Distinguish Yourself and Your Research
ORCID Knowledge base
Characteristics
What is ORCID?
An ORCID is a unique and persistent identifier for researchers -- an ID number that can help make your scholarship easier to find and attribute so that you get credit for all that you do throughout your career.
Through ORCID you are provided with a way to reliably, unambiguously and permanently connect your names(s) with your work throughout your research career, including publications, grants, education, employment and other biographical information, etc.
This can be helpful in a number of ways as it:
- Provides a means to distinguish you from other authors with identical or similar names.
- Links together your body of work, especially if you have had or used different names during the course of your career.
- Makes it easy for others including potential collaborators, funders, prospective employers, conference organizers, publishers to easily find your research output.
- Ensures that your work is clearly attributed to you.
Your ORCID belongs to you and not to the institution that you work for or a company. You get to decide what information you associate with it, who can see this information and which other organisations can add information on your behalf. This means you can keep adding to it throughout your research career.
The idea behind ORCID identifiers is that they should be a stable link between all your research activities - grant applications, manuscript submissions, publications, entries in institutional repositories and your peer review activity.
How to...
The ORCID Registry is available free of charge to individuals, who may obtain an ORCID identifier, manage their record of activities, and search for others in the Registry. Organizations may become members to link their records to ORCID identifiers, to update ORCID records, to receive updates from ORCID, and to register their employees and students for ORCID identifiers.
Registering process is clear and easy:
*Remember!
- Complete the form giving the version of your name that you want to be known by
- Once you have registered for your ORCID, it is important to add any variants in the names that you have used during your career and to publish your research outputs (Also known as). Do this first BEFORE you start importing your works from other sources - this will ensure that you get the best capture and linking of your publications and outputs.
- It is always a good idea to add additional email addresses to your profile (they remain private unless you want them to be shown) just in case you lose access to the email address that you first registered with.
Data management
ORCID records hold non-sensitive information such as name, email, organization and research activities. ORCID understands the fundamental need for individuals to control how their data are shared, and provides tools to manage data privacy.
The information in your ORCID profile -- positions held, articles published, grants received, email addresses, organizations affiliated with -- is non-sensitive and available from other public sources. ORCID users can set certain information to "private," including their iDs. However, there are good reasons for you, your program, and for the University to share at least some of your profile information with a trusted party.
Adding your intellectual production to your ORCID iD
You can add all of your publications, works and activities to your ORCID record to create a comprehensive listing in one place, including outputs like datasets, peer review activities and more and thus, reduce repetitive data entry. Once you have created your ORCID account you can add your works to your record.
- Publications (journal articles, books, reports, dissertations, newspaper articles, websites, working papers etc.)
- Conference materials (paper, abstract, poster)
- Intellectual property (patents, licenses, registered copyrights)
- Other materials (datasets, speeches, technical standards, artistic performances etc.)
Publications, datasets, and other materials can often be imported by using ORCID import wizards. By using your name or existing IDs your publications will be pulled in from the respective databases. Inputs and outputs can also be added via BibTeX and / or manually.
*Hint! By importing from a database, the record in your profile is more likely to be correct and may have a DOI link and a link to the record in the appropriate bibliographic database. The source of the record is also shown and the record can be expanded to show the full citation.
Adding your research funding to your ORCID
If you have received research awards from funding organizations, you can add these to your ORCID profile. ORCID is collaborating with CrossRef (the organization that is the digital hub for metadata for millions of scholarly documents) to use the FundRef Registry to support their funding interface. CrossRef's FundRef Registry is a controlled taxonomy of more than 5500 global government and private funding organizations that provides a standard way to report funding sources for published scholarly research to funders, institutions, researchers, and the public.
You can do that easily by using the ÜberWizard search and Link tool which will search for funding awards from over 200 funding bodies from around the world. If it finds awards that belong to you, the tool lets you import the details automatically. If the ÜberWizard linking tool does not find your research awards, you can add them manually.
Highlighting your peer review activity to your ORCID (new feature)
Peer reviewing of manuscripts or grant proposals for publishers and funders is one of the professional activities that researchers are expected to conduct as part of their scholarly activities. Due to the nature of peer review (it is often anonymous), gaining credit for this activity has often been overlooked. A new feature within ORCID will be the ability to add details of your peer reviewing activities to your ORCID profile. Several organizations are working with ORCID to integrate this function including publishers and research funders.
The new section on Peer Review will be appearing on ORCID profiles soon. Several organizations will be participating in the early roll-out. If you are providing peer reviews that are open and that are assigned a DOI (like those for F1000Research), the full details of your peer review will be linked to your ORCID profile.
For other organizations using closed peer review models, the entry in your ORCID profile may just give the name of the journal or the funding organization that you have reviewed for.
List of organizations:
ORCIDiD & other IDs
ORCID puts the researchers in the centre and allows interconnection and integration with other IDs among the research community.
ResearcherID
You can exchange data between ORCID and ResearcherID, including your profile information and your publication list. ResearcherID and ORCID are complementary attribution identifiers. They go hand-in-hand and it is essential that scholarly authors and researchers have both.
*How you can associate your ResearcherID account with your ORCID record
SCOPUS
You can also import publications associated with your Scopus Author ID which includes the identifier, references, citations of work, h-index, and subject areas.
The "Add to ORCID" button directs you to the ORCID log-in page in order to complete the import.