Reserve Books
Reference and Instruction Librarian
Library's Resources
For more, please check the Library Catalogue
Catalog Search |
University Physics with Modern Physics by
NOTE: You are purchasing a standalone product; MasteringPhysics does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MasteringPhysics search for ISBN-10: 0321982584/ ISBN-13: 9780321982582. That package includes ISBN-10: 0321973615/ISBN-13: 9780321973610 and ISBN-10: 0321997751/ ISBN-13: 9780321997753. For courses in calculus-based physics. The benchmark for clarity and rigor, influenced by the latest in education research. Since its first edition, University Physics has been revered for its emphasis on fundamental principles and how to apply them. This text is known for its clear and thorough narrative, as well as its uniquely broad, deep, and thoughtful sets of worked examples that provide students with key tools for developing both conceptual understanding and problem-solving skills. The Fourteenth Edition improves the defining features of the text while adding new features influenced by education research to teach the skills needed by today's students. A focus on visual learning, new problem types, and pedagogy informed by MasteringPhysics metadata headline the improvements designed to create the best learning resource for physics students. Also available with MasteringPhysics MasteringPhysics® from Pearson is the leading online homework, tutorial, and assessment system, designed to improve results by engaging students before, during, and after class with powerful content. Instructors ensure students arrive ready to learn by assigning educationally effective content before class and encourage critical thinking and retention with in-class resources such as Learning Catalytics. Students can further master concepts after class through traditional and adaptive homework assignments that provide hints and answer-specific feedback. The Mastering gradebook records scores for all automatically graded assignments in one place, while diagnostic tools give instructors access to rich data to assess student understanding and misconceptions. Mastering brings learning full circle by continuously adapting to each student and making learning more personal than ever--before, during, and after class.
Call Number: QC21.3 .Y68 2020ISBN: 9780321973610Publication Date: 2020
Conceptual physics by
TABLE OF CONTENTS:
To the student, p.20 -- To the instructor, p.21 -- 1. About science, p.28 -- Part one. Mechanics, p.45 -- Part two. Properties of matter, p.233 -- Part three. Heat, p.309 -- Part four. Sound, p.381 -- Part five. Electricity and magnetism, p.431 -- Part six. Light, p.511 -- Part seven. Atomic and nudear physics, p.627 -- Part eight. Relativity, p.683 --Index, p.805.
Call Number: QC23 .H56 2015ISBN: 9781292057132Publication Date: 2015
Fundamentals of Physics by
Professor R. Shankar, a well-known physicist and contagiously enthusiastic educator, was among the first to offer a course through the innovative Open Yale Course program. His popular online video lectures on introductory physics have been viewed over a million times. In this concise and self-contained book based on his online Yale course, Shankar explains the fundamental concepts of physics from Galileo's and Newton's discoveries to the twentieth-century's revolutionary ideas on relativity and quantum mechanics. The book begins at the simplest level, develops the basics, and reinforces fundamentals, ensuring a solid foundation in the principles and methods of physics. It provides an ideal introduction for college-level students of physics, chemistry, and engineering, for motivated AP Physics students, and for general readers interested in advances in the sciences. Instructor resources--including problem sets and sample examinations--and more information about Professor Shankar's course are available athttp://oyc.yale.edu/physics/phys-200.
Call Number: QC21.3 .S53 2014ISBN: 9780300192209Publication Date: 2014-03-25
Solid State Physics by
By identifying unifying concepts across solid state physics, this text covers theory in an accessible way to provide graduate students with an intuitive understanding of effects and the basis for making quantitative calculations. Each chapter focuses on a different set of theoretical tools, using examples from specific systems and demonstrating practical applications to real experimental topics. Advanced theoretical methods including group theory, many-body theory, and phase transitions are introduced in an accessible way, and the quasiparticle concept is developed early, with discussion of the properties and interactions of electrons and holes, excitons, phonons, photons, and polaritons. New to this edition are sections on graphene, surface states, photoemission spectroscopy, 2D spectroscopy, transistor device physics, thermoelectricity, metamaterials, spintronics, exciton-polaritons, and flux quantization in superconductors. Exercises are provided to help put knowledge into practice, with a solutions manual for instructors available online, while appendices review the basic mathematical methods used in the book.
