Children's Literature and Culture

This is the best and most authoritative guide to classic and contemporary children's literature today. It is the latest in the best-selling 1001 series, and its informative reviews are the key to differentiating the "must-read" books from all the rest in the realm of children's books. Whether you are a parent seeking to instill a love of reading in your child, an educator or counselor looking for inspiration, or a young reader with a voracious appetite, this guide to the best writing for children and young adults covers the spectrum of children's literature. It is organized by age group--from board books to YA novels and all the gradations in between. Each entry features evaluations by a team of international critics complete with beautifully reproduced artwork from the featured title. The beloved classics are here, but the guide also takes a global perspective and includes the increasingly diverse contributions from African American and Latino authors and illustrators--not to mention important books from around the world.

This book explores representations of child autonomy and self-governance in children's literature.The idea of child rule and child realms is central to children's literature, and childhood is frequently represented as a state of being, with children seen as aliens in need of passports to Adultland (and vice versa). In a sense all children's literature depends on the idea that children are different, separate, and in command of their own imaginative spaces and places. Although the idea of child rule is a persistent theme in discussions of children's literature (or about children and childhood) the metaphor itself has never been properly unpacked with critical reference to examples from those many texts that are contingent on the authority and/or power of children. Child governance and autonomy can be seen as natural or perverse; it can be displayed as a threat or as a promise. Accordingly, the "child rule"-motif can be seen in Robinsonades and horror films, in philosophical treatises and in series fiction. The representations of self-ruling children are manifold and ambivalent, and range from the idyllic to the nightmarish. Contributors to this volume visit a range of texts in which children are, in various ways, empowered, discussing whether childhood itself may be thought of as a nationality, and what that may imply. This collection shows how representations of child governance have been used for different ideological, aesthetic, and pedagogical reasons, and will appeal to scholars of children's literature, childhood studies, and cultural studies.

Looking for a practitioner-oriented intro to literature for children ages 5_12? This book covers the latest trends, titles, and tools for choosing the best books and materials as well as for planning fun and effective programs and activities. Children's Literature in Action: A Librarian's Guide, Second Edition presents an action-oriented approach for sharing books with children ages 5 through 12, planning book-based programs, and collaborating with teachers and families in sharing books and developing literature-based instruction. Author Sylvia M. Vardell draws on her 30 years of university teaching and extensive familiarity with the major textbooks in the area of children's literature to deliver something different: a book that focuses specifically on the perspective and needs of the librarian, with emphasis on practical action and library applications. The contents address seven major genres: picture books, traditional tales, poetry, contemporary realistic fiction, historical fiction, fantasy, and informational books. This invaluable book addresses such questions as "How should a librarian select and share books in each genre?" and "How do I generate interest in reading with today's students?" as well as "What are the best promotion and collaboration activities associated with each genre?" Although the work is specifically written to help new librarians get up to speed in the field of children's literature, it will benefit everyone from experienced, practicing librarians and children's services paraprofessionals to elementary level educators and parents who homeschool their children. _ Includes recommendations and evaluations of digital eBooks, apps, and audiobooks as well as print titles, providing full coverage of the range of materials for children today _ Features short essays by top authors and practitioners in the field to give readers expert opinions and guidance _ Provides author comments, collaborative activities, featured books, special topics and programs, selected awards and celebrations, historical connections, recommended resources, issues for discussion, relevant professional standards, and assignment suggestions within each chapter _ Addresses the most recent professional and curricular standards for elementary school students_a key element of today's education assessment standards

This book bridges the fields of Children's Literature and Italian Studies by examining how turn-of-the-century children's books forged a unified national identity for the new Italian State. Through contextualized close readings of a wide range of texts, Truglio shows how the 19th-century concept of recapitulation, which held that ontogeny (the individual's development) repeats phylogeny (the evolution of the species), underlies the strategies of this corpus. Italian fairy tales, novels, poems, and short stories imply that the personal development of the child corresponds to and hence naturalizes the modernizing development of the nation. In the context of Italy's uneven and ambivalent modernization, these narrative trajectories are enabled by a developmental melancholia. Using a psychoanalytic lens, and in dialogue with recent Anglophone Children's Literature criticism, this study proposes that national identity was constructed via a process of renouncing and incorporating paternal and maternal figures, rendered as compulsory steps into maturity and modernity. With chapters on the heroic figure of Garibaldi, the Orientalized depiction of the South, and the role of girls in formation narratives, this book discloses how melancholic itineraries produced gendered national subjects. This study engages both well-known Italian texts, such as Collodi's The Adventures of Pinocchio and De Amicis' Heart, and books that have fallen into obscurity by authors such as Baccini, Treves, Gianelli, and Nuccio. Its approach and corpus shed light on questions being examined by Italianists, Children's Literature scholars, and social and cultural historians with an interest in national identity formation.

