Subject Librarian
Office Phone: (90-212) 338 13 27
Room Location: 1st. Floor, No: 106
What are Technical Reports ?
Technical reports describe the progress or results of scientific or technical research and development. They are usually produced in response to a specific request or research need, and serve as a report of accountability to the funding organization.
Technical reports usually fall into two categories:
- Government sponsored research reports
- Privately funded research reports
Both categories may include national or international reports by university departments, institutes, private industry, or government agencies and laboratories.
Publication and dissemination of technical reports has not been centrally coordinated; therefore, they can be particularly difficult to identify and locate.
Indexes and Abstracts on Technical Reports
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS)NTIS Database covers 1964 to the present. It is the primary resource for accessing U.S. Government sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, and engineering information.
Finding Technical Reports on the Internet
There are many technical report sites on the Internet. Many offer searching capabilities, access to full-text, ftp access, or on-line ordering.
- AERADE Reports ArchiveThe Aerade Reports Archive incorporates more than ten thousand, historically significant, digitised reports from the Aeronautical Research Council (ARC )
- E-Print NetworkIntegrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, all full-text searchable.
- EnergyfilesAt this site you will find over 500 databases and Web sites containing information and resources pertaining to science and technology of interest to the Department of Energy, with an emphasis on the physical sciences.
- Hewlett-Packard Laboratories Technical ReportsAvailable here are the abstracts and full texts of HP Labs Technical Reports. Where only the abstract appears, the full text is unavailable due to copyright considerations.
- IBM Research ReportsProvide the scientific community with access to technical reports written by members of the IBM Research community. Some reports are available for download.
- NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)The NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program was established to support the objectives of NASA’s missions and research. It is dedicated to the advancement of aeronautics and space science.
- SciTech Connect - Energy Citation DatabaseThe Energy Citations Database (ECD) provides free access to over 2.3 million science research citations with continued growth through regular updates.
- TechXtraFind articles, key websites, books, the latest industry news, job announcements, ejournals, eprints, technical reports, the latest research, thesis & dissertations and more! Covers engineering, mathematics and computing.
- The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)DTIC serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today .