knee pain, carpal tunnel syndrome, and other chronic pain conditions. Yoga also helps to ease the stress, anxiety, and depression that can create and reinforce pain, making you feel more comfortable in both your mind and your body. Written by a yoga instructor and former chronic pain sufferer, Yoga for Pain Relief is packed with gentle postures and practical strategies for ending pain. This complete mind-body tool kit for healing also includes deep relaxation practices drawn from the yogic tradition and psychological techniques for helping you make peace with your body and dissolve pain. As the ancient practice of yoga releases the hold that chronic pain has over your life, you will begin to feel more like yourself again.
ISBN: 157224965XPublication Date: 2009-12-02- Yoga ve vejetaryenlik by
TABLE OF CONTENTS:
Türkçe Baskıya Önsöz, p.8 -- Önsöz, p.13 -- Öndeyiş, p.18 -- Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu, p.26 -- Giriş Yoganın Vejetaryenlikle Ne ilgisi Var?, p.28 -- 1.Bölüm: ASANA, p.39 -- Dünya ve Tüm Varlıklarla olan Bağlantımız -- 2. Bölüm: AHIMSA, p.54 -- Zarar Vermeme -- 3.Bölüm: SATYA, p.63 -- Doğruyu söylemek -- 4.Bölüm: ASTEYA, p.80 -- Çalmamak -- 5.Bölüm: BRAHMACHARYA, p.88 -- İyi Seks -- 6.Bölüm: APARIGRAHA, p.99 -- Açgözlülük, Aşırılık ve Yoksulluk -- 7.Bölüm: Jivanmukta Hayatı Yaşamak, p.112 -- Spiritüel Aktivitizm -- Son Söz, p.127 --Ek 1. Sıkça Sorulan Sorular, p.130 -- Ek 2. Vegan Beslenmeye Giriş, p.144 -- Ek 3. Mat Üzerinde Yoga , p.149 -- Kaynaklar, p.155 --Sözlük, p.157 --Teşekkür, p.160.
Call Number: BL1238.56.H38 G3620 2016ISBN: 9786059200189Publication Date: 2016
- International Journal of Yoga International Journal of Yoga (ISSN # 0973-6131), is a multidisciplinary 3 Issues scientific Yoga journal, dedicated to Yoga research. The journal is an official publication of the Swami Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana Samsthana (S-VYASA University) Bengaluru, India. This journal is published by Medknow Publications, Mumbai, India. IJOY publishes original research articles, review articles, short communications, case reports, Letter to the Editor related to Yoga.
- Yoga-Mimamsa The oldest (since 1924) peer-reviewed multi-disciplinary research journal on yoga.
- PressReader Subscribers get access to more than 7,000 of the world’s top newspapers and magazines as soon as they’re available on shelves. PressReaders pay publishers fairly for all of that content, so you know your subscription helps support the production of quality journalism, both internationally and locally.
- Yoga with Katy Appleton [DVD]LOCATION: DVD Collection
CALL NO: WB541 .Y64 2001
BARCODE: 3109361314966 - Zeynep Aksoy ile YogaLOCATION:DVD Collection
CALL NO: WB541 .Z49 2004
BARCODE: 3109361198397 - Ali MacGraw Yoga Mind & BodyLOCATION: DVD Collection
CALL NO: WB541 .A45 2003
BARCODE:3109361259516 - Lilias! complete yoga fitness for beginnersLOCATION: DVD Collection
CALL NO: WB541 .L55 2003 v.1 / WB541 .L55 2003 v.2
BARCODE: 3109361752313 / 3109361752331
- Yoga With Adriene WELCOME to Yoga With Adriene! Our mission is to connect as many people as possible through high-quality free yoga videos. We welcome all levels, all bodies, all genders, all souls! If you're brand-new to yoga, check out my Yoga For Beginners and Foundations of Yoga series. These are designed to give you the tools to build a happy, healthy at-home yoga practice. Do your best, be authentic, and FIND WHAT FEELS GOOD. Jump on in! You don't even have to leave your house. Love, Adriene Yoga With Adriene, LLC recommends that you consult your physician regarding the applicability of any recommendations and follow all safety instructions before beginning any exercise program. When participating in any exercise or exercise program, there is the possibility of physical injury. If you engage in this exercise or exercise program, you agree that you do so at your own risk, are voluntarily participating in these activities, assume all risk of injury to yourself.