Library's Resources
For more, please check the Library Catalogue
Catalog Search |
Becker's World of the Cell by
TABLE OF CONTENTS :
1. A Preview of Cell Biology -- 2. The Chemistry of the Cell -- 3. The Macromolecules of the Cell -- 4. Cells and Organelles -- 5. Bioenergetics: The Flow of Energy in the Cell -- 6. Enzymes: The Catalysts of Life -- 7. Membranes: Their Structure, Function, and Chemistry -- 8. Transport Across Membranes : Overcoming the Permeability Barrier -- 9. Chemotrophic Energy Metabolism: Glycolysis and Fermentation -- 10. Chemotrophic Energy Metabolism: Aerobic Respiration -- 11. Phototrophic Energy Metabolism: Photosynthesis -- 12. The Endomembrane System -- 13. Cytoskeletal Systems -- 14. Cellular Movement: Motility and Contractility -- 15. Beyond the Cell: Cell Adhesions, Cell Junctions, and Extracellular Structures -- 16. The Structural Basis of Cellular Information: DNA, Chromosomes, and the Nucleus -- 17.-- DNA Replication, Repair, and Recombination -- 18. Gene Expression: I. The Genetic Code and Transcription -- 19. Gene Expression: II. Protein Synthesis and Sorting -- 20. The Regulation of Gene Expression -- 21. Molecular Biology Techniques for Cell Biology -- 22. Signal Transduction Mechanisms: I. Electrical and Synaptic Signaling in Neurons -- 23. Signal Transduction Mechanisms: II. Messengers and Receptors ---- 24. The Cell Cycle and Mitosis -- 25. Sexual Reproduction, Meiosis, and Genetic Recombination -- 26. Cancer Cells --Appendix -- Visualizing Cells and Molecules Glossary Photo, Illustration, and Text Credits Index.
Call Number: QH581.2 .B43 2018ISBN: 9781292177694Publication Date: 2018
Cellular and Molecular Immunology by
"The top required and recommended immunology text worldwide, Cellular and Molecular Immunology by Drs. Abul K. Abbas, Andrew H.H. Lichtman, and Shiv Pillai, is a clear, well-written, and superbly illustrated introduction to the field. The 9th Edition retains a practical, clinical focus while updating and revising all content to ensure clarity and comprehension, bringing readers fully up to date with new and emerging information in this challenging area"--
Call Number: QR185.5 .A23 2018ISBN: 9780323523240Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Genetics by
Where Modern Meets ClassicalGenetics: Analysis of Genes and Genomes is a resource uniquely suited for learning and applying genetics to our world. Its DNA first presentation frames the discussion of genetics in modern terms, which provides the user the context to then understand its Mendelian history. Genetics continues to treat transmission genetics, molecular genetics, and evolutionary genetics as fully integrated subjects and provides students with an unprecedented understanding of the basic process of gene transmission, mutation, expression, and regulation. A new unit structure with self-contained chapters provides the flexibility to fit any course design, whether it be Mendel-early, Chromosome-early, or a Genome-first approach. The dynamism of genetics is also perfectly captured, as coverage of technological advances is woven together with ethical controversies. Problem-solving is a core element to this experimental discipline, and the ninth edition of Genetics is unparalleled in the tools it provides to unlock this fascinating subject. This rich resource allows students copious opportunities to practice and learn by using the clearly-presented mathematical concepts and exercises and chapter problems that encourage students to analyze and apply new skills.