Call Number: QC176 .S66 2020ISBN: 9781107191983Publication Date: 2020-01-09
Advanced Quantum Condensed Matter Physics by
Condensed matter physics has fast become the largest discipline within physics. Based on an established course, this comprehensive textbook covers one-body, many-body and topological perspectives. It is the first textbook that presents a comprehensive coverage of topological aspects of condensed matter as a distinct yet integrated component. It covers topological fundamentals and their connection to physics, introduces Berry phase and Chern numbers, describes general topological features of band structures and delineates its classification. Applications as manifest in the quantum Hall effect, topological insulators and Weyl semimetal are presented. Modern topics of current interest are explored in-depth, helping students prepare for cutting-edge research. These include one-electron band theory, path integrals and coherent states functional integrals as well as Green and Matsubara functions, spontaneous symmetry breaking, superfluidity and superconductivity. Multiple chapters covering quantum magnetism are also included. With end-of-chapter exercises throughout, it is ideal for graduate students studying advanced condensed matter physics.
Call Number: QC173.45 .E5 2020ISBN: 9781108480840Publication Date: 2020-03-26
The Physics of Graphene by
Leading graphene research theorist Mikhail I. Katsnelson systematically presents the basic concepts of graphene physics in this fully revised second edition. The author illustrates and explains basic concepts such as Berry phase, scaling, Zitterbewegung, Kubo, Landauer and Mori formalisms in quantum kinetics, chirality, plasmons, commensurate-incommensurate transitions and many others. Open issues and unsolved problems introduce the reader to the latest developments in the field. New achievements and topics presented include the basic concepts of Van der Waals heterostructures, many-body physics of graphene, electronic optics of Dirac electrons, hydrodynamics of electron liquid and the mechanical properties of one atom-thick membranes. Building on an undergraduate-level knowledge of quantum and statistical physics and solid-state theory, this is an important graduate textbook for students in nanoscience, nanotechnology and condensed matter. For physicists and material scientists working in related areas, this is an excellent introduction to the fast-growing field of graphene science.
Call Number: QD181.C1 K29 2020ISBN: 9781108471640Publication Date: 2020-03-19
Feynman fizik dersleri by
Contents v.1 Mekanik, ışınım, ısı -- v.2 Elektromanyetizma ve madde -- v.3 Kuantum mekaniği.
Summary Derslerin 1. cildi, 1961-62 akademik yılında California Teknoloji Enstitüsünde (Caltech) Prof. R.P. Feynman tarafından giriş fiziği dersi olarak verilmiş olan bir konferanslar dizisine dayanmaktadır; tüm Caltech birinci ve ikinci sınıf öğrencilerinin aldığı fizik dersinin ilk yılını kapsamaktadır; ikinci yılı kapsayan benzer bir dizi de 1962-63'te bunun peşinden gelmiştir. Kitap, alışıldık fiziğe giriş konularının dışında bir seyir izler. Kuantum fiziğine giriş niteliği de taşıyan bu kitap, Feynman'ın dehasını ve en zor konuları basite indirme becerisini yansıtmaktadır. İkinci cildin dersleri elektrik ve manyetizmanın fiziğinin eksiksiz bir şekilde işlenmesine ayrılmıştır. İlk olarak öğrencilere Franklin'in el yordamı keşiflerinden başlayıp, Maxwell'in büyük birleştirmesinden geçip, malzemenin özelliklerine dair Lorentz elektron kuramına ve elektromanyetik öz enerjinin çözülememiş ikilemlerine kadar eksiksiz bir şekilde aktarmak hedeflenmiştir. İkinci olarak da, vektör analizinin ana hatlarını sunarak öğrencilerin alan kuramlarının matematiğine sağlam bir giriş yapması amaçlanmıştır. Matematiksel yöntemlerin genel yararlılığını vurgulamak için, bazen fiziğin başka kısımlarından ilgili bölümler incelenmiştir. Bu üç cilt Feynman'ın 1961-64 yılları arasında, California Teknoloji Enstitüsünde (Caltech), bütün birinci ve ikinci