Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Istanbul International Library Staff Week 2018

This Guide provides all necessary information on the event "International Library Staff Week", at Koç University - Suna Kiraç Library, 26-30 March 2018

Full Program

Final Program

The program was formatted with presentations and activities under the subject themes of the event.  

It can be slightly changed and adjusted as new content will be added.

Preliminary program

The preliminary program of the event summarizes the five days with the social off campus events.  These are optional and participants should choose and decide in advance which of them they would like to attend.  The selection is made during the Registration process.

Preliminary program

Monday 

26th March

Welcome meeting at SKL, all day sessions

Tuesday

27th March

Morning sessions

Afternoon visit to Sadberk Hanım Museum

Wednesday

28th March

BiblioPera (Beyoğlu Research CenterNetwork) partner Libraries meetings and “National Library Week  in Turkey” event with opportunity to present

Afternoon visit to Pera museum

Gala Dinner

Thursday

29th March

Morning sessions

Afternoon visit to Ottoman Archives

Friday

30th March

Morning sessions - End of the event

Half day old city (Sultanahmet) tour

Where

Have you ever seen the point where the Black Sea meets Boshporus?

The event is hosted at Koç University, in this wonderful scenery at the far north point of Istanbul.  Koç University was founded in 1993 as a non-profit private university in Istanbul, Turkey. Since its establishment, it has become one of the leading universities in Turkey, distinguished by notable contributions to the elevation of education, knowledge and service both domestically and beyond.  With Colleges of Social Sciences and Humanities, Administrative Sciences and Economics, Science, Engineering, Law, Nursing and Medicine, Koç University offers 22 undergraduate, 29 graduate and 25 PhD programs.


Find us on the map

The Library

Suna Kıraç Library was established on 12 October 1993.   The Main Library is located at RumeliFeneri Campus and serves the whole KU community.  The Library’s collection includes both print and electronic material and comprises:

  • 245.000 printed books
  • 40,000 e-journals
  • 134 databases
  • 160.000 e-books
  • 15 digital collections

Apart from the main library, there are four branches which serve different purposes and users:

  • The Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations Library, the first Turkish center for advanced research in the art history, archaeology, and history of Turkey.
  • The Health Science Library provides reference and circulation services to the medical students of KU, the medical personnel of Koç University Hospital on the Health Sciences Campus, Topkapı as well as other health care professionals.
  • In 2014, The Vehbi Koç and Ankara Research Center Library & Archive joined us as a third branch Library. The Collection of the Library & Archive includes publications, photos, documents, postcards, maps, and documentary films on Ankara. The Center is located in Keçiören, Ankara.
  • In 2016, Suna & İnan Kıraç Research Center for Mediterranean Civilizations – AKMED Library joined us as fourth branch Library. The library on antiquity with emphasis on the specific geography of the region developing as per requests by researchers; its archives of documents, photographs and transparencies are available for use by Turkish and foreign researchers and scholars. The Library is located in Kaleiçi, Antalya

The Libraries are actively involved in several international platforms such as LIBER, EAHIL, MELCOM, EconBiz and IFLA. Suna Kıraç Library hosted LIBER Annual General Conference in 2009 and EAHIL Conference in 2011.

International Library Staff Week