ISBN: 9781284122930Publication Date: 2017-12-14
Genetics: Genes, Genomes, and Evolution by
TABLE OF CONTENTS :
1. Evolution, genomes, and genetics, p.13 -- 2. The central dogma of molecular biology, p.28 -- 3. Genome structure, organization, and variation, p.72 -- 4. Descent with modification: continuity and variation in the genome, p.129 -- 5. The inheritance of single-gene traits, p.189 -- 6. The cellular basis for Mendelian genetics, p.219 -- 7. X-linked genes and sex chromosomes, p.264 -- 8. The inheritance of multiple genes, p.308 -- 9. The locations of genes on chromosomes: linkage and genetic maps, p.341 -- 10. Human genetic mapping, genome-wide association studies, and complex traits, p.383 -- 11. Exchange and evolution, p.419 -- 12. Transcription: reading and expressing genes, p.464 -- 13. Translation; from nucleic acids to amino acids, p.517 -- 14. Networks of gene regulation, p.555 -- 15. Genetic analysis of cellular processes, p.597 -- 16. The genetics of populations, p.642 -- 17. Metagenomes: genome analysis of communities, p.698 -- Glossary, p.728 -- Index, p.745
Call Number: QH430 .M46 2017ISBN: 9780198712558Publication Date: 2017
Human Genetics by
Today human genetics is for everyone. It is about variation more than about illnesses and increasingly about the common rather than about the rare. Once an obscure science or an occasional explanation for an odd collection of symptoms human genetics is now part of everyday conversation. By coming to know genetic backgrounds people can control their environments in more healthy ways. Genetic knowledge is therefore both informative and empowering. The 10th edition of Human Genetics: Concepts and Applications shows students how and why that is true.
Call Number: QH431 .L49 2015ISBN: 9780073525365Publication Date: 2014-09-10
Kuby Immunology by
TABLE OF CONTENTS:
I.Introduction, p.1 -- Chapter 1: Overview of the Immune System, p.1 -- Chapter 2: Cells, Organs and Microenvironments of the Immune System, p.31 -- Chapter 3: Recognition and Response, p.69 -- II. Innate Immunity -- Chapter 4: Innate Immunity, p.113 -- Chapter 5: The Complement System, p.165 -- III. Adaptive Immunity: Antigen Receptors and MHC -- Chapter 6: The Organization and Expression of Lymphocyte Receptor Genes, p.205 -- Chapter 7: The Major Histocompatibility Complex and Antigen Presentation, p.249 -- IV. Adaptive Immunity: Development -- Chapter 8: T-Cell Development, p.293 -- Chapter 9: B-Cell Development, p.321 -- V. Adaptive Immunity: Efeector Responses -- Chapter 10: T-Cell Activation, Helper Subset Differentiation, and Memory, p.353 -- Chapter 11: B-Cell Activation, Differentiation, and Memory Generation, p.391 -- Chapter 12: Effector Responses: Antibody- and Cell-Mediated Immunity, p.433 -- Chapter 13: Barrier Immunity: The Immunology of Mucosa and Skin, p.473 -- Chapter 14: The Adaptive Immune Response in Space and Time, p.511 -- V. Adaptive Immunity: Efeector Responses -- Chapter 15: Allergy, Hypersensitivities, and Chronic Inflammation, p.549 -- Chapter 16: Tolerance, Autoimmunity, and Transplantation, p.593 -- Chapter 17: Infectious Diseases and Vaccines, p.637 -- Chapter 18: Immunodeficiency Diseases, p.681 -- Experimental Systems Methods -- Chapter 19: Cancer and the Immune System, p.727 -- VII. Experimental Systems Methods -- Experimental Systems and Methods, p.759
ISBN: 9781319114701Publication Date: 2019
Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry by
Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry helps you over the hurdles most students face in the course through its meticulous explanations of difficult concepts, helpful problem-solving support, and insightful communication of contemporary biochemistry's core ideas.
Call Number: QD415 .L44 2017ISBN: 9781464126116Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Medical Physiology by
Medical Physiology is a new, full-color, comprehensive textbook designed for modern medical school courses in human physiology. The most up-to-date and beautifully illustrated text on the market, it has a strong molecular and cellular approach, firmly relating the molecular and cellular biological underpinnings of physiology to the study of human physiology and disease. Contributions from leading physiologists ensure authoritative, cutting-edge information, and thorough and consistent editing have produced a readable and student-friendly text.