Maps and Mapping in Children's Literature is the first comprehensive study that investigates the representation of maps in children's books as well as the impact of mapping on the depiction of landscapes, seascapes, and cityscapes in children's literature. The chapters in this volume pursue a comparative approach as they represent a wide spectrum of diverse genres and national children's literatures by examining a wealth of children's books from Canada, Denmark, Germany, Italy, Norway, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the USA. The theoretical and methodological approaches range from literary studies, developmental psychology, maps and geography literacy, ecocriticism, historical contextualization with both new historicist and political-historical leanings, and intermediality to materialist cartographies, cultural studies, island studies, and genre studies. By this, this volume aims at embedding children's literature in a broader field of literary and cultural studies, thus situating children's literature research within a general context of literary theory.

Children's book awards have mushroomed since the early twentieth-century and especially since the 1960s, when literary prizing became a favored strategy for both commercial promotion and canon-making. There are over 300 awards for English-language titles alone, but despite the profound impact of children's book awards, scholars have paid relatively little attention to them. This book is the first scholarly volume devoted to the analysis of Anglophone children's book awards in historical and cultural context. With attention to both political and aesthetic concerns, the book offers original and diverse scholarship on prizing practices and their consequences in Australia, Canada, and especially the United States. Contributors offer both case studies of particular awards and analysis of broader trends in literary evaluation and elevation, drawing on theoretical work on canonization and cultural capital. Sections interrogate the complex and often unconscious ideological work of prizing, the ongoing tension between formalist awards and so-called identity-based awards -- all the more urgent in light of the "We Need Diverse Books" campaign -- the ever-morphing forms and parameters of prizing, and scholarly practices of prizing. Among the many awards discussed are the Pura Belpré Medal, the Inky Awards, the Canada Governor General Literary Award, the Printz Award, the Best Animated Feature Oscar, the Phoenix Award, and the John Newbery Medal, giving due attention to prizes for fiction as well as for non-fiction, poetry, and film. This volume will interest scholars in literary and cultural studies, social history, book history, sociology, education, library and information science, and anyone concerned with children's literature.

Demonstrating the aesthetic, cultural, political and intellectual diversity of children's literature across the globe, The Routledge Companion to International Children's Literature is the first volume of its kind to focus on the undervisited regions of the world. With particular focus on Asia, Africa and Latin America, the collection raises awareness of children's literature and related media as they exist in large regions of the world to which 'mainstream' European and North American scholarship pays very little attention. Sections cover: * Concepts and theories * Historical contexts and national identity * Cultural forms and children's texts * Traditional story and adaptation * Picture books across the majority world * Trends in children's and young adult literatures.   Exposition of the literary, cultural and historical contexts in which children's literature is produced, together with an exploration of intersections between these literatures and more extensively researched areas, will enhance access and understanding for a large range of international readers. The essays offer an ideal introduction for those newly approaching literature for children in specific areas, looking for new insights and interdisciplinary perspectives, or interested in directions for future scholarship.

"Will inspire, inform, and delight those of any age who areengaged in-or by-the arts." - The Horn BookRenowned children's literature authority Leonard S. Marcus speaks with twenty-one of the world's most celebrated illustrators of picture books, asking about their childhood, their inspiration, their creative choices, and more. Amplifying these richly entertaining and thought-provoking conversations are eighty-eight full- color plates revealing each illustrator's artistic process in fascinating, behind- the-scenes detail. This inspiring collection confirms that picture books matter because they make a difference in our children's lives.

Focusing on questions of space and locale in children's literature, this collection explores how metaphorical and physical space can create landscapes of power, knowledge, and identity in texts from the early nineteenth century to the present. The collection is comprised of four sections that take up the space between children and adults, the representation of 'real world' places, fantasy travel and locales, and the physical space of the children's book-as-object. In their essays, the contributors analyze works from a range of sources and traditions by authors such as Sylvia Plath, Maria Edgeworth, Gloria Anzaldúa, Jenny Robson, C.S. Lewis, Elizabeth Knox, and Claude Ponti. While maintaining a focus on how location and spatiality aid in defining the child's relationship to the world, the essays also address themes of borders, displacement, diaspora, exile, fantasy, gender, history, home-leaving and homecoming, hybridity, mapping, and metatextuality. With an epilogue by Philip Pullman in which he discusses his own relationship to image and locale, this collection is also a valuable resource for understanding the work of this celebrated author of children's literature.

