Statistical data sources
There are many portals, websites, services and more that provide financial data and statistics. You can browse several ones below and you can choose according to your research area and interest.
The World Economic Outlook (WEO) database contains selected macroeconomic data series on national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries and country groups (aggregates), and commodity prices whose data are reported by the IMF.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Comprehensive comparative economic and social data on all countries
European Union's statistical office
United Nations statistical databases
Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Obtain data in the form of maps, tables, and reports from a variety of Census Bureau sources.
Source of US economic statistics including national income and product accounts (NIPAs), gross domestic product (GDP) and related measures of national, regional, industry and international accounts.
Data and analysis on employment, unemployment, spending, time use, productivity, benefits, pay and workplace injuries.
Provides historical U.S. economic and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments and regional economic data.
Links from the American Economic Association (AEA)
Data archive offering more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data for US and international micro data.
Provides a unified access to major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data.
The UK Data Service platform for international macrodata hosts hundreds of economic and social datasets provided by the World Bank, OECD, International Monetary Fund, United Nations, and International Energy Agency, and Human Rights Atlas. You can find comprehensive platform and data guides on accessing, exploring and visualising data in UKDS.Stat.
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Regular survey of CEOs, CFOs, and other top executives of Global 1000 companies, performed by AT Kearney, a global management consulting firm. The report, which focuses on expectations regarding international investment, is available for free and can be downloaded as a PDF.
The Index of Economic Freedom covers 10 specific freedoms such as trade freedom, business freedom, investment freedom, and property rights in 184 countries.