Call Number: QT104 .M481 2017ISBN: 9780323427968Publication Date: 2016-05-01
Molecular Biology of the Cell by
As the amount of information in biology expands dramatically, it becomes increasingly important for textbooks to distill the vast amount of scientific knowledge into concise principles and enduring concepts. As with previous editions, Molecular Biology of the Cell, Sixth Edition accomplishes this goal with clear writing and beautiful illustrations. The Sixth Edition has been extensively revised and updated with the latest research in the field of cell biology, and it provides an exceptional framework for teaching and learning. The entire illustration program has been greatly enhanced. Protein structures better illustrate structure-function relationships, icons are simpler and more consistent within and between chapters, and micrographs have been refreshed and updated with newer, clearer, or better images. As a new feature, each chapter now contains intriguing open-ended questions highlighting "What We Don't Know," introducing students to challenging areas of future research. Updated end-of-chapter problems reflect new research discussed in the text. Thought-provoking end-of-chapter questions have been expanded to all chapters, including questions on developmental biology, tissues and stem cells, the immune system, and pathogens.
Call Number: QH581.2 .M64 2015ISBN: 9780815344643Publication Date: 2014-12-01- Genetics: Analysis of Genes and Genomes by
Genetics: Analysis of Genes and Genomes is a resource uniquely suited for learning and applying genetics to our world. Its DNA first presentation frames the discussion of genetics in modern terms, which provides the user the context to then understand its Mendelian history. Genetics continues to treat transmission genetics, molecular genetics, and evolutionary genetics as fully integrated subjects and provides students with an unprecedented understanding of the basic process of gene transmission, mutation, expression, and regulation. A new unit structure with self-contained chapters provides the flexibility to fit any course design, whether it be Mendel-early, Chromosome-early, or a Genome-first approach. The dynamism of genetics is also perfectly captured, as coverage of technological advances is woven together with ethical controversies. Problem-solving is a core element to this experimental discipline, and the ninth edition of Genetics is unparalleled in the tools it provides to unlock this fascinating subject. This rich resource allows students copious opportunities to practice and learn by using the clearly-presented mathematical concepts and exercises and chapter problems that encourage students to analyze and apply new skills.
Call Number: QH430 .H3733 2019ISBN: 9781284122930Publication Date: 2017-12-14
For more, please check inKUire
Principles of Medical Biochemistry by
Introduction to biomolecules -- Introduction to protein structure -- Oxygen-binding proteins : hemoglobin and myoglobin -- Enzymatic reactions -- Coenzymes -- DNA, RNA, and protein synthesis -- The human genome -- Protein targeting and proteostasis -- Introduction to genetic diseases -- Viruses -- DNA technology -- Biological membranes -- The cytoskeleton -- The extracellular matrix -- Extracellular messengers -- Intracellular messengers -- Plasma proteins -- Defense mechanisms -- Cellular growth control and cancer -- Digestive enzymes -- Introduction to metabolic pathways -- Glycolysis, tricarboxylic acid cycle, and oxidative phosphorylation -- Oxygen deficiency and oxygen toxicity -- Carbohydrate metabolism -- The metabolism of fatty acids and triglycerides -- The metabolism of membrane lipids -- Lipid transport -- Amino acid metabolism -- Metabolism of iron and heme -- The metabolism of purines and pyrimidines -- Micronutrients -- Integration of metabolism.
ISBN: 9780323391900Publication Date: 2017
Medical Genetics by
Up to date and extensively revised to reflect recent advances in the genetics of common diseases, as well as current progress in gene therapy, Medical Genetics, 6th Edition, delivers easy-to-read, highly visual coverage of this rapidly changing field. This accessible, practical text integrates key concepts with clinical practice, highlighted by numerous illustrations, tables, concept summaries, and more - all designed to enhance effective learning and retention of complex material. Discusses current topics including polygenic risk scores and their potential applications for diabetes, cancer, and heart disease, and the latest sequencing technologies and their clinical application in genetic testing and diagnosis. Offers a completely updated discussion of genetic testing modalities and applications. Includes convenient concept summaries, more than 230 photographs, illustrations, and tables, as well as patient/family vignettes that present valuable perspectives on disease and treatment. Features Clinical Commentary boxes that demonstrate how the hard science of genetics has real applications to everyday patient problems, preparing you for problem-based integrated courses. Illustrates key concepts with disease examples to demonstrate relevance to medicine. Provides study questions for self-assessment, as well as 200 additional USMLE-style questions online. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323597371Publication Date: 2019-12-16
Genetics, Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, Ecology, and Evolution by ISBN: 9781774074619Publication Date: 2019-12-01
Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology Primer of Molecular Biology in Cancer by ISBN: 9781975149116Publication Date: 2020-04-08
For more, please check E-Journals.