Children can struggle to engage with and articulate certain emotions, which can have a profound impact on their behaviour, confidence and ability to form relationships, follow instructions and perform tasks. This resource for teachers, therapists, counsellors and parents uses children's literature and some of its well-known characters, such as the Rainbow Fish and Stanley Yelnats IV from Holes, as a basis for practical activities that enable children to express and manage these emotions. Social-emotional literacy training assists students in developing important life skills such as the ability to develop good relationships and empathy skills, as well as being able to understand, manage and communicate their own emotions. This book offers an introduction to social-emotional literacy, followed by activities related to emotions such as empathy, friendship, grief and self-esteem, aiming to embed this literacy training into daily school and home activities to increase children's chances of future success.

Everyone loves a children's book. And many dream about writing one. But is it actually possible for an unpublished writer-armed with a good story idea and a love of kids-to write, sell, publish, and promote a book? Yes, it is! Veteran children's book publishing executive and author Lisa Rojany Buccieri and author Peter Economy show you how, in their incredibly useful 2005 first edition of Writing Children's Books For Dummies®. Buccieri and Economy begin by explaining the basics of the children's book business, from the nuts and bolts of the various formats and genres-with helpful illustrations to aid you-to the intricacies of the book publishing market, a list of recent award-winning books, and a first peek into the particular mind set that writing children's books requires. (Hint: Throw out the adult rules, and think like a kid!) Then the authors dive into the actual writing process itself, with tips on setting up a workspace, brainstorming great book ideas, researching the subject you decide on, even speaking with the sorts of kids you hope will eventually read the book. They show you how to create compelling characters and develop them in the manuscript; how to outline and write a plot "arc" of conflict, change, and resolution; how to master the difficult art of writing dialogue; and how to use active (rather than passive) language to keep your story moving along and interesting to young minds. Or, if you're planning to write a creative nonfiction children's book-on a topic such as science, nature, or a historical figure, for example-the authors include a chapter on this, too. Ready, set, go... it's time to sit down and write! Once you've finished your book, however, the process has only begun. Now you will refine, submit, and hopefully sell your manuscript. Here again, the authors of Writing Children's Books For Dummies come through for you. They deliver solid advice on hiring an illustrator-or not; participating in workshops and conferences to learn the business and hone a story; finding an agent; and, finally, submitting the manuscript to publishers and-if you are successful-signing a contract. Along the way, the authors also include tips on handling rejection; a quick primer on the various editors in publishing houses (and how they work to make your book its best); and making a plan to publicize the book, including hiring a publicist if necessary. Like all For Dummies® books, Writing Children's Books For Dummies highlights "The Part of Tens," which includes the Ten Best Ways to Promote Your Story and More Than Ten Great Sources for Storylines. And the ever-helpful Cheat Sheet includes Tips for Editing your Children's Book Manuscript, Children's Book No-No's, Twelve Commandments for Writing Younger Children's Books, and Tips on Promotion. From setting down that first word on paper to doing a successful publicity tour, Writing Children's Books For Dummies gives you the confidence and the insiders' know-how to write and sell the story you've always wanted to write.

Writing with Pictures is a step-by-step guide to creating children's books. It offers advice covering a book's preliminary stages through publication, and describes how to tell a story visually, develop settings, and draw characters.

Children's Literature and the Avant-Garde is the first study that investigates the intricate influence of the avant-garde movements on children's literature in different countries from the beginning of the 20th century until the present. Examining a wide range of children's books from Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, the Netherlands, Russia, Sweden, the United Kingdom, and the USA, the individual chapters explore the historical as well as the cultural and political aspects that determine the exceptional character of avant-garde children's books. Drawing on studies in children's literature research, art history, and cultural studies, this volume provides comprehensive insights into the close relationships between avant-garde children's literature, images of childhood, and contemporary ideas of education. Addressing topics such as the impact of exhibitions, the significance of the Bauhaus, and the influence of poster art and graphic design, the book illustrates the broad range of issues associated with avant-garde children's books. More than 60 full-color illustrations demonstrate the impressive variety of design in avant-garde picturebooks and children's books. Winner of the Edited Book Award 2017 of The Children's Literature Association. Winner of the Edited Book Award 2017 of the International Research Society for Children's Literature.