Recommended Databases
The Databases provided below are examples of key resources for Economics and allied subjects: they provide the full text of articles but also reports, working papers, conference papers, statistical data and more.
It offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.
EconBiz is a subject portal for economics and business studies. It offers: A literature search across important German and international databases, access to free and licensed full texts on the internet, the section research skills with the online tutorial Guided Walk on how to search, evaluate and cite scholarly publications
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
It includes information on Accounting, Capital markets, Econometrics, Economic forecasting, Government regulations, Labor economics, Monetary theory, Urban economics and much more.
Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content
Industry research
Market / Industry research refers to the information about target markets or customers and it is a very important component of business strategy. In depth analysis, data, trends, market share, distribution, forecasts, are some of the data someone can gather while creating an Industry report.
The Library includes Electronic resources that can help you find these and many more, effectively and accurately.
It offers comprehensive coverage of international consumer markets, consumer lifestyles in other countries, economic statistics, demographic forecasting, and more.
It specialises in emerging markets. It includes 9,000 local news sources, private/public company data, industry reports from global and local providers and complex analytical tools to monitor, screen and analyse trends, risks and forecasts.
It contains market research reports and industry profiles as well. The easiest way to find reports on a particular industry is to do a keyword search for the industry.
NexisUni provides legal, regulatory and business information and analytics that help costumers increase their productivity and improve decision making and outcomes.
Company research
A Business plan cannot be completed without a comprehensive Company research which includes detailed information on a company's operations, ranking, financial statements, productivity indicators and many more. Use the Databases mentioned below in order to find the necessary information.
Remember! The number of companies and the depth of information vary in these resources.
It offers comprehensive coverage of international consumer markets, consumer lifestyles in other countries, economic statistics, demographic forecasting, and more.
It specializes in emerging markets. It includes 9,000 local news sources, private/public company data, industry reports from global and local providers and complex analytical tools to monitor, screen and analyze trends, risks and forecasts.
NexisUni provides legal, regulatory and business information and analytics that help costumers increase their productivity and improve decision making and outcomes.
You can find PDF reports which contain key facts, history, SWOT analysis, top competitors, locations and subsidiaries, and other details.
Tip: to retrieve the company profile click on the PDF file and not the title of the company.
WRDS provides more than 500 company-level fundamentals, including items such as Income Statements, Balance Sheets, and Flow of Funds. It also offers an even larger number of supplemental data items for more than 47,000 active and 37,000 inactive companies.
Country research
Country data are equally important, as they determine in a big extend the operations of a company as well as the market. Information about the economical, social, geopolitical situation are valuable components to a business plan. Databases and directories provide such information.
It provides information that helps Understanding the market landscape with interactive visualisations of industry, category and geographical data
It provides news, reports and cross country comparison.
The World Economic Outlook (WEO) database contains selected macroeconomic data series on national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries and country groups (aggregates), and commodity prices whose data are reported by the IMF.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities
Published by the Library of Congress, these country studies are an excellent source for country histories.
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
Regular survey of CEOs, CFOs, and other top executives of Global 1000 companies, performed by AT Kearney, a global management consulting firm. The report, which focuses on expectations regarding international investment, is available for free and can be downloaded as a PDF.