Full Program
Tentative Program
The program will be formatted with presentations, discussions and activities under the subject themes of the event. You may find the tentative program below.
Preliminary program
The preliminary program of the event includes the basic structure of the sessions, the thematic areas of the week and the social, off-campus visits. These will be optional and participants should choose and decide in advance which of them they would like to attend. The final announcement of the activities and the selection will be made prior to the event.
Visits can be organized for:
Opened in January 2023, The Rami Library stands out as the largest library complex in Europe, offering a collection of millions of volumes as well as special libraries and common areas catering to readers of all ages.
The Rami Library is set in the Ottoman-era Rami Barracks, dating from the mid-18th century. Restored and renovated through intensive efforts by the Ministry of Culture and Tourism of the Republic of Türkiye, the Rami Library also features newly constructed annexes.
BiblioPera: Beyoglu Research Centers Network started off as a partnership project of 9 international research centers located in Beyoglu, Istanbul; the number of the partners has incerased along the years. Rising over the shoulders of a union catalogue, BiblioPera brings the multilingual collections of the libraries of research centers together, and creates a platform for further cooperation for research and activities in Social Sciences, Art & Humanities.
Supported by Istanbul Development Agency (ISTKA), and developed by Koç University Suna Kiraç Library with the partnership of Istanbul Research Institute, Koç University Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations, Salt Research, Deutsches Archäologisches Institut-Istanbul, Netherlands Institute in Turkey, Institut Français d’Études Anatoliennes, Orient-Institut Istanbul, Swedish Research Institute in Istanbul, and Sismanoglio Megaro, Yapı Kredi Research Library, The Foundation for the Protection and Promotion of Environmental and Cultural Heritage, The American Research Institute in Turkey and ARTER Libraries, BiblioPera’s mission is to promote historical, archaeological, and social scientific research on Turkey, and grant Beyoglu a new identity of research.
Sadberk Hanım Museum's collection has grown rapidly from around 3000 objects when the museum was initially founded to over 20,000 objects today. Archaeological items representing the material culture of the numerous civilisations that arose in Anatolia date from between 6000 BC up to the end of the Byzantine period (1453) and are displayed in the Sevgi Gönül Building, while the predominantly Ottoman period Islamic works, which include European, Near Eastern and Far Eastern objects made for the Ottoman market, and Ottoman period textiles, costume and embroidery, are exhibited in the Azaryan Yalısı.
Sadberk Hanım Museum Library is a leading private specialist library, with a collection of 13,147 printed and 673 manuscript books. Of particular importance are the 421 rare sâlnâme yearbooks, which is the largest sâlnâme collection in any private library in Turkey and ranks among the top five collections in all libraries in the country. The museum library is available for study by graduate students and academics. To make an appointment please fill in the relevant form.
According to research done so far Fatih Madrasa education in the opening year (1470) is considered the beginning of the Istanbul University. Until Fatih Kulliye is established temporary teaching is done in madrassas converted from churches and monasteries attempted to establish a library. Fatih library has dedicated some books from both their library. At the opening of the Fatih Mosque, first library was established in four madrasas. After a while the books in these libraries are combined in a library with built in Fatih Mosque and Hagia Sophia located in Zeyrek madrasah. The opening of the faculty of the University of Istanbul Fatih Mosque is considered to be the start we can accept this as the first to collection the Istanbul University. Read more
Besides revealing, protecting, improving and handing down the next generation our university’s cultural and historical asset, our mission is providing to access accurate, confidential and universal information which is necessary for searching foundation and serving to public via contemporary facilities.
Being suitable for future learning requirement, owner of all kind of contemporary technology and physical facilities, capable of serving time and location independent best service for all shareholder, accomplishing of being reference in international area, being center for influential, wealthy information and documentation.
*Please, note that the final off-campus visits might be slightly different than the above mentioned ones.
Where
Have you ever seen the point where the Black Sea meets 
Boshporus?
The event is hosted at Koç University, in this wonderful scenery at the far north point of Istanbul. Koç University was founded in 1993 as a non-profit private university in Istanbul, Turkey. Since its establishment, it has become one of the leading universities in Turkey, distinguished by notable contributions to the elevation of education, knowledge and service both domestically and beyond. With Colleges of Social Sciences and Humanities, Administrative Sciences and Economics, Science, Engineering, Law, Nursing and Medicine, Koç University offers 22 undergraduate,43 graduate and 30 PhD programs.
Find us on the map
The Library
Suna Kıraç Library was established on 12 October 1993. The Main Library is located at RumeliFeneri Campus and serves the whole KU community. The Library’s collection includes both print and electronic material and comprises:
- 282.000+ printed books
- 87,000 current serial titles available online
- 127 databases
- 402.000+ e-books
- 40 digital collections
Apart from the main library, there are four branches which serve different purposes and users:
- The Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations Library, the first Turkish center for advanced research in the art history, archaeology, and history of Turkey.
- The Health Science Library provides reference and circulation services to the medical students of KU, the medical personnel of Koç University Hospital on the Health Sciences Campus, Topkapı as well as other health care professionals.
- In 2014, The Vehbi Koç and Ankara Research Center Library & Archive joined us as a third branch Library. The Collection of the Library & Archive includes publications, photos, documents, postcards, maps, and documentary films on Ankara. The Center is located in Keçiören, Ankara.
- In 2016, Suna & İnan Kıraç Research Center for Mediterranean Civilizations – AKMED Library joined us as fourth branch Library. The library on antiquity with emphasis on the specific geography of the region developing as per requests by researchers; its archives of documents, photographs and transparencies are available for use by Turkish and foreign researchers and scholars. The Library is located in Kaleiçi, Antalya
The Libraries are actively involved in several international platforms such as LIBER, EAHIL, MELCOM, EconBiz and IFLA. Suna Kıraç Library hosted LIBER Annual General Conference in 2009, EAHIL Conference in 2011 and MELCOM Conference in 2023.
