Skip to main content

Zotero: Home

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself.

About Zotero

Zotero is a bibliographic management tool like Endnote or Ref Works, but it is freely available to download, install, and use.  It was developed at George Mason University's Center for History and New Media with sponsorship from the Melon and Sloan Foundations and the Institute of Museum and Library Services. Zotero is a Firefox browser extension for Windows, Mac or Linux operating systems that allows users to efficiently collection information from library catalogs and databases and produce citations and bibliographies with ease. There is also the potential to store .pdf documents, notes, and snapshots of web pages. A final feature of Zotero is creation of group libraries for collaborative projects. This guide will help with installation, basic use, and support materials for using Zotero.

Zotero step by step

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself

Download  ZOTERO Now!

http://www.zotero.org/

What can groups do for you?

With groups, you collaborate remotely with project members, set up web-based bibliographies for classes you teach, and so much more.

  • Share your own work or sources you have discovered with others who are working in related areas.
  • Collaborate with colleagues, publicly or privately, on ongoing research.
  • Discover other people with similar interests and the sources they are citing.

 

WORD PLUGIN

Of the different ways to automatically generate bibliographies (as well as in-text citations and footnotes), the easy-to-use word processor plugins are probably the most flexible. These plugins, available for Microsoft Word and LibreOffice/OpenOffice/NeoOffice, create dynamic bibliographies: insert a new in-text citation in your manuscript, and the bibliography will be automatically updated to include the cited item. Correct the title of an item in your Zotero library and with a click of a button the change will be incorporated in your texts.

To get started with these plugins, check out the following links. You can also get a taste of how these plugins work in action by watching screencasts of Zotero and Word or of Zotero and OpenOffice (by Daniel de Byl).

ZOTERO FORUMS

You can visit The Library's Zotero Libguide:  https://libguides.ku.edu.tr/zotero  

links

Subject Librarian

Çiğdem Yıldırım's picture
Çiğdem Yıldırım
Contact:
Koç University

Suna Kıraç Library

Rumeli Feneri Yolu

34450 Sarıyer/İstanbul

Office Phone: (90-212) 338 16 61

Room Location: 1st Floor, No: 106
0212 338 1661
Skype Contact: Cigdem Yildirim

Dictionary

Online Translator