sınıf öğrencilerinin aldıkları fizik derslerinin tarihsel bir kaydıdır. Bu ders dizisinin 3. cildi, kuantum mekaniğinin en basit ve en genel olan temel görünümlerini aydınlatmaya çalışmaktadır. İlk dersler olasılık genliği fikrine, genliğin girişimine, bir durumun soyut kavramına, düzeylerin üst üste binme ve ayrışmasına kafa tutmaktadır. Belirli enerji düzeylerine sahip durumların zaman bağımlılığına daha sonra değinilmiştir ve bu fikirler ilk kez iki-durumlu sistemlere uygulanmıştır. Ders sonra daha karmaşık sistemlerin ele alınmasıyla devam etmekte ve bir kristal içindeki elektronların ilerlemesi ile açısal momentumun kuantum mekaniğinin daha tam bir şeması için bir tartışma zemini hazırlamaktadır. Kuantum mekaniğine giriş Schrödinger dalga fonksiyonunun, diferansiyel denklemi ve hidrojen atomu için bir çözümün tartışmasıyla birlikte sona erer.
Call Number: QC21.2 .F4920 2017 v.1Publication Date: 2017
Partial Differential Equations of First Order and Their Applications to Physics by
This book tries to point out the mathematical importance of the Partial Differential Equations of First Order (PDEFO) in Physics and Applied Sciences. The intention is to provide mathematicians with a wide view of the applications of this branch in physics, and to give physicists and applied scientists a powerful tool for solving some problems appearing in Classical Mechanics, Quantum Mechanics, Optics, and General Relativity. This book is intended for senior or first year graduate students in mathematics, physics, or engineering curricula.This book is unique in the sense that it covers the applications of PDEFO in several branches of applied mathematics, and fills the theoretical gap between the formal mathematical presentation of the theory and the pure applied tool to physical problems that are contained in other books.Improvements made in this second edition include corrected typographical errors; rewritten text to improve the flow and enrich the material; added exercises in all chapters; new applications in Chapters 1, 2, and 5 and expanded examples.
Call Number: QA374 .V45 2012ISBN: 9789814390378Publication Date: 2012-03-21
For more, please check inKUire
Collective Effects in Condensed Matter Physics by
This monograph offers a concise overview of the theoretical description of various collective phenomena in condensed matter physics. These effects include the basic electronic structure in solid state physics, lattice vibrations, superconductivity, light-matter interaction and more advanced topics such as martensitic transistions.
ISBN: 9783110585094Publication Date: 2018-06-11
Springer Handbook of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics by
This handbook comprises a comprehensive reference source that unifies the entire fields of atomic, molecular, and optical (AMO) physics, assembling the principal ideas, techniques and results of the field from atomic spectroscopy to applications to comets and global changein comets. Its 91 chapters are written by over 100 authors, all leaders in their respective disciplines. Carefully edited to ensure a uniform coverage and style and with extensive cross references, together with a guide to the primary research literature, it is both a source of information and an inspiration for graduate students and other researchers new to the field. All chapters offer diagrams of apparatus, graphs, and tables of data. Twenty-five years on since the Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics Handbook was first published, and ten years since the publication of the revised Springer edition, the Springer AMO Physics Handbook has become a standard reference in the field, and a starting point for generations of graduate students. In recent years, there have been dramatic advances in many areas of AMO physics involving both fundamental changes and new applications in areas such as quantum information, ultracold atoms, and searches for dark matter. This new edition contains an expanded coverage of these rapidly emerging fields.
