LibGuides: Systematic Review Process: best practices: Data collection: select your sources

Selecting Databases Introduction

Librarians can recommend databases to search for your evidence synthesis; the databases you choose will depend on your research question and the disciplines in which relevant research may be conducted. Below is some guidance for choosing scholarly databases in a number of research areas. Check Suna Kıraç Library's Databases catalog for a full list of available sources across all disciplines.

Every database works differently. Librarians can help with designing complex searches using the specialized syntax of individual databases and 'translate' searches between databases. Consult with a librarian if you have questions.

Note that these databases largely focus on the published, peer-reviewed literature. For guidance and resources for searching other types of information (i.e., gray literature), see the next tab in this guide.

Databases for Scholarly Literature

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A rich collection of citation indexes representing the citation connections between scholarly research articles found in the most globally significant journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities. A platform providing access to multidisciplinary and regional citation indexes; specialist subject indexes; a patent family index; and an index to scientific data sets.
Scopus
Scopus is a source-neutral abstract and citation database, curated by independent subject matter experts, that places powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, institutional research managers, and funders. It gives them access to premium quality research information from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers around the world.
PubMed
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of peer-reviewed biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library is owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full-Text coverage dates back to 1937.

Systematic Review Process: best practices

Selecting Databases Introduction

Databases for Scholarly Literature

Suna Kıraç Library on Social Media