- Nature Reviews Genetics Nature Reviews Genetics aims to be the premier source of reviews and commentaries for the scientific communities we serve. We strive to publish articles that are authoritative, accessible and enhanced with clearly understandable figures, tables and other display items. We want to provide an unparalleled service to authors, referees and readers, and we work hard to maximize the usefulness and impact of each article. The journal publishes Research Highlights, Comments, Reviews and Perspectives relevant to geneticists and genomicists, with our broad scope ensuring that the articles we publish reach the widest possible audience.
- Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology aims to be the premier source of reviews and commentaries for the scientific communities we serve. We strive to publish articles that are authoritative, accessible and enhanced with clearly understandable figures, tables and other display items. We want to provide an unparalleled service to authors, referees and readers, and we work hard to maximize the usefulness and impact of each article. The journal publishes Reviews, Perspectives, Comments and Research Highlights relevant to molecular and cell biologists, with our broad scope ensuring that the articles we publish reach the widest possible audience.
- Annual Review of Biochemistry The Annual Review of Biochemistry, in publication since 1932, sets the standard for review articles in biological chemistry and molecular biology. Since its inception, these volumes have served as an indispensable resource for both the practicing biochemist and students of biochemistry.
- The EMBO Journal The EMBO Journal publishes papers describing original research of broad general interest in molecular and cell biology - a particular emphasis is placed on molecular mechanism and physiological relevance. The journal encourages and publishes articles that report novel findings of wide biological significance in the areas of: Ageing Autophagy Cancer Cell Adhesion, Polarity & Cytoskeleton Cell Cycle Cell Death Developmental Biology DNA Replication, Repair & Recombination Chromatin, Epigenetics & Genomics Immunology Membrane & Intracellular Transport Metabolism Microbiology, Virology & Host Pathogen Interaction Molecular Biology of Disease Neuroscience Plant Biology Post-translational Modifications, Proteolysis & Proteomics RNA Biology Signal Transduction Stem Cells Structural Biology Systems, Chemical & Computational Biology Transcription Protein Biosynthesis & Quality Control Vascular Biology
For more, please check Databases.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowAbout Annual Reviews: Founded in 1932, Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in more than 45 scientific disciplines.Annual Review of Neuroscience, Annual Review of Clinical Psychology, Annual Review of Biomedical Engineering, Annual Review of Biochemistry, Annual Review of Political Science, Annual Review of Psychology, Annual Review of Sociology, Annual Review of Anthropology, Annual Review of Fluid Mechanics.
- Medline (EBSCOhost)MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
- OvidOvid helps researchers, librarians, clinicians, and other healthcare professionals find important medical information so that they can make critical decisions to improve patient care, enhance ongoing research, and fuel new discoveries.
- PLOSPLOS was founded as a nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to advance progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication
- PubMedPubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of peer-reviewed biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
- ScienceDirectDiscover more from over 2,500 scholarly journals, including over 250 fully Open Access publications and 39,000 reference books — personalized recommendations and Topic Pages make it easy to find the highest-quality and most relevant interdisciplinary research in less time.
- ScopusScopus is a source-neutral abstract and citation database, curated by independent subject matter experts, that places powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, institutional research managers, and funders. It gives them access to premium quality research information from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers around the world.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA rich collection of citation indexes representing the citation connections between scholarly research articles found in the most globally significant journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities. A platform providing access to multidisciplinary and regional citation indexes; specialist subject indexes; a patent family index; and an index to scientific data sets.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.