ISBN: 9783030738938Publication Date: 2023
A First Introduction to Quantum Physics by
In this undergraduate textbook, now in its 2nd edition, the author develops the quantum theory from first principles based on very simple experiments: a photon traveling through beam splitters to detectors, an electron moving through magnetic fields, and an atom emitting radiation. From the physical description of these experiments follows a natural mathematical description in terms of matrices and complex numbers. The first part of the book examines how experimental facts force us to let go of some deeply held preconceptions and develops this idea into a description of states, probabilities, observables, and time evolution. The quantum mechanical principles are illustrated using applications such as gravitational wave detection, magnetic resonance imaging, atomic clocks, scanning tunneling microscopy, and many more. The first part concludes with an overview of the complete quantum theory. The second part of the book covers more advanced topics, including the concept of entanglement, the process of decoherence or how quantum systems become classical, quantum computing and quantum communication, and quantum particles moving in space. Here, the book makes contact with more traditional approaches to quantum physics. The remaining chapters delve deeply into the idea of uncertainty relations and explore what the quantum theory says about the nature of reality. The book is an ideal accessible introduction to quantum physics, tested in the classroom, with modern examples and plenty of end-of-chapter exercises.
ISBN: 9783031161650Publication Date: 2023
Physics of Energy Conversion by
Covers the physical basis of the most important energy conversion processes used for energy supply. Provides the fundamentals and a scientific understanding of the physics behind thermal power plants, solar cells and power plants, batteries and fuels cells as well as energy storage devices.
ISBN: 9781501510632Publication Date: 2015-05-19
QBism by
Measured by the accuracy of its predictions and the scope of its technological applications, quantum mechanics is one of the most successful theories in science--as well as one of the most misunderstood. The deeper meaning of quantum mechanics remains controversial almost a century after its invention. Providing a way past quantum theory's paradoxes and puzzles, QBism offers a strikingly new interpretation that opens up for the nonspecialist reader the profound implications of quantum mechanics for how we understand and interact with the world. Short for Quantum Bayesianism, QBism adapts many of the conventional features of quantum mechanics in light of a revised understanding of probability. Bayesian probability, unlike the standard "frequentist probability," is defined as a numerical measure of the degree of an observer's belief that a future event will occur or that a particular proposition is true. Bayesianism's advantages over frequentist probability are that it is applicable to singular events, its probability estimates can be updated based on acquisition of new information, and it can effortlessly include frequentist results. But perhaps most important, much of the weirdness associated with quantum theory--the idea that an atom can be in two places at once, or that signals can travel faster than the speed of light, or that Schrödinger's cat can be simultaneously dead and alive--dissolves under the lens of QBism. Using straightforward language without equations, Hans Christian von Baeyer clarifies the meaning of quantum mechanics in a commonsense way that suggests a new approach to physics in general.
ISBN: 9780674504646Publication Date: 2016-10-03
The Timeless Approach by
This invaluable book provides a broad and comprehensive introduction to the fascinating and beautiful subject of timeless approaches in physics, focusing the attention in particular on significant models developed recently by the author. It presents relevant and novel perspectives in 21st century theoretical physics as regards the arena of physical processes and its geometry (both in special relativity, quantum mechanics, the quantum gravity domain and about the quantum vacuum). The timeless approach may be used as a source of reference by researchers in theoretical physics and at the same time it is also suitable for graduate students in physics who wish to have an extend view of some of the classic and fundamental models in the subject.
ISBN: 9789814713153Publication Date: 2016
Fundamentals of Physics II : Electromagnetism, Optics, and Quantum Mechanics. by
A beloved introductory physics textbook, now including exercises and an answer key, accessibly explains electromagnetism, optics, and quantum mechanics R. Shankar is a well known physicist and contagiously enthusiastic educator, whose popular online introductory-physics video lectures have been viewed over a million times. In this second book based on his online courses, Shankar explains electromagnetism, optics, and quantum mechanics, developing the basics and reinforcing the fundamentals. With the help of problem sets and answer keys, students learn about the most interesting findings of today's research while gaining a firm foundation in the principles and methods of physics.
ISBN: 9780300252446Publication Date: 2020Physics of Solar Energy by Physics of Solar Energy discusses the fundamental concept of solar energy, solar cells and nano fluids. It also includes the technologies used for the conversion of solar to fuels and performance assessment of nanofluids in the solar energy and thermal properties of carbon black aqueous nano fluids for solar absorption. This book also discusses about ab initio design of nanostructures for solar energy conversion, design of inp nanowires for maximal solar energy harvesting, optical simulations of p3ht/si nanowire array hybrid solar cells, dual effect of tio2 and co3o4 co-semiconductors and nano-sensitizer on dye-sensitized solar cell performance and spectrum splitting for efficient utilization of solar radiation: a novel photovoltaic-thermoelectric power generation system. It also provides the reader with the fundamental insights of solar energy and its conversion to fuels so as to get better understanding of designing nanostructures for the conversion of solar energy and the effect of external applied electric field on the thermodynamic efficiency of the silicon solar cell and calcination temperature on the properties of czts absorber layer.
ISBN: 1774074028Publication Date: 2019-12-01
A Dictionary of Scientists
From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biography dictionary of scientists currently available. Compact yet comprehensive, it will be invaluable reference for scientists, students, and anyone with a general interest in science. Over 1,300 entries, spanning over 2,500 years International range covers all areas of science, from physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology Clear explanations of the science itself and its historical significance. Includes all Nobel Laureates in physics, chemistry, physiology, and medicine Comprehensive index of topics, and extensive network of cross-references to related entries
ISBN: 9780192800862Publication Date: 1999-06-24
For more, please check E-Journals.
For more, please check Databases.
- AIP (American Institute of Physics)
This link opens in a new window
AIP Publishing is a wholly owned not-for-profit subsidiary of the American Institute of Physics (AIP). AIP Publishing’s mission is to support the charitable, scientific and educational purposes of AIP through scholarly publishing activities in the fields of the physical and related sciences on its own behalf, on behalf of Member Societies of AIP, and on behalf of other publishing partners to help them proactively advance their missions. AIP Publishing’s portfolio comprises 19 highly regarded, peer-reviewed journals, including the flagship journals Applied Physics Letters, Journal of Applied Physics, and The Journal of Chemical Physics, in addition to the AIP Conference Proceedings. - APS Journals
- This link opens in a new window
Suna Kirac Library subscribes to the following APS Journals. You may click on any of the titles listed below to access the online version of that journal. Physical Review Applied (2014-), Physical Review Letters (1958-) Physical Review X (2011-), Reviews of Modern Physics (1929-), Physical Review A (1970-) Physical Review B (1970-), Physical Review C (1970-), Physical Review D (1970-), Physical Review E (1993-), Physical Review Accelerators and Beams (Open Access), Physical Review Physics Education Research (Open Access), Physics (Open Access), Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) (1893-2012), Physical Review Fluids (2016-), Physical Review Materials (2017-) - IOP Journals
This link opens in a new window
IOPscience is an online service for journal content published by IOP Publishing. IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content. This resource provides access to the journals of the Institute of Physics (IoP) - including its current journal subscriptions and its entire journal archive from 1874. - SPIE Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Stay up-to-date with the world's largest collection of research papers in optics and photonics.The SPIE Digital Library provides engineers and scientists with the latest information on light-based technologies. Subscriptions are available for institutions or individuals. - ScienceDirectDiscover more from over 2,500 scholarly journals, including over 250 fully Open Access publications and 39,000 reference books — personalized recommendations and Topic Pages make it easy to find the highest-quality and most relevant interdisciplinary research in less time.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA rich collection of citation indexes representing the citation connections between scholarly research articles found in the most globally significant journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities. A platform providing access to multidisciplinary and regional citation indexes; specialist subject indexes; a patent family index; and an index to scientific data sets.
- ScopusScopus is a source-neutral abstract and citation database, curated by independent subject matter experts, that places powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, institutional research managers, and funders. It gives them access to premium quality research information from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers around the world.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
LaTeX
An introduction to LaTeX
LaTeX, which is pronounced «Lah-tech» or «Lay-tech» (to rhyme with «blech» or «Bertolt Brecht»), is a document preparation system for high-quality typesetting. It is most often used for medium-to-large technical or scientific documents but it can be used for almost any form of publishing.
LaTeX Beginner's Guide by
When there,Äôs a scientific or technical paper to write, the versatility of LaTeX is very attractive. But where can you learn about the software? The answer is this superb beginner,Äôs guide, packed with examples and explanations. Key Features Use LaTeX''s powerful features to produce professionally designed texts Install LaTeX; download, set up, and use additional styles, templates, and tools Typeset math formulas and scientific expressions to the highest standards Include graphics and work with figures and tables Benefit from professional fonts and modern PDF features Book Description LaTeX is high-quality Open Source typesetting software that produces professional prints and PDF files. However, as LaTeX is a powerful and complex tool, getting started can be intimidating. There is no official support and certain aspects such as layout modifications can seem rather complicated. It may seem more straightforward to use Word or other WYSIWG programs, but once you''ve become acquainted, LaTeX''s capabilities far outweigh any initial difficulties. This book guides you through these challenges and makes beginning with LaTeX easy. If you are writing Mathematical, Scientific, or Business papers, or have a thesis to write, then this is the perfect book for you.LaTeX Beginner''s Guide offers you a practical introduction to LaTeX with plenty of step-by-step examples. Beginning with the installation and basic usage, you will learn to typeset documents containing tables, figures, formulas, and common book elements like bibliographies, glossaries, and indexes and go on to managing complex documents and using modern PDF features. It''s easy to use LaTeX, when you have LaTeX Beginner''s Guide to hand.This practical book will guide you through the essential steps of LaTeX, from installing LaTeX, formatting, and justification to page design. Right from the beginning, you will learn to use macros and styles to maintain a consistent document structure while saving typing work. You will learn to fine-tune text and page layout, create professional looking tables as well as include figures and write complex mathematical formulas. You will see how to generate bibliographies and indexes with ease. Finally you will learn how to manage complex documents and how to benefit from modern PDF features. Detailed information about online resources like software archives, web forums, and online compilers completes this introductory guide. It''s easy to use LaTeX, when you have LaTeX Beginner''s Guide to hand. What you will learn Install LaTeX and use the TeXworks editor to compile documents Design the page layout; create dynamic headers and footers Fine-tune appearances and the space of words, symbols, and lines Apply intelligent justification and customized hyphenation to achieve fine text design Typeset professional-looking tables and create bulleted and enumerated lists Write sophisticated math formulas, from in-text expressions to complex multi-line equations with various alignments Cross-reference objects such as figures, tables, and equations Load fonts and vary their shape and style; choose between thousands of LaTeX symbols from specialized fonts Use macros to save time and effort; load packages to extend LaTeX s capabilities Generate an index, cite books, and create bibliographies Use external pictures, color, PDF bookmarks, and hyperlinks Structure and manage large documents by splitting the input Manage large documents containing lists, index, and bibliography Who this book is for If you are about to write mathematical or scientific papers, seminar handouts, or even plan to write a thesis, then this book offers you a fast-paced and practical introduction. Particularly during studying in school and university you will benefit much, as a mathematician or physicist as well as an engineer or a humanist. Everybody with high expectations who plans to write a paper or a book will be delighted by this stable software.
ISBN: 9781847199874Publication Date: 2011-01-01
LaTeX Cookbook by
Over 100 hands-on recipes to quickly prepare LaTeX documents of various kinds to solve challenging tasksAbout This Book- Work with modern document classes, such as KOMA-Script classes- Explore the latest LaTeX packages, including TikZ, pgfplots, and biblatex- An example-driven approach to creating stunning graphics directly within LaTeXWho This Book Is ForIf you already know the basics of LaTeX and you like to get fast, efficient solutions, this is the perfect book for you. If you are an advanced reader, you can use this book's example-driven format to take your skillset to the next level. Some familiarity with the basic syntax of LaTeX and how to use the editor of your choice for compiling is required.What You Will Learn- Choose the right document class for your project to customize its features- Utilize fonts globally and locally- Frame, shape, arrange, and annotate images- Add a bibliography, a glossary, and an index- Create colorful graphics including diagrams, flow charts, bar charts, trees, plots in 2d and 3d, time lines, and mindmaps- Solve typical tasks for various sciences including math, physics, chemistry, electrotechnics, and computer science- Optimize PDF output and enrich it with meta data, annotations, popups, animations, and fill-in fields- Explore the outstanding capabilities of the newest engines and formats such as XeLaTeX, LuaLaTeX, and LaTeX3In DetailLaTeX is a high-quality typesetting software and is very popular, especially among scientists. Its programming language gives you full control over every aspect of your documents, no matter how complex they are. LaTeX's huge amount of customizable templates and supporting packages cover most aspects of writing with embedded typographic expertise.With this book you will learn to leverage the capabilities of the latest document classes and explore the functionalities of the newest packages.The book starts with examples of common document types. It provides you with samples for tuning text design, using fonts, embedding images, and creating legible tables. Common document parts such as the bibliography, glossary, and index are covered, with LaTeX's modern approach.You will learn how to create excellent graphics directly within LaTeX, including diagrams and plots quickly and easily.Finally, you will discover how to use the new engines XeTeX and LuaTeX for advanced programming and calculating with LaTeX.The example-driven approach of this book is sure to increase your productivity.Style and approachThis book guides you through the world of LaTeX based on over a hundred hands-on examples. These are explained in detail and are designed to take minimal time and to be self-compliant.
ISBN: 9781784395148Publication Date: 2015-10-28
TeX and LaTeX distributions (Resource: Kottwitz, Stefan. LaTeX Cookbook. Packt Publishing, 2015.)
TeX Live: At http://tug.org/texlive/, you can find download information and installation instructions for the cross-platform TeX distribution that runs on Windows, Linux, Mac OS X, and other Unix systems. It is supported by the TeX Users Group (TUG).
MacTeX: This is based on TeX Live and has been significantly customized for Mac OS X. The basic information is available at http://www.tug.org/mactex/.
MiKTeX: The download and documentation of that Windows-specific distribution can be found at http://www.miktex.org/.
Online LaTeX editors (Resource: Kottwitz, Stefan. LaTeX Cookbook. Packt Publishing, 2015.)
https://www.overleaf.com, with real-time collaborative editing and a rich text modes which renders headings, equations and further formatting directly in the editor.
https://www.sharelatex.com, also with real-time collaboration and revision history for tracking changes.
TeX Resources on the Web: http://www.tug.org/interest.html#free
Patent Databases
-
Canadian Patent Database (CIPO)This database lets you access 151 years of patent descriptions and images. You can search, retrieve and study more than 2,400,000 patent documents.
-
Espacenet: free access to over 110 million patent documentsThe Office's core activity is the search and examination of patent applications and the grant of European patents.
-
FreePatentsOnlineLearn more about our industry leading patent landscaping and analytics tool, AcclaimIP.
-
PATENTSCOPE (WIPO